Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nun Cote Nook Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Nun Cote Nook Farm
Marrick
Marrick
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 7LG
Tel: 01748 884266
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cjaus 3 reviews from this member

Good old Yorkshire hospitality at it's best!

Just got back from 3 relaxing days/nights at this Campsite over the Easter weekend.

We were met by owner Elaine, she gave us a choice of pitches, showed us around the facilities and said pop up to the farm once setup. We chose the pitch that was on its own as we had two boisterous toddlers with us (and it also meant our lounge area was facing the stunning views).

Once set up we went up to the farmhouse to pay the great price of £15 per night and were offered fresh scones and tea.

The day we arrived it was raining and some of the other campers struggled to get on site. But everyone on the farm mucked in with a Quad and Tractor to get folk onto their pitches.

The next few days on site it was glorious sunshine and you could see for miles.

Easter Sunday, Elaine was up bright and early hiding Easter chocolate outside the farmhouse and around the large field we were camping in. Then at 11. 30 all work stopped on the farm and her children (mostly grown up)and workers gathered by the farmhouse. On the word GO, there was a stampede of welly flopping folk racing around the field hunting for eggs and sweets. The other campers also joined in racing around the field.

The best part was Elaine had kept a small section of wall by for our two small children they absolutely loved it, the big smiles on their faces were amazing.

Elaine also took time out from lambing to bring over a newborn lamb to our caravan for the children to meet. We were also greeted at our door by the farm cat and dogs a several occasions.

The Farmer himself was often seen going through the field on his quad to tend to his sheep. But, he always smiled and waved at the children.

This is a great little campsite. It has two toilets and a shower.

There is no waste water disposal point, you are asked to carefully pour it down the toilet.

This is a Working Farm, you will hear farm animals and farm machinery, but no where near enough to be annoying.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxed long weekend. We will definitely be using this site again. The bonus is we only live less than 20 minutes away

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 47 reviews from this member

We had 2 night here and loved it, Elaine made us feel very welcome with a cream tea on arrival. The views fantastic, you could see for miles. This is a working farm they all worked long days with the sheep. The facilities were nice and clean, we had some lovely walks, the first walk was to Reeth and our second day walked into Richmond. Both walls were along the coast to coast route. TV reception was excellent. Will definitely go back one day

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thesaint 20 reviews from this member

My wife and I, our dog and 3 year old girl stayed here on the Tour de France weekend. Unlike other campsites, Elaine kept her prices the same for this weekend. It cost us £24 for 2 nights. We received a very warm welcome from the owner on arrival, she remembered my name even though it was a year ago since we last went. The site was a lot busier than normal but not overcrowded. The facilities coped as Elaine has had an extra toilet put in. The atmosphere here was very family friendly, on Saturday evening, The owner's husband took all the children on a tractor ride around the campsite/farm. Also later on Saturday, a hog roast was laid on for all the campers. Everyone who stayed here had an excellent time and most will be returning. What makes this site special is Elaine makes sure it's never overcrowded, it is a peaceful site with amazing views of the Dales. There are supermarkets nearby in Richmond (Co-op) or Catterick Garrison (Tescos), and local shops in Reeth. We can recommend the Bridge Inn at Grinton and the Black Bull in Reeth for food.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thesaint 20 reviews from this member

Last visited here in 2010 and nothing has changed thankfully. On arrival we had the usual warm welcome by Elaine. After we pitched the tents we were treated to a cup of tea and homemade biscuits (delicious). Over the weekend there where 3 other tents, Elaine makes sure it doesn't get too busy. For us that is the attraction of the site, it makes it safe for our 2 year old girl and border collie who likes to chase things. It makes it very peaceful as well.

While we stayed there the toilet was always clean and the shower was hot and free. The views from the site are spectacular as the farm is on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The nearest supermarket is in Richmond with local stores(for basics) in Reeth. We can recommend the Bridge Inn in Grinton for food and Elaine also runs a tea shop in her conservatory and we can recommend the homemade apple pie (as well as the site).

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rdembry 1 review from this member

What a fantastic campsite! The farmer, his wife and children are extremely friendly and welcoming. We’ve been 3 times and will certainly be heading back again this year. Set in stunning scenery with a breath-taking view of the valley below, this quiet, working farm is ideal for families with children or indeed anyone who wants to experience a relaxing break. This trip we saw piglets, cows, sheep, chickens and even a pregnant cat! Our kids (5, 7, 9yrs) just love watching the farmer do his ‘stuff’ rounding up sheep with his dog or playing on the trampoline or playing rounder’s or cricket in the massive camping field. It feels really safe and although other people are there on the site-caravans, tents motorhomes and coast to coast walkers-it never feels busy or crowded. One of Yorkshire’s best kept secrets! Only 15 mins away from Richmond by car, with a basic, but very large toilet and shower (great for washing kids) and delicious food (cake and scones etc. Served in or outside the farmhouse conservatory) we always have an amazing time. My husband loves the cooked breakfast with freshly laid eggs courtesy of the farmer’s wife!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Clairehope 10 reviews from this member

We came back from 5 nights at Nun Cote Nook on Saturday. I paid £15 a night for a pitch with EHU in my folding camper. The site is a large, sloping field with the most amazing views.

There are, I think, only 4 pitches with EHU, I don't know how many without - it's a big field, but it seemed only the edges are used for pitches. There is a tap for drinking water near the entrance to the field.

There is one toilet and one shower. These are both in outhouses, the former has a table for placing your toiletries, a mirror, handbasin with towel and fresh flowers in a vase. The latter is in a room that also contains the dishwashing sink. I was worried that it would be cold as it is quite a large space, but it wasn't at all.

The shower was free, fully adjustable and there was even some shampoo and shower gel in case you forgot your own. I do recommend using the 'duck board' provided as the tiles could be slippy. These facilities are simple and clean rather than luxurious, with little touches that add to the warm welcome from Elaine in person.

Nun Cote Nook is a working farm with all the noises (and smells) of animals and machinery that involves. The cockerel woke me at 04. 20 the first morning, there are chickens and cats wandering about the camping field and tractors and quads being driven across it from time to time (not in a manner that represented any hazard to campers I would hasten to reassure!) The field is a field, not a lawn and the grass is not close cropped nor are the cuttings collected.

Some of which may sound like I am being negative. In reality I don't know where to begin to give this site the praise I feel it deserves! The welcome is warm and wholly genuine and the atmosphere is totally laid back.

People are left to camp as they choose - there was a group who had camped on the longer grass, with a little woodburning stove in the middle of their tents as well as people in a motorhome, us in a folding camper, tents of various shapes and sizes, with and without EHU and a couple of caravans over the five nights we were there.

There was loads of space with no feeling at all of being cramped up next to other campers. It is hard to overstate how lovely the location is, even 3 days of very heavy rain could not diminish it, there are wonderful views for miles in every direction and lots of footpaths for those who enjoy exploring on foot.

Marrick is a tiny village with no shop, the nearest so far as I am aware is at Reeth a couple of miles from the site. There is a good choice of shops in Richmond, which is a pretty town, with a tourist information office and a quite large Cooperative supermarket.

There are some really good shops for those of a foodie persuasion and lots of charity shops for those who like a bargain! Speaking of which, the café in the market hall does a great cup of tea and a toasted tea cake for £1. 50, there were also some rather splendid looking cakes on offer in the chiller.

You don't have to go that far from the site for great cake however. The coast to coast path runs across the land at Nun Cote Nook and Elaine, assisted by daughter Annie, runs a tearoom in the conservatory which overlooks the camping field and shares its wonderful views. The bacon butty I had was fantastic, my daughter's fried egg sandwich was equally good and the bowl of chips we shared finished the meal off perfectly!

The chiller there is full of wonderful treats, we sampled a marvellous lemon meringue pie, it was genuinely hard to choose as everything looked delicious (there was a victoria Sponge I will remember for a long time!) Children are even allowed to bounce around on the trampoline in the garden while the grown ups chat over a cup of tea.

I was a bit anxious about towing the camper off the field as the rain had left things rather slippy. Despite the fact that the family were rushed off their feet organising a surprise 50th party for Keith, time was made to tow the camper clear of the mud and make sure I was safely hitched up.

The hospitality was lovely, the site's location as beautiful as any I have visited, the sense of relaxation was wonderful. I hope they never change a thing!

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0898