Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davy / Jean 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from this wonderful beautiful site, the ground is perfect flat & grass is cut short with no cuttings lying about, pitches are massive plenty of room.

Lesley the warden is brilliant very helpful & friendly, toilet block is spotless, the washing area is great even cloths & washing up liquid supplied free, the site is perfect for exploring this wonderful coast line

Simply the best 😎

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arlenecallison 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 relaxing nights at this lovely peaceful campsite. Showers and toilets immaculate. Would highly recommend this place. Kitchen facilities great with washing up liquid and clothes supplied. Washing machine and fridge freezer for ice blocks. Lesley who runs it a lovely person and so helpful. Will definitely be back. Thank you very much for a great experience.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AC64 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here over bank holiday weekend. The site was busy but not packed out.

The owner is a lovely friendly lady who is willing to help with any query. She lent us maps and books to go walking in the area.

The toilet/shower area is very well maintained and clean. Nice washing up area and a lovely tv/games room.

The area round about is lovely and there are plenty of tourist spots close by.

There are some lovely short walks from the site and also a nice play area for the children.

We would definitely go back to this site in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveG60 14 reviews from this member

Well situated site close to Wigtown but with lovely views across the bay.

Facilities good include a common room and large washing area (the provision of a radio made washing up a pleasure). The owners worked hard at keeping the facilities clean and tidy although this did mean that we found grass mowings everywhere.

Wigtown itself is worth visiting for its bookshops and cafes. Castle Douglas is a quaint old fashioned sort of town. The countryside around is beautiful and little known

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hymiejones 8 reviews from this member

We can't say enough of how good this site is, very friendly owners, flattest site ever, super showers/toilets, only little criticism, the cubicles are very big & the shower is so strong a curtain to separate the changing area would be an advantage as the spray from your body tends to go over your clothes. As I say a very minor problem which is more that made up for by the rest of the site.

We will be returning during the Scottish Bowls championship in Ayr in August.

There are lots of places of interest around all within easy travelling distance, people tend to notice that you have visited the distillery 4 days in a row.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roaming wrinklies 1 review from this member

We have just left this gem of a site after a great stay. The site is all luscious thick grass with views over the bay. The pitches were very big with ample space for a 'van, awning and car. The toilet block is brand new and kept spotlessly clean with ample toilet cubicles and very large showers with plenty of hot water. There is also a family cubicle. The washing area has 4 sinks with hot water and double drainers for dish washing as well as two new washing machines and and new tumble dryer.

There is a huge 'play' room with TV, snooker/billiard table, loads of up to date local information and books and games. The comfy sofas are ideal to snuggle to watch TV in bad weather!

The children have a play area with swings and other play equipment and there are outdoor games and a sandpit by the facilities block.

The owners are very friendly and helpful even offering to bring in our washing from the line if it rained whilst we were out.

We found plenty to do in the 8 days we were there, but although we did a lot of walking and cycling we found that we needed the car. There are good shops and pubs within 15-20 mins car travel away. I understand that there is a good bus service but we didn't use it.

If we ever want to visit this area again we will certainly be back and would definitely recommend this site.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dangerous-Dave 3 reviews from this member

Had an absolutely fabulous week's camping here in August 2013. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities were spotless, the day room is a great idea and there were plenty of distractions for the kids - a Jungle Gym, sand pit and basketball ring - and they made lots of friends.

Lesley was always helpful and on hand, also very accommodating and allowed us to extend our short stay to a whole week without any fuss and would not take payment until we left.

There are no shops in the immediate vicinity but we found the supermarkets in Wigtown and Whithorn more than adequate and only 5-10 mins by car.

There are plenty of local attractions - beaches, gardens, Whithorn Priory, and bookshops in Wigtown, also good walking in the Southern Uplands and Kirroughtree Forest. Skies are dark and we were treated to a brief display of the northern lights.

The only criticism I could level is the kids Jungle Gym was in the middle of a field where dog owners are allowed to toilet their dogs. This resulted in an incident where our daughter put her hand in dog mess. Lesley was very apologetic and tidied it up. However I think it would be better to limit dog toileting to the far northern end of the site, well away from the Jungle Gym.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at this delightful site. It is in a lovely area, very peaceful with wonderful views, and with possibly the largest pitches ever on the flattest, most well drained field ever.

The owner, is always busy, don't think she sits down, except on the quad, when she is emptying the bins. She is always willing to stop for a chat and will happily recommend local eateries or places to visit.

The ablutions block is spotless with unlimited hot water. The showers are HUGE, probably the biggest cubicles on any site we've visited. The showers are push button and hot (possibly a little too hot, disadvantage of push buttons). There are three showers, four toilets and four open sinks in both mens and ladies, no privacy cubicles. There is also a disabled/family washroom.

The dishwashing area and laundry are in the same block, with three dishwashing sinks complete with washing up liquid and dishcloths. There are two washing machines, a tumble dryer, iron and ironing board and a sink for hand washing clothes. Outside is a rotary dryer. There are also two hairdryers available. Never had to queue for any of the facilities.

There is a small play area on site, but can't comment as we didn't have any children with us.

There is a lot to do in the surrounding area (we didn't do half of what we wanted). Plenty of gardens to visit and some very lovely villages, all those we visited had FREE parking. The Mull of Galloway is an RSPB reserve, with a lovely café/shop and you can see Ireland and the Isle of Man.

A must do/see is the Galloway Kite Trail and the kite feeding station, what a spectacular site, seeing over 70 red kites flying around. They are fed at 2pm every day and the farm where the feeding station is, sells hot and cold drinks, crisps and cakes.

For a meal out, try The Bladnoch Inn, about 2 1/2 miles away from the site. The food is delicious, reasonably priced, with plenty on the plate.

All things considered, a wonderful site, excellent value for money, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

Lovely site and very friendly owners. All pitches are on grass which was well cut and short. Plenty of Electric Hookups available. Picnic benches were scattered around the site and were a useful facility for eating outside on a very warm weekend. Toilet facilities are faultless. Plenty for kids to do in the various play area/rooms but they were far enough away to enjoy themselves without disturbing anyone wanting a quiet weekend.

No midges to be seen but the cleggs (horseflies) were vicious a short distance from the site. Thankfully there were none ON the site. Take Deet to keep them at bay if you intend to walk to nearby Wigtown along nice quiet paths and tracks.

Excellent site, recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOUISE1851 3 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 10 fantastic days at this truly wonderful site.

Where do I start??? Huge pitches, big enough for us to pitch sideways on with the awning in front to enjoy the beautiful views in front.

Picnic benches on each pitch which were VERY useful and a really nice touch.

Immaculate facilities! Plenty of showers/toilets, constant hot water and really large cubicles.

2 washing machines and a dryer, 3 washing up sinks, a freezer to store ice packs, hair dryers, irons. , the list is endless! In fact, basically there, s just everything you could ever want on a campsite and kept so spotlessly clean it put my bathroom at home to shame!

The owners Lesley and Ralph are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. They work constantly on the site keeping it pristine but not uncomfortably so that you daren, t move. In fact to the contrary. We have two children aged 11 and 2, and there was plenty on site to keep both children more than happy, a sandpit with toys etc already in it for the younger boy and basketball hoop and games room for the eldest. Plus footballs to play in the designated play area that also has climbing frame with slide and swings.

Excellent access to site and lovely beach close by.

Nearby supermarket in newton stewart, with local co-op in Wigtown.

All in all I can, t praise this site and the owners enough.

A beautiful, clean and welcoming site that will suit every single age. There, s something for everyone. Congratulations to you Lesley, through your hard work and understanding of the requirements of campers you, ve ticked every single box and more. This is one site we, ll be returning to as soon and as often as possible!

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019