Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nun Cote Nook Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Nun Cote Nook Farm
Marrick
Marrick
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 7LG
Tel: 01748 884266
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rdembry 1 review from this member

What a fantastic campsite! The farmer, his wife and children are extremely friendly and welcoming. We’ve been 3 times and will certainly be heading back again this year. Set in stunning scenery with a breath-taking view of the valley below, this quiet, working farm is ideal for families with children or indeed anyone who wants to experience a relaxing break. This trip we saw piglets, cows, sheep, chickens and even a pregnant cat! Our kids (5, 7, 9yrs) just love watching the farmer do his ‘stuff’ rounding up sheep with his dog or playing on the trampoline or playing rounder’s or cricket in the massive camping field. It feels really safe and although other people are there on the site-caravans, tents motorhomes and coast to coast walkers-it never feels busy or crowded. One of Yorkshire’s best kept secrets! Only 15 mins away from Richmond by car, with a basic, but very large toilet and shower (great for washing kids) and delicious food (cake and scones etc. Served in or outside the farmhouse conservatory) we always have an amazing time. My husband loves the cooked breakfast with freshly laid eggs courtesy of the farmer’s wife!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Clairehope 10 reviews from this member

We came back from 5 nights at Nun Cote Nook on Saturday. I paid £15 a night for a pitch with EHU in my folding camper. The site is a large, sloping field with the most amazing views.

There are, I think, only 4 pitches with EHU, I don't know how many without - it's a big field, but it seemed only the edges are used for pitches. There is a tap for drinking water near the entrance to the field.

There is one toilet and one shower. These are both in outhouses, the former has a table for placing your toiletries, a mirror, handbasin with towel and fresh flowers in a vase. The latter is in a room that also contains the dishwashing sink. I was worried that it would be cold as it is quite a large space, but it wasn't at all.

The shower was free, fully adjustable and there was even some shampoo and shower gel in case you forgot your own. I do recommend using the 'duck board' provided as the tiles could be slippy. These facilities are simple and clean rather than luxurious, with little touches that add to the warm welcome from Elaine in person.

Nun Cote Nook is a working farm with all the noises (and smells) of animals and machinery that involves. The cockerel woke me at 04. 20 the first morning, there are chickens and cats wandering about the camping field and tractors and quads being driven across it from time to time (not in a manner that represented any hazard to campers I would hasten to reassure!) The field is a field, not a lawn and the grass is not close cropped nor are the cuttings collected.

Some of which may sound like I am being negative. In reality I don't know where to begin to give this site the praise I feel it deserves! The welcome is warm and wholly genuine and the atmosphere is totally laid back.

People are left to camp as they choose - there was a group who had camped on the longer grass, with a little woodburning stove in the middle of their tents as well as people in a motorhome, us in a folding camper, tents of various shapes and sizes, with and without EHU and a couple of caravans over the five nights we were there.

There was loads of space with no feeling at all of being cramped up next to other campers. It is hard to overstate how lovely the location is, even 3 days of very heavy rain could not diminish it, there are wonderful views for miles in every direction and lots of footpaths for those who enjoy exploring on foot.

Marrick is a tiny village with no shop, the nearest so far as I am aware is at Reeth a couple of miles from the site. There is a good choice of shops in Richmond, which is a pretty town, with a tourist information office and a quite large Cooperative supermarket.

There are some really good shops for those of a foodie persuasion and lots of charity shops for those who like a bargain! Speaking of which, the café in the market hall does a great cup of tea and a toasted tea cake for £1. 50, there were also some rather splendid looking cakes on offer in the chiller.

You don't have to go that far from the site for great cake however. The coast to coast path runs across the land at Nun Cote Nook and Elaine, assisted by daughter Annie, runs a tearoom in the conservatory which overlooks the camping field and shares its wonderful views. The bacon butty I had was fantastic, my daughter's fried egg sandwich was equally good and the bowl of chips we shared finished the meal off perfectly!

The chiller there is full of wonderful treats, we sampled a marvellous lemon meringue pie, it was genuinely hard to choose as everything looked delicious (there was a victoria Sponge I will remember for a long time!) Children are even allowed to bounce around on the trampoline in the garden while the grown ups chat over a cup of tea.

I was a bit anxious about towing the camper off the field as the rain had left things rather slippy. Despite the fact that the family were rushed off their feet organising a surprise 50th party for Keith, time was made to tow the camper clear of the mud and make sure I was safely hitched up.

The hospitality was lovely, the site's location as beautiful as any I have visited, the sense of relaxation was wonderful. I hope they never change a thing!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prbeal 1 review from this member

As many others have said, very nice site, very good welcome (tea and shortbread!). Field is not quite flat but we did find an OK spot for the tent. The site is fairly sheltered from prevailing wind.

There is only a single toilet and shower with the wash up facility in the same (lockable!) room as the shower so there could be queues in busy times.

This is most definitely a working farm and Keith was taking full advantage of the light dawn until dusk. It is quiet if you are OK with cockadoodledoing and mooing from the early hours onwards!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campervankids 2 reviews from this member

We booked in for two nights and stayed for six. If you want a good family camping experience this is a gem of a find

The views are amazing. Elaines food is also amazing. Keiths quad bike was a highlight for the children and the husband, as was the sight of the cows chasing weary coast to coast walkers.

This campsite is great for a complete break and peace and quiet. Yes it is true Thomas the cockerel doesn't care much for holiday lie ins but wake up when he says so as the sunrise is stunning.

Yes there is only one toilet one shower one washing up area but Elaine doesn't cram on campers everywhere, so this was never a problem

We will be going back we all loved it!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robdor 12 reviews from this member

A friendly family site, greeted by the farmers wife Elaine and Keith the farmer. We we were invited to 'come up for a cuppa when you've pitched your caravan'. We were treated to Coffee and toasted teacakes in the conservatory as a welcome. What a welcome!

We didn't use the facilities as we nearly always use those on board however they appeared clean and useable.

Fantastic uninterrupted views of the surrounding dales.

This is an excellent site for those who want to experience life on a farm. Waking up to the sound of cockerel's and sheep.

Keith & Elaine were very welcoming and offered help on numerous occasions including towing our caravan our through a pair of narrow stone pillars ensuring that we didn't cause ourselves any damage.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Backpack55 6 reviews from this member

Just done the Coast to Coast for 6th time and again, camped at Nun Cote Nook. This is a lovely setting, quite and friendly, Elaine always has time for chat, cup of tea & cake.

The Shower is basic, but nevertheless clean and hot water as always. There is only one unisex toilet, which is again clean and fresh.

The site is on a slight slope, but nothing serious really. It's on the Coast to Coast walk path and could be easy to miss, but it is signed before the farm.

Elaine also does a evening meal and breakfast, which is always home-cooked. The breakfast is the best one I've had on the Coast to Coast.

I can recommend this site for a quite week-end break or if anyone does the Coast to Coast walk or mtb.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thesaint 20 reviews from this member

We were made very welcome on arrival by Elaine and her husband. After we pitched the tent we were treated to a cup of tea and a homemade biscuit. The site is set on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park so the views from the campsite are very picturesque. It is also handy for the Coast to Coast as the path runs right next to the site.

The site is a field in front of the house, it is fairly level and offers electric hook-ups. It cost us £20 for two nights for my wife and I and the dog. There is also a 4 berth caravan to hire at £18 per person. The toilet was always clean and the shower was hot and free. There were 4 other tents there and Elaine makes sure that the field isn't crammed full of tents so there is plenty of room between tents. It was very peaceful during our stay(apart from normal countryside noises).

The nearest supermarket is in Richmond with local stores(for basics) in Reeth. There is a cycle hire place just outside Reeth and the area is very popular with walkers. The nearest pub is 3 miles away (the Bridge Inn) in Grinton with 3 more pubs in Reeth. Elaine also runs a tea shop in her conservatory and we can recommend the homemade apple pie (as well as the site).

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robp 2 reviews from this member

This was our first experience of camping and, despite arriving and pitching the tent in torrential rain it hasn't put us off!

The site is extremely peaceful and situated on a working farm with decent amenities for the size of site and best of all, cooked breakfasts, cream teas and meals available in the farm.

Really friendly chatty owner, who is an excellent cook, and opportunities for the kids to see calves and feed the lambs as well as play with the owner's daughter and roam the fields.

Plenty of opportunities to walk or run from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thepats 2 reviews from this member

We have to agree with all the other reviews really. You will rarely get to wake up to a more fantastic view - if only we could have had some sun! This is a working farm and it was interesting watching the sheep being rounded up and it was fun having breakfast with the hens popping in and out - 10/10 for their eggs!

Elaine and Keith are lovely and very are friendly and helpful. The only down side was the lack of facilities - one loo and shower, both of which could have done with a clean.

The nearest pubs are at Grinton and Reeth (3 miles away)- we had a good meal at The Bridge, Grinton. We treated ourselves to one of Elaine's Ploughman's lunches after packing up the tent which was good. There are also plenty of walks from the site meaning less driving.

If you want peace (ignoring cockerels and sheep!) and solitude this is the place for you.

There are EHUs if needed. We don't have little children anymore but they would have loved this place when they were younger.

Use this site to explore Swaledale but remember to take your waterproofs!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markandsarah 2 reviews from this member

Nice friendly peaceful site, huge field. As previous reviews stated, only 1 toilet and 1 shower but site was quiet when we were there so this was no problem. Facilities were clean and tidy.

This site is 7 miles from the closest town of Richmond and doesn't have a shop on site so ensure you have all you need! That said, the campsite does have a tea room and will make you a cooked breakfast, packed lunch or an evening meal if you give them some notice.

Owners are currently updating site for some electric hookups around the side of the field.

If you are looking for activities and entertainment then this isn't the site for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet, along with lovely views, then this is the site you are looking for!

For £5 per adult per night, we certainly can't complain about it and we'll be back for sure.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019