Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park)

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Selby > Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park) > Reviews

Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park)
Cliffe Common
Selby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 6EF
Tel: 01757 638984
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics For Sale Only
Open: 05/02/2024 to 05/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 34 Reviews
                7/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Zoose4 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice site now. Its been taken over, new owners are doing a great job. Staff are very friendly. On site bar snacks are great value for money and very tasty. All facilities are clean and tidy and the site itself has improved.

There are new statics on site and log cabins which improve the look of the site. The new owners were very helpful and friendly and the site manager went out of his way to help out.

Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Floralflower 1 review from this member

 The ranch caravan park is a great place because the people are so lovely towards the children also the place is so clean and tidy, there is a lovely atmosphere and everyone gets on well with each other, a lot has been added to the site like a new bbq area, play area and also newly tarmacked roads.

There is lots of countryside to walk the dogs on and even though there isn't any shops in walking distance there is a tesco 10minutes away in the car. At the end of the road there is also a pub I have never been to but it looks nice.

The staff here are so helpful and dedicated to the customers

Thankyou. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kcimerod 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great three days at The Ranch.

The site is mainly for static and touring caravans, the owners put our tent amongst caravans that were part of our group, no problems there.

The washing up room could do with a refurbish and the toilet was in the club house, not ideal but wasn't a problem.

The club house was the hub of the site. It had a duo singing one night and karaoke another, it was very lively which we and the grandkids liked.

Bar meals at a fiver were good value.

The new owners were friendly and helpful.

Building work was taking place which I am sure will enhances the site.

The site is ideal for Selby, and York is not to far away. We shall go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

 We chose this caravan site at the last minute, as our chosen site for the weekend was waterlogged - this was one of the closest to us with available hard standings.

When we arrived on site we made our way to the reception which was open - but unmanned, after about 10 minutes ringing a bell and loitering around, I approached 3 guys who had been stood chatting and watching us at reception - they turned out to be the owners!

The owners of the site are friendly enough, and eventually told us to pitch anywhere we wanted, looking around the site, I would say it is definitely biased towards the seasonal caravanners, and those buying lodges, and log cabins - the pitches are quite small and close together - the toilets and showers are located in the clubhouse - and for what we paid (£18. 50) a night were not very clean or welcoming, so we decided to use the caravan facilities - As mentioned there is a club on site which serves food, although we did not use the facilities, so can't comment on the food, or the entertainment.

We were kept awake until around 11:30 at night with youngsters on the play area - they were not rowdy or badly behaved - just quite noisy.

We decided to cut our stay short due to the really shocking weather forecast the next day - all in all if you like a site with a clubhouse and don't mind noise until 11:30 at night the site is OK - although unfortunately we will not return.

The site is handy for York, and the nearby McArthur Glen designer Outlet - also Selby is nearby which is a nice little Market town. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MJandFamily 3 reviews from this member

 Weíve recently returned from 6 days at The Ranch near Selby.

Itís quiet, in the middle of the countryside, with a kids playground, bar/clubhouse, with food and entertainment on Friday & Saturday evenings.

On arrival, we pulled up and I walked to reception, which was closed, and a sign said, go to the Hobby caravan by the main building. I couldnít find a Hobby caravan by the main building (I later found out they'd moved it). I went in to the main building, but it was empty, so I asked 2 gents, who I had seen as I walked around Ė and one said he was the owner!

We were pitched about 3' from the next caravan, which seemed a little tight & on the first day our electric kept tripping, due to the neighbouring caravans.

The toilets & showers are in the main clubhouse/bar building, and were always dirty, in need of a clean & even refurbishing.

There's building work going on, which sometimes starts very early (6am, right past our caravan), to build more lodges for the owners.

There's a gate which was left open almost all the time, but when it was closed & secure, we were stuck, we found the owners, only to be told we should have been given a fob for the gate when we arrived, 3 days earlier.

Note, the site only accepts cash or cheque, they don't accept cards.

The site seems to be moving towards luxury lodges.

We used the site as a base, but wished we'd booked elsewhere. We won't be going back, as it didnít suit our needs. Itís not what we expected for an ETC 4 star site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LynnD 1 review from this member

 We have just had a lovely 3 night stay at The Ranch. The new owners are very friendly and helpful and are working hard to improve the site. Barney the Handyman cannot do enough for you, he gave us information on the local area and we were made to feel very welcome. We went over to the club and although there are a lot of regulars they did make us feel welcome. The showers are basic but they were clean. While we were there they erected a new children's swing and slide and there is already a small trampoline. Yes there are kids running around till midnight but that didn't bother us even though we were an adult only group, they were very entertaining! We will be going back to The Ranch with the Grandkids and look forward to seeing the the improvements planned for this site. We wish the new owners every success and see you soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harnett family 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, lovely and quiet. The tiolet and showers block could do with a little updating, however, it was scrupulously clean throughout our week stay.

The 'playground', well, it's been said by many, two swings, one baby swing and one for slightly older kids. This didn't present an issue, though, with our 9 year old, she was quite content.

Ten minute drive to a 'Designer outlet' that has park and ride facilities into York City centre. Spent two whole days there (and much money) for the princely sum of £4. 80 per day. Also we had a day at Eden Camp, well worth a visit.

All the people we came across be they on the site or in one of the many pubs in the surrounding area, were very friendly.

One more thing about the toilet /shower /dishwashig facilities, it makes such a nice chang to be able to turn on a tap and have HOT water coming out without the need to keep pushing the top down.

Definitely worth a visit to use as a base to explore York. We didn't use the on site club, mainly because we were back to the caravan very late each day, so can't comment on that, sorry. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fluffyelle 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during the February half term for 4 days.

Site was quiet.

The children's play area could do to have more things put on it, as it stands there is only one swing, and a small wooden playhouse.

Toilet block was clean and tidy at all times.

Hard standing pitches which are great during cold winter months, which is the reason we choose to come to this park.

Does have wifi, and it really pleased my eldest who bought a 3 day pass for £7.50?? or £10.00 ( sorry cant remember ).

The clubhouse/pub is rather small, and it seems to be for seasonal pitch holders really. We sat in there and felt right out of place, so didn't stay long at all.

Nice clean site though, and enjoyed getting out in the caravan to clean it all :~) 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kerrysykes 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely caravan park. Units quite close, on hard standing and a small grassed to the side.

There was a club house, but unfortunately we didn't get to use it as our little girl was poorly on the second night, and we arrived too late on the first night.

The people are very friendly, and helped us to pitch the caravan as it was only the 2nd time we had used it.

There was a little playground on site, with swings and a little play house.

Barrier to get in and out, which made it really safe.

The showers looked clean, though didn't use them, just nipped to the toilet. There was also a small information point there, with local attractions/information etc.

They also did food, which you can take out.

Overall a nice site 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoose4 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed a the ranch however cannot say I was happy. There are two showers on site for the ladies needed a very good clean before I would use them the shower curtains were in need of a good wash. There is a club on site but children were running around outside until well past midnight. It does mention a children's play park but there are only two swings.

There is no shop on site so be prepared to drive for shopping although Selby town centre is a very nice place to go with lots of shops. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cliffe Country Lodges (formerly Ranch Caravan Park) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Selby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement