Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite Reviews

Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite
Find Us On Facebook: Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite
Wallbrook Lane
Longnor
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0LJ
Tel: 01298 84470
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Proudlp 1 review from this member

 If you ever find friendlier and more helpful owners of a camping site I'll be amazed. Site was lovely and quiet, not too busy, which was good as there's only 2 showers and a small toilet block.

Lovely pub about 20mins walk away in Hulme End. Some reviewers mentioned it was on Manchester airport flight path, I wouldn't bother about that, we didn't hear any at night and only a few during the day. Well worth staying here. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Greggcarey 1 review from this member

 This site is excellent for nice quiet breaks away at a very reasonable price,

The owner and her family are very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way on several occasions to help us out including lending us a extra long electric lead and extending the time of hot water for washing dishes if requested.

Although they only have two toilets and two showers they are keep in exceptional condition (very clean)

There was not any long waits for the use of these facilities even over the bank holiday weekend,

The space your given for your pitch is very generous as they don't overbook and always leave the middle of the field for children to play. The surrounding fields have lambs and there was farmers training their sheep dogs which was very interesting to watch.

We even extended our holiday because we enjoyed it that much, despite the rainy weather. Overall the site is excellent 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vickynewby 9 reviews from this member

 We managed to get a tent pitch here at short notice for the May Bank Holiday. Site was busy, but still plenty of space and despite there being only 2 toilets and showers there were only occasionally small waits. The family that run this site are very friendly and are constantly checking the facilities and cleaning them, they were always spotlessly clean. The site is very peaceful, in a quiet tucked away location. Everyone pitches around the edges of the field and kids can play in the middle which is nice.

We visited the Hulme End Tea Junction which does lovely teas and cakes and also recommend Longnor Fish and Chip shop. The site is convenient for Buxton and the Manifold trail.

The only negatives I could find with this site is the showers although very clean, were basic with a stone floor with not a lot of space and the site is under the Manchester Airport flight path, but you soon get used to this.

I would go back to this site, it is more than worth the money (we paid 11 for 2 adults and 3 kids) and does not seem to get too busy. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lonewolf 7 reviews from this member

 Another great weekend at what must be the friendliest campsite there is.

Facilities were well looked after as always (block with 2 toilets, showers and washing up sink). The site was busy but loads of room as they never oversell (other sites around were rammed).

Weather was splendid and a few pints outside the Manifold Inn went down very well. Yes the Plum Porter (Titanic) and the other real ales on offer were very nice indeed.

Still only 4 per person per night. We will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah + Jaimie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely and peaceful site. We read the other reviews before we went so were aware that it may have been a little difficult to find. Plenty of directions gave us no problems.

We were spoilt by the very nice weather and an afternoon spent at the campsite sat in the sunshine was very chilling and relaxing - just what we needed. Lots of very pleasant walks in the day followed by a 20-30 minute stroll across fields to the Manifold Inn. We can strongly recommend the plum porter!

We pitched our tent in a corner and had plenty of privacy, not too close to other pitches. Our 2 dogs loved it just sat watching the world go by.

If you are looking for a relaxing, away from it all campsite then this is the one for you. We enjoyed it so much that we are looking at returning this following weekend! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fredsmith 7 reviews from this member

 Very nice site in very peaceful, rural surroundings and really its only downfall is trying to find it. However, the owner even offered to meet us if we got lost!

Better facilities than on a lot of surrounding campsites and not particularly any more expensive - 13.00 a night with hook up and an awning.

The toilets, although basic, were regularly cleaned. Showers - which at 50p were pretty reasonable, but make sure you've got 50 pence pieces - washbasins and separate pot washing area. 6 hook points and most with hardstanding -longish hook up wires would be useful.

There's a small shop in Hulme end about a mile away. Hartington is also only a few minutes away with a few more small shops/pubs etc.

Will definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lonewolf 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed over the weekend of 23rd & 24th July.

Wallbrook House is a lovely little site, off the beaten track. Its about a mile out of Hulme End, but be careful, as sat navs (and Google) have the site on completely the wrong road from the Hartington side, you need to turn right out of Hulme end after the Manifold Inn & Post office/shop. Then first right. The site is up on the left.

The site has 2 toilets (1 for each sex) and 2 showers in a room with 2 sinks. There is also a covered washing up area. The hot water is on at certain times (times are posted) and the hot water for the showers is on all the time. Note: the sinks in the toilets only have cold water.

It is really peaceful, as the site is next to a minor road. The sheep are the noisiest thing you will hear! There were only a handful of people staying while we were there.

The Manifold Trail actually passes the site (on the road) and you can follow it, via a field or three, to Hulme End. Then across the road to the visitor centre and follow the old light railway. The walk is on a well laid surface and a gentle climb. Wetton Mill is on the trail, for a stop and a hot drink. Carry on past and you can make the climb up to Thors Cave. After that, we carried on up to Wetton for a couple of pints in the Olde Oak (The Speckled Hen is a bit strong!).

If you dont feel like cooking, there is a chip shop up the road in Longnor the fish & chips were the best weve had in a long time!

All in all we were very lucky to find Wallbrook House a lovely site with friendly owners in a peaceful spot, for just 4pppn. We will definitely return and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5chester 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely, small site with great views all around. Lots of walks nearby, including the Manifold Valley trail.

Facilities are basic, but clean and well maintained - two toilets, two hand basins and showers (50p) and a separate covered washing up area.

The site was quiet when we stayed, with a mix of couples and young families.

Mrs Goodwin is really friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dennis the Menace 1 review from this member

 This is a great site if you like a bit of peace and quiet, off the beaten track. The views are superb all round. The facilities are clean, the site very tidy and the owners friendly and helpful. We went to meet friends who had been several times before because they enjoy it so much. The site is well situated for walks straight from the door and the Manifold Trail, for bikes and walkers, is about a mile away. Access is easiest from Hartington side which means that you can pick up supplies from the Hartington Cheese shop on the way! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Edennuk 5 reviews from this member

 Came here for a night with a friend and my dog. I have to agree with other reviews, lovely location, but hard to find, there are 'signs' on the roadside but if you blink you miss them as they are white, A4 size and about 18 inches off the ground (and as the verges had long grass this can prove difficult) so my advice would be (if your coming from Longnor) is when you come to a few buildings one with a light blue sign marked 'fox furniture' turn left down there, passed a few houses and your there. Yes there is a road, but you wouldn't know it,
if you like to watch the sunrise, pitch you tent near and facing the road, it rises over the Derbyshire hills and on a clear morning would be fantastic, unfortunately our stay coincided with the tail end of a tropical storm, having said that, I do plan to return with friends as there is plenty of room on the site, facilities are basic but so is the site fee. It is an exposed site so take your windbreakers for shelter. Go for it. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wallbrook House Caravan & Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2048 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020