Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Honey Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Ettrick Valley > Honey Cottage Caravan Park Reviews

Honey Cottage Caravan Park
Hope House
Selkirkshire
Ettrick Valley
Borders   (Browse area)
TD7 5HU
Tel: 01750 62246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speyside Sally 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from our first ever rainy visit. All previous ones gloriously sunny. Whichever, this is our favourite campsite. I grew up in Ettrick so am biased but my two boys (11 and 14) love it too.

We like the walks in the Ettrick Marshes, the swimming in the river and the total relaxation and absence of bossy rules. My older son really appreciates the 1 junior season fishing permit. We love the almost traffic free, beautifully surfaced, perfectly hilly roads for cycling.

It is worth choosing a tent pitch on the slightly raised area, near to the track at the bottom of the site, if it is rainy weather as the section between the trees and the little ridge gets quite puddly.

Showers and dish washing area clean with plenty of (very) hot water.

Great pub for food is Cross Keys in Ettrickbridge, just nine miles down the valley. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miss-mel 3 reviews from this member

 This was a bit of a last minute choice to go here, and we based our decision on previous reviews. But afraid to say we were a bit disappointed with the site.

It's mainly a static caravan site, with a small camping area near the river, but this was adjoining a very busy kids play park. My 8 yr old did play there a bit, but it was mainly a large and noisy group of teenagers from the caravans who sat around talking VERY loudly till around 10. 30pm.

The shower block was pretty dated, but ok, with hot water, but the 1 dish washing sink was outside with no kind of shelter over it at all, so when it rains(which it did), there's no escape. It was also so windy we had to tie our tent to the car, not the campsite's fault though!

We also picked this site because on it's web-site, the photos look like it's easy to paddle about in the river from the bank, one of my son's favourite pastimes, . It's not, so I'm not sure where these pics were taken from!

On the plus side, the area is beautiful, it was reasonably priced, and the warden/owner was lovely. Still wouldn't go back though! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gregthepirate 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Honey Cottage for two nights mid week in August 2010. Our visit was limited to two nights due to the inclement weather rather than our experience of the site.

Upon arrival late afternoon on Sunday, we were greeted by a closed reception and were unable to locate any campsite staff. We proceeded to the camping field and noted some fellow campers had experienced a similar issue, so set up camp with a view to checking in the following morning. Again in the morning we were unable to find anyone and left a note to inform the warden of our presence on site. Upon leaving 2 days (of rain!) later we were still unable to find anyone so have sent a cheque in the post. On the positive side we were left to our own devices with no problems.

Pros:

- Soft unflooded camping ground in beautiful surroundings

- Shower block a short walk away

- Free hot, clean showers (but see below)

Cons:

- Mens shower block felt dated and showers could do with an update (although did the job)

- Touring and static caravans and campers all share the same general locale (no separate camping field)

- Children's play area shared the same small area as the camping field (probably a pro for the families, a con for a couple like ourselves).

All in all very pleasant but don't forget the midge repellent. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lilybell 1 review from this member

 Had a wonderful time at this peaceful and relaxing site. Toilet/shower block clean. Never busy. Warden Alan and staff very helpful and friendly. Stunning views.

River on site so you can go fishing or paddling, also lots of nice walks. Would definitely return. If you want a site for peace, quiet and to relax this is the one. No shop on site, but Selkirk & Hawick short country drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chellcee 1 review from this member

 We are just back from 2 days camping, the site was basic, just a shower block and toilets, and a shop(which was never open)on site

The site is set in the most beautiful scenery, we had a lovely drive to the site through the beautiful country side

We piched our tent at the bottom of the site with the river right behind us

Our daughter and dog loved playing in the river, and also enjoyed the walks around the river

There were a few midges which couldn't be helped

We will be back again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deemac30 1 review from this member

 Great wee site of you want peace and tranquillity, away from the hassles of life! No mobile phone reception, nearest shop is about 30 mins away. There is a pub close by that does bar meals but is closed on a Monday.

Basic but clean toilet block - no soap at sinks, so need to take your own each visit. Showers roomy and loads of (free) hot water. Outside sink for washing dishes.

We pitched our tent on a raised bit of ground next to the river which was a good decision, as the campers in the middle area were flooded out, with about an inch of water in their tent.

Great riverside walks and a couple of rope swings close by for the kids. There is also a decent wee playpark on site, with swings, climbing frame and chute. We have 1 10 year old who was content to play there all day or play in the shallows of the river, skimming stones and digging for 'treasure'.

Very peaceful and laid back site. Will be back to recharge our batteries! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikky73 4 reviews from this member

 What a super site! We got pitched (with EHU) right beside the river, which was great for our pooches to go paddling in whilst we set up the tent! Site was lovely and flat, and dry as the weather had been quite good prior to us arriving.

The site is mainly static caravans however there are quite a few pitches for tourers and tents. Bearing that in mind, we felt that despite some previous reviews, the toilet and shower blocks were more than adequate (although the electric shower in the mens had low & high setting.And that meant either too hot or too cold.Nowhere in between LOL!)

The reviews about the shop however are spot on! It's opening hours seemed to be a few hours on Saturday and Sunday, and would be great if all you wanted to do was read as it had an abundance of books (even in the chillers!) but not much in the way of necessities. The town on Innerleithen is about 20-30 minutes gentle drive away so it's not too far to get supplies.And you must visit it even if it's just for the Ice Cream shop! Yummy!

The first couple of days of our visit were glorious sunshine and we thoroughly relaxed sitting around the tent as it's so peaceful. It rained the second half of our visit, but it didn't dampen our spirits and the site certainly didn't become waterlogged, it drained quite quickly despite the amount of rain!

There is a super walk along the River Ettrick from the site which is maintatined by the Borders Heritage Trust (or something like that!) with 2 superb twitter houses.

Talking of twittering, a lot of the static caravans and long stay tourers have bird tables and feeders at them, so there are oodles of birdies around the site including chaffinches, siskins, tits and swallows; brilliant to see as you're walking in and amongst them.

We paid a visit to the pub at Tushielaw on the Friday evening, which was about a mile walk from the site, but it didn't accept dogs so had to sit in the pub yard and didn't bother going back after that.They only sold 4 tap beers (2 ale & 2 lager)

All in all, we had a great time and were really impressed with the site, but one word of warning.Take midgy precautions! What a pain in the proverbial LOL! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parsnil 3 reviews from this member

 1st camping trip, 3 adults and 2 dogs. Arrived early afternoon in the rain. The site is basic, with toilet shower block, which was clean and disinfectant provided to mop up before / after a shower. Shop on site is only open for an hour at a time in the morning then in the afternoon, the lady from the shop will give you her mobile number if you want to order provisions/ paper and can collect the following day.
The site was perfect for getting back to basics, take plenty of provisions with you, as the nearest shop is at least a 40 minute drive away, literally this site is in the middle of nowhere. Owner friendly with no arrival or departure time. Would go back to totally de stress and be amazed at the wonder of the countryside. Loved it for my weekend break 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mamee 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from a trip to Honey Cottage with the family and would definitely go again.

The site was level and very quiet for a Bank Holiday. We even got an EHU. The pitches closer to the river were a bit marshy but the upper site pitches mean that you are overlooked by the statics. Loos and showers were clean and functional, although one camper stated that her shower was cold the one I was in was lovely and warm even if the flow was a bit intermittent. The loo blocks were not heated, but given the air temp in the early morning (freezing) they still managed to feel warm.

Dish washing sink was very clean at all times that I used it.

The site is on the bank of the River Ettrick and my sons spent many hours there with either Dad or I or both of us and the dog skimming stones. They also loved the kids play area which was one of the best that I have seen on a small campsite. There are also some lovely walks across the bridge by the campsite through Ettrick Marshes. We also took a walk in the local pottery garden which was magical at the suggestion of one of the locals.

Although I did not use the site shop I believe it is only open at weekends. You are some miles from the shops so take everything you need with you.

I can definitely see us re-visiting this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cocteau 8 reviews from this member

 Site in fantastic location with great views, and loads of walks for the dog. Site is dominated by statics, the bottom end of the site is by far the best place to pitch a tent. There is another area in the middle of the site near the toilet block, but I'd imagine it must feel like being in a fish bowl with all those statics pointing at you!

Ironically we thought of complaining about the noisy travelling caravaners who sat up to the small hours drinking and getting progressively louder

Basic facilities - looking somewhat dated but functional. Never managed to have a hot shower, don't know if it was a fault or whether the water had been run off by others as we're always late to the shower block. Only cold water at the dishwashing areas and only one sink.

Don't be put off by my negative comments this is a site worth a visit 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Honey Cottage Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Honey Cottage Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Honey Cottage Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ettrick Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement