Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > South Glam > Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning
Ty Coch Farm
Peterstone Wentlooge
Cardiff
South Glam
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF3 2TU
Tel: 07983 615984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrishood 6 reviews from this member

Nigel met us as we arrived and booked us in quite quickly. Maria had sent us a text to let us know the best directions and the access code for the gate on the day we were to arrive. The site is idyllic, peaceful and mostly quiet (rather depends on your neighbours).

The facilities are, well, rustic, to be kind. They really could do with updating and tidying up a bit. The pitch was level and wide, giving us plenty of space for the awning and to sit outside to watch the wonderful sky at sunset.

The overall impression is positive.

The site is also very handy for the park and ride for Cardiff and very close to many places of interest, including Tredegar House and gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Phil Curran 2 reviews from this member

A lovely small site with some hard-standing pitches and some grass. Ours had electricity. The site is boarded with bushes and some trees giving a lovely feel to the place.

It is very quiet and secluded. The facilities are clean and some are `homebuilt' but quaint and work well, warm and well decorated. The toilets have proper towels, and liquid soap dispensers. The kitchen provides tea towels, washing up liquid and scrubbers. Communal microwave and kettle.

Excellent wifi.

Easy access to park and ride for visiting Cardiff.

The hosts are very friendly and approachable.

When I'm next back in Wales this site is in no doubt to be revisited.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davebaxter13 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site situated within easy reach of both Cardiff& Newport. Three pubs within a short distance all serving good value meals, but the Maesrun pub is fantastic if you want that special meal.

Maria & Nigel are on hand if you have any issues, overall a fantastic place. Thanks

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammyboop1 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely amazing campsite. We used the glamping tent for my 30th birthday, it was the best experience ever. Staff are extremely welcoming and just genuine lovely people.

All toilets, shower rooms spotless. Didn't have one fault on site. Cannot wait to visit again. Thank you for a lovely experience ty coch

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pmeurice 3 reviews from this member

Lovely camping in the countryside at equal distance (a few miles with good roads) between Cardiff and Newport. Very warm welcome from tenants. We had the choice between several kinds of pitches, with gravel or in the full grass. We had plenty of space for our caravan and a side tent. Feeling of nature, very calm place, though the road can be busy at some times of the day.

Depending on the winds, we can also hear the permanent noise of the highway on the bridge but nothing really disturbing. Unfortunately we stayed there when they were working on the railway during the night. We waked up several times with these noises, like hammers on metal pots at 4 a. M. !

Two showers and toilets, apparently basic but no problem with warm water and there are individual heatings when needed. They open directly outside, so we were fortunate to have hot weather. A good point is the kitchenette with microwave and even coffee, tea, sugar etc. There are Tesco and Asda malls at reasonable distance and a village shop in the closest village.

We would advise if possible to design a water point in the second part of the camping. There is only one tap and it is very far from the grass where we stayed. A bit uncomfortable to fill our tanks.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Quechappy 8 reviews from this member

This site is a gem and a welcome stop after our tour of Wales. We were impressed by the facilities and the cost for a night. The showers were hot and clean as were the toilets. There was even a kitchen area that could be used.

The information provided by the site owner on arrival was extremely useful and if we had stayed 2 nights would have taken advantage further.

I would recommend this site. It is somewhere that if you wanted a day in Cardiff or going to the valleys, this is an excellent base.

Thanks for making us feel welcome.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pozzle 13 reviews from this member

We booked this as husband playing at Newport golf club and it was nearest campsite.

It is quite a laid back site, but very nice. When we arrived we had to go and get cash as they don't take cards for payment - being a member of the camping and caravan club made it cheaper to stay

The toilets and showers are nice, a bit unusual in their 'rustic look' but very quaint and perfectly adequate.

There is a little kitchen room with microwave, toaster etc which is handy

We took our dog with us and although the owners said we could walk him on the empty camping field, if you want to walk from the site you have to walk at least 1/2 a mile along a main road to get anywhere else (this isn't the parks fault but just an observation if you do bring your dog)

There were no shops for milk etc within walking distance but there was a large Asda a few miles away if you happy to drive (we prefer to park up and not have to keep driving for provisions) however, I stumbled upon a little garden nursery approx 1/4 mile up the road (right as you come out of campsite) that is run by the local milkman so he sold me milk and eggs (just pop to the garden centre counter)

We walked to a pub along the road (no pavements) turning left out of site) and it was shut! Check days it opens before you visit.

There is a golf club/hotel along that same road and apparently they welcome visitors to their restaurant although we didn't try it

There are buses running from about 1/2 mile away that go into Cardiff but it's a wait and hope type timetable

All around the area are flood drainage ditches as it's quite a flood plain so there can be a bit of a 'stagnant smell' about

I'd certainly stay there again if we were visiting the area

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karavanner 14 reviews from this member

I just stayed one night visiting my daughter in Cardiff. The site owner, Marie, could not have been more helpful with the information provided before I arrived. I had a choice of pitches, plenty with hard standing and ehu. I chose a waterside pitch, watching mallards and heron doing their thing!

There is a small kitchen area, loos, with clean towels, and showers. Nothing was too much trouble.

It is a short drive into Cardiff, or the Park and Ride, only 3 to park, and free to ride.

A great site, well worth a visit!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catherine White 1 review from this member

Small and unpretentious but very well-appointed site (while we were there they were having installed a numeric-pad motorised gate, which worked perfectly at once).

Owners charming and very much on the ball.

2 very good piped showers at house (if anything hotter than necessary) with polite request to conserve water and drainage.

3 real loos in washrooms, CDP, wash and drinking water points near house. Chemical khazi in no. 2 tent field; working.

Everything very tidy and well-lit. Site is level and tent field 2 may be wet. Good internal tracks and hardstandings.

Cheaper than competing site on far side of town (for which it is handy).

About 1 mile to pub and 1. 4 miles to local shop, less than pleasant walking along fast country roads. Less than 1 mile to excellent Coastal Path, some road but mostly track.

Atmosphere very friendly. Dog folk use tent field 2 for emptying their dogs but the lady with the Irish wolfhound certainly picked up after him (it turned out that he was called Alexander and had a pet rabbit).

Quite a lot of noise at night, noticeable in a tent but doubtless less so in a caravan. Railway (Severn Tunnel not far away), aircraft movements (Cardiff airport), boys earnestly trying to extract 100mph from their mothers' shopping-cars having now pop-riveted half an euphonium to the exhaust-pipe, etc.

And then there was the donkey.

At least, it sounded like a donkey, at the beginning (which was at 0315). By the end. With the creature's hideous screams echoing across the Bristol Channel and doubtless audible in Portishead, it could have been anything.

And, at 0330 the following night, whatever had happened to that poor donkey happened to it *again*.

So, on the whole a really good campsite, but don't whatever you do bring any equines, because we don't think they'd like it here.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shauna booth 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 8 nights at this lovely campsite. It is very flat and sheltered and peaceful. Very hot showers and clean toilets and kitchen. Ideal base to visit Cardiff. Local bus service from campsite to Newport {you have to book 24 hour before} where its easy to get a bus to Cardiff. I was walking the coastal path and found this campsite a great central base.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near South Glam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020