Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Noirmoutier En Lile > Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier Reviews

Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier
23 Allee Des Sableaux
Bois De La Chaize
Noirmoutier En Lile
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85330
Tel: +33 2 51 39 06 24
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 530
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BJHarrington 7 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the site and all in all a good experience. We had a beach side pitch and this made for great mornings, but it would have been a bit claustrophobic if we did not as it was very busy and some of the pitches are close together.

The beach makes this a great place to stay and the facilities are pretty good for a bid site. The laundry facilities are a bit frustrating with only one per wash block.

The night time was fairly quiet although I did have to complain about some very noisy bongo drummers in the next door bar.

Overall this is a good site and worth a visit (with a seaside pitch), but seems to be a tiny bit tired - in fact I am sure it was three starr last year and only showing two now!

Worth a visit but we will probably try a different Indigo site next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carvalier owner 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at this campsite, stayed 13th June to 20th June 2011. We travelled with a 4 month old baby so from Roscoff we broke our journey by staying in campsite Loperhet (very nice ), but it still took us 3. 5 hours from there.

The site has a lovely beach. It is a big campsite and rests among pine trees on the dunes and beach front. We experienced the campers and locals collecting moules and clams every day and wondered where they all came from in their wellies. The beach is lovely, but tide comes right in so watch your towels. We found the facilities excellent with a clean toilet block nearby, showers free, with plentiful showers and washing facilities including a laundry for 4 euro per wash ( machine tokens). Toilets depending on location where either with seating or European style

Bread etc was sold on site in the mornings if you are up early but lacks a camp shop. The walk to the town square is a good 35 minutes and the market, so car is a must. Market in town square on Tuesday and thursdays and saturdays is worth a visit. There campsite Small outdoor cafe that does pizza and sandwiches is a disaster, in June he seemed to be closed by 7pm more often closed than open. Caravaning among the trees is romantic, but the prickles get every where in your caravan and water to fill your water tank takes a bit of searching for the taps. The reception is friendly and helpful, if you need wi-fi forget it as Indigo don't supply this facility here. The computer with internet in reception is more often broken than working and so slow. The town in June restaurants many are still closed

We did find the camp site peaceful at night in June, but I must say in August you be sitting on your neighbour so must be cramped then.

Pitches are quite hard to manouver your caravan into, and some trees on drive way are close at each side, so be careful. The municipal site next door looked a lot more inviting, but lacked beach front views.

Once you have seen the island and the Gosh pass there isnt a whole lot to amuse you for more than 3 days, we had lovely weather, but we stayed in nicer campsites in France. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedi 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the site for 6 nights. The reception were very efficient with our booking, and we were pleased initially with the location of our shady pitch, as was close to the beach. We were also to the side of the main camping area - so we had more space than some of the other pitches. The toilet and shower blocks were cleaned at least a couple of times a day. The showers were always hot. All the toilets in the northern toilet block have no seats, for those that care to sit on the toilet.

At the bar, there was freshly baked bread and croissants everyday - this was strongly recommended. You could get hot meals here, and takeaway pizza. We also got takeaway chips at the Roulotte which was great with a rotiserrie chicken from Noirmoutier town centre. There are two large hypermarkets on the southern side of the town centre (near the waterpark) and a Lidl/Aldi on the northern side.

Our first nights sleep was good - possibly because we were tired. There was music playing from the bar (the only bar!) in the area just across from our pitch. This stopped at about 11pm, the rest of the site was quiet. However on the remaining nights, we were disturbed by the music playing until 2am! We spoke to people at the other end of the campsite and they were not affected by the noise - we had the bad luck to be located right next door to it! We questioned the reception about this, and they said they had asked in the past for the bar to stop playing loud music and there was nothing more that could be done. It did spoil our holiday somewhat.

Having said that, the beach was lovely and we had mainly good weather so we spent a lot of time there. We hired bikes from the town centre, and cycled (off road - pretty much) to L'Herbaudiere on the other side of the island. The town centre is about 1.5miles from the campsite which has a host of restaurants. The Chateau in the town centre is also worth a visit.

We would recommend the campsite, but be wary of pitches towards the northern end of the campsite. It was a bit of a shame not to be able to have a charcoal BBQ - gas BBQs are fine though.

Last point - beware your SatNav doesn't try to take you across the Passage du Gois (unless you are brave and there at low tide!) like ours did! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jontydrake 9 reviews from this member

 Its a long way past Nantes to get to the site but the views, in the sun-shine from the bridge got our excitement up !

It's a big site, thankfully we had paid for a beach-side pitch : all pitches are crammed in, to have been in the middle of it would have been awful !

The facilities were good : clean hot showers, plenty of loos e.T.C. The office were helpful but had messed up our group booking, we had an alien caravan between our group which was annoying for them and us. Although busy (until the rain), the site was quiet in the evening, most people down by 10.30, wardens patrolling at 11.30.

BBQs / fires are not permitted which, for me, deadens the camping experience.

The beach is great- tide up in the morning, out until late afternoon, good (kid-friendly) swimming and the renowned shell-fishing at low-tide. Our children (6/7 yr olds) had a great time, freedom and friends to be made.

HOWEVER, our weather was dreadful !, out of 8 days only a third were sunny. When it was sunny it was glorious, when it wasn't one may have well been in North Wales. This is the Atlantic coast, the weather is unpredictable and the forecasts were woefully inaccurate.

Its a nice/interesting (and more substantial than I had anticipated)town to visit, but my weather experience means I wouldn't take the risk of committing a week to it again. Also I wouldn't consider anything other than a beach-side pitch.

Of course, if the weather had been good I'd be much, much keener ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthew b 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at this site. The journey time from Le Havre was about 7 hours in both directions with minimal pit stops for toilets etc. We had to rebook the ferry coming back as we were not going to make the 5pm crossing despite leaving at 11am and driving as fast as we safely could so beware.

The site itself was super. Itís huge but stretches over a long line of coast so you are never aware of its size when at your pitch. We paid for the premium pitches and at high tide we were about 10m from the sea. At low tide the sea is 200m away and the flats are invaded by campers and locals collecting lunch in the form of moules and clams. The beach is nice but the sand is made up of quite sharp shells and some kids complained of sore feet so bring your beach sandals. We found the facilities excellent with a clean toilet block nearby with plentiful showers and washing facilities including a laundry. Loos were unisex and without seats but otherwise fine.

Bread etc was sold on site in the mornings but no other camp shop. The nearest mini supermarket was at the entrance to the next door camp site. There is a Small outdoor cafe that does pizza and sandwiches but we did not sample. Kids play area looked basic but our kids seemed to enjoy. They also have a table football table and a ping pong table so bring a bat and ball. Boules pitches are also provided.

30 min flat walk to town or 5-10 mins on a hire bike. Nice town with lots of restaurants. Bikes were fun and 5 day hire for 4 bikes was 130 euro

We did not find the camp site noisy indeed the opposite. It was very quite at night and we were visited every night at 11.30 by the night watchman to tell us to be careful to keep our voices down.

One night some of the group kept chatting past midnight and he came back and told them to go to bed!

One note of complaint was the allocation of pitches. We were a group of 4 families. 3 booked together and 1 a little later. At all times we had one other group breaking up our run of pitches. It would have been better for everyone if they had but us in a line without interruption. A minor point but with a little more effort it could have been sorted.

We would probably not return as the drive was longer than expected, we had bad weather and I feel we have done the island. I would however recommend the site to others. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BJHarrington 7 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site with stunning views and great facilities. The only down side was we were pretty packed in and it was very busy.

Despite this we had a great time and even without a sea view pitch we were only 30 metres from the beach. However, a beach side pitch would be worth the extra money.

The facilities were great and plentiful and although bust we never had to queue.

Indigo have got it right and we will be going back.

The island is great and the town walkable with lots to do. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laura123 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our time on this site. We stayed in the dune area no cars allowed loading and unloading only. We asked for a sea view but they were all booked but they did position us only one row back so it was really quite good. I have never been so close to the beach, on it really since the dunes were behind us, very little vegetation. Therefore no privacy due to hedging like you find on some other sites.

We didn't mind and met many nice French people who had been going there for years. Nearly everyone we spoke to had a boat and spent a lot of time fishing. We had many free suppers from them with some cooking advice. I would add the site is one of the quietest at night that I have ever been on and warden certainly sends people to bed or they go anyway all quite by 11.

We hired bikes and cycled all over the island it is definitely one of the most picturesque islands I have ever seen with lots of designated cycle paths. We also ate out a lot and found the restaurants very good.

I do recommend the passage de gros (check your tides) it gave the kids a thrill particularly the warning signs risk of flooding, risk of immersion and finally risk of drowning! We stopped half way to see the hotel Complet. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NB101 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for six nights in the middle of August and we had a lovely time. We paid extra for a beach side pitch and this was definitely worth it. The view from the tent was amazing. We woke to the sun rising and shining through the tent and breakfasted to the sound of the sea and pretty little boats bobbing on the water. Our pitch was also much larger and less crowded in that some we saw.

The site was very busy and not very family oriented. Most campers were French, older couple in caravans and young couples (even some groups of young people). The only downside to this was that it was quite noisy at night. Several nights of fireworks being let off on the beach and music. This would either annoy you, particularly if you had light sleeping children or just add to the atmosphere of the site.

The showers were clean and never too busy. The toilets were very french! Our girls used the play area a lot as it was a good place to meet other children and was shaded in the heat of the day.

Noirmoutier itself was busy when we were there, it took a while to get through town. But it is attractive and felt quite different to mainland France. Great for cycling. The beaches were lovely, the sea warm. The Babatre had the nicest beaches and the villages at the top of the island are worth a visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You can't beat it for a site right on the beach front. We would go again, were it not for all the other places we want to visit! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jane T 4 reviews from this member

 Well we have just come back from a lovely week at this campsite and had a very different experience to the previous reviewer. This may have been because we were there right at the end of the season (first week of September) so the site was pretty quiet (French children went back to school a week earlier than ours).

We were in one of the pre-erected wood and canvas tents. (For information we often camp in the UK in our own tent, but felt as it was such a long journey with small children that we would treat ourselves to a pre-erected tent). So I can't really comment on the other camping areas for touring tents.

Our tent faced right onto the beach, and we had plenty of space around us, we had our tables and chairs outside most evenings, with lots of space for the children to play. (The site encourages everyone to park their cars in the parking areas, not by the tents, which I quite like.) The tent was great, with everything you need (fridge, two-ring gas cooker, equipment, beds etc - but no kettle and tiny cups - tea lovers take note!). The beds just have one blanket each and it got a bit cold at night, so you need your own bedding (they only provide strange disposable mattress covers and pillows, so take your own pillowcases / sheets / sleeping bags / blankets).

We went with friends and has asked when booking if we could have a tent next to them, and this was fine. It was just so wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the sea, and wake up and open your tent and look out onto the ocean. I haven't found many campsites in the UK where you can do that.

We never had to queue for showers and toilets, and they were never particularly dirty (sometimes a bit sandy), although I would have preferred it if there had been separate mens and womens blocks. Also no soap or loo roll in the toilets, so you have to remember your own. Always plenty of free hot water though, and a special sink for bathing babies, and a washing machine. Yes there are some fairly open urinals for men, but you just learn to avert your eyes, and I think this is not unusual for France, from my experience! The washing up area is outside but as the weather was good this was never a problem.

A small play area for children, but this was OK as ours just wanted to be by the beach anyway. We didn't try the food from the cafe (preferring to cook ourselves as the Euro is so expensive at the moment) and I don't think the restaurant was open when we were there (a downside of being there later in the season). The reception area has a computer with free internet connection. A bread van came every morning, no shop on site though so you have to go to the supermarket in the town.

The town of Noirmoutier is nice and not too far, cyclable (you can hire bikes from the campsite) but a bit far to walk. I didn't find it a problem driving around at all, yes small streets but I found them fine and I am not a particularly confident driver. Lots of nice restaurants in the town (fantastic seafood), a market, a chateau, shops etc, everything you need really.

We did find the mosquitoes a bit of a problem in the evenings so remember your repellent etc and cover up!

Being so close to the beach was really great and you can find lots of other nice beaches not too far away if you want to explore a bit more.

Since I got back I have been saying what a wonderful time we had, and are already planning a return next year. I guess the experience you have may depend on when you go, and also whether you are in your own or a pre-erected tent. Also if you prefer a site with lots of facilities and entertainments then it's probably not for you.

If you are flexible it could be worth checking out when the French school holidays are (easily found on the internet) and if it is different to the UK plan your holidays accordingly.

As the other reviewer mentioned you can collect cockles and mussels on the beach at low tide, we collected some but threw them back as we didn't know how to cook them! Next time we will take a recipe!

That is all I can think of now. It would be very interesting to hear other people's experiences. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lullabelle 5 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as it has had considerable good press, including being featured as one of the fifty best camp sites in the world in one broadsheet supplement.

I'm not sure how or why it has merited this. The site is crowded, noisy and a real disappointment.

Our first impressions were not good - the campsite is huge and very cramped. They squash as many people onto the pitches as possible. Most pitches are not clearly marked and our own area was invaded by (on various days) a boat, a washing rack and a trailer.

Because there is no pitch delineation there is very little privacy. You look out on a sea of other tents / caravans / motorhomes or parked cars. The campers who moved into the next door pitch were about a foot away from the next door caravan.

There are good pitches though - those with a sea view are very definitely superior. I would say about 15% of the pitches are good - the rest are pretty sub standard. One of the site's own Canadiennes (wood and canvas structure) was in what appeared to be a layby between the road and the playground and when you think that they can cost 87 euros per night. Well.

The facilities are not too good. Toilets were filthy by the end of the day. When we paid our first visit, at about 6pm, there was dried poo on the wall of mine. The beach is very close to the site so that probably is the reason for a lot of the mess. The washing facilities are all outside. The toilets are mixed with a row of urinals in full view opposite the cubicles.
The showers smelled of open drain and would get very busy in the morning and evening with queues stretching out the building. This was only one block though - there are several others as the site is so massive

There was a reception open until quite late but the information given really depended on who was staffing it. Some were excellent, a couple less so. There is a roulotte on site where you can buy beer / coke / pizzas / ships etc which is not too bad. Few tables though. A bread van comes in the morning with pain, croissants etc. There is no shop on the site.
There is a restaurant which does not belong to the site right up at one end of what I suspect was the original site (before expansion). This serves great moules frites (15 different varieties!) and it is a very pleasant place to spend an evening as there is a balcony with lovely views of the sea.
The municipal campsite next door has a shop which stocks lots of stuff. There's only one playground for the kids and it's not very good. Two boules pitch for over 500 campers means that the furthest away car park serves as a boules pitch too - not good if your car is there and you want to get out. There are several of these car parks dotted around - they act as overflows as you can't always get your car near your tent.

The beach is right next to the site and is the saving grace. In the afternoon the tide goes out and hundreds of people descend with their rakes and buckets looking for oysters, moules and clams. We joined in one afternoon with our kiddie buckets and spades and managed a decent haul of about 20 moules, loads of clams and two oysters. All went back in the sea though: the clams were poking their tentacles out when they were in the bucket and I felt sorry for them!

Noirmoutier is quite a large island. The pretty small town of Noirmoutier en Ile is very busy but well worth an amble around. It's dreadful to drive in though - this is an island of bikes and the town is overrun with them, making driving along the tiny streets quite scary.

There are lots of beaches nearby which are easily visited. Not far from the campsite through the Bois de Chase is the Plage des Dames, a very upmarket beach with soft, white sand and a row of pretty beachhuts. There's an upmarket restaurant right on the front which rather frowns on sandy bodies coming in for an icecream.

On the atlantic coast there are some splendid beaches, my favourite being the Plage des Lutins close to the town of L'Herbaudiere. Rolling surf, a really tangy sea smell and, if you walk along to the rocks at the far end, the chance to sunbathe in your own tiny cove. Parfait.

There is a huge Intermarche on the way into town on a complex with lots of other shops. My advice is to stock up here before you get to the campsite as any further supermarket shopping means a tense drive back through the heavy town traffic again. There is a Lidl on the other side of town on the way to the site, but it wasn't too great - very weak selection of wine and cheese. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Noirmoutier En Lile      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement