Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeterFritz 2 reviews from this member

 Not bad, easy to reach restaurants near the locks. Just 3 toilets and 3 showers. All combined in one room. When showers were used, wet air produced a kind of fog. On the other side high prizes. Not too much shelter in a windy area. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julietyran 11 reviews from this member

 As we always take our dogs with us when travelling in our motorhome, I am always double checking that the campsites accept dogs before booking. One of our dogs is quite old and can't walk very far. I had seen the Cumberlands Campsite website and it stated that dogs were permitted. We had not pre-booked a pitch when we arrived in Fort Augustus and on finding the site which is only a 5 minute walk to Neptunes Staircase and the main street of restaurants and shops I almost turned and drove back out. The first 3 signs I was faced with was a 'No Dogs' sign and a 'No dog walking' sign. When I went to go into the Reception which was closed at the time, there was also a 'No dogs' sign which made me think that they did not accept dogs. Rather than drive back out and find another campsite, I decided to walk through to the campsite and found more signs, this time saying 'Please keep your dogs on a lead'. So assumed then that they accepted dogs. This is very confusing and I can only imagine that they will lose a lot of customers who first enter the site. I met the gentleman who owned the site and he told me to pick a pitch. They were lovely pitches with electricity at each pitch and a water tap every 2nd pitch. Toilets and Showers well spotlessly clean as was the whole campsite. They have a covered shelter for people with motorbikes who were camping which I thought was great and there is also a hostel on the site. As well as the dog confusion other issue was that you could not exercise your dog on the site but there was nowhere off site to actually do this. There seems to be 'No' signs everywhere and fines if you disobey these signs. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weedaftie 4 reviews from this member

 My husband often stays here when out for a wee motorbike road trip. Having a covered shelter for his bike is a real bonus and the camping areas are both nice and flat. This was the first time we brought our tourer and are very impressed. Very big well spaced pitches with water supplies every couple of pitches. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and there is constant hot water in the shower at no extra charge of need for tokens. The site was quiet in the tourers area with some campers coming and going. The staff were very friendly and helpful - recommending good walks nearby. The weather was glorious so walking along the canal side was brilliant! restaurant wasn’t open yet so unable to comment but we had a very nice meal at the Richmond House Hotel (doggie friendly!) and very nice chips at the chippy beside the locks.

Fort Augustus is a 5 min walk from the site and is a lovely village in a fantastic setting. Little gift shops with some of the expected touristy items but Iceberg Glass had some really nice things and it was great to see them working with glass making things in the shop.

The Caledonian canal runs through Fort Augustus into Loch Ness and very easy to stop and spend time watching the boats come through the ladder of 7 locks, especially when the sun is shining.

A bonus was how dog friendly this site and some of the restaurants and shops are in Fort Augustus. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tubby2 26 reviews from this member

 This modern campsite near town. There are rules about dogs, which we actually real like, so dog owners responsible, you will enjoy, not responsible, not welcome. Nice flat tent area with covered area. Restaurant and bar open high season. Very close to town. Also has a lodge accommodation attached to site. Showers very warm and also really nice size

as most campsites' these are small. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LizzieL 5 reviews from this member

 We had intended travelling to Invermoriston for our overnight stay enroute to Skye, but spotted the site and called in on the off chance they had a pitch available which luckily they did.

The pitches were large and well spaced, toilets and showers clean and only a short walk into the village itself with pubs, shops and of course the Nessie hunting boat trip.

Although we only stayed for 1 night, I would definitely return and use as a base to explore further afield. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stevepluschris 6 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site with smart buildings. Good sheltered area for tents and hardstandings for motorhomes and caravans-----But £25 for a night is grossly OTT. We have been in Scotland 3 weeks using mainly Camping Club sites and paid a max of £18 including the UK number 1 site on Skye. All the sites we have been on have been full or near full, this one is virtually empty, the reason being obvious. The sites web site offers a restaurant with no reference to the fact that it is not open at this time of year therefore not a benefit that should be advertised. The toilet facilities although modern and smart are not at all clean, the cleaners should be trained to look behind doors not just kick it open and wipe down what they see! We wanted to visit Fort Augustas and this is the only site so perhaps captive audience mentality ? Not a place we would recommend purely because it is £10 overpriced for what is on offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ritigreven 4 reviews from this member

 We got there by chance and were really surprised: This site is extraordinarily big with spacious pitches.

There are extra places for one-night-campers who arrive by bike, pitches for campers and pitches for mobile homes and other vehicles.

The facilities are clean and warm inside.

WIFI only works near the reception - this should be expanded. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick McP 9 reviews from this member

 2nd time in a month I have stayed here, too much spare time on my hands.

Stayed again in a tent with motorbikes and used this as a base. Great roads for motorbikes.

Rained heavily on one evening so used the shelter to have a bbq and a couple of cans. Others had the same idea so a nice atmosphere.

As with my last comment in June, the bar and restaurant still weren't open which is disappointing. They said it would open from the 10th July.

Fort Augustus very pleasant, nice bar but basic food shopping facilities with only the petrol garage open for buying supplies. A tip, go to the butchers and have one of their haggis pies. Delicious.

Will be back again later this month on my bike again. I'll give it a higher score if the bar is open then. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick McP 9 reviews from this member

 Usual pleasant stay at this campsite. Great facilities for motorbikes as there is a covered area that you can use. Only downside, the bar and restaurant were closed. With over 30 caravans/motor homes and 20 or so people camping + the lodge was full, they are losing a lot business 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dgib 2 reviews from this member

 Went into cumberlands in the off chance of a space, the previous a few miles north didn't accept tourers rather have empty site and worked in our favour. Warm welcome from a older gent (mr cumberland??) Great price, great facilities (toilets, showers, bar, restaurant) welcoming staff and well maintained site just off main road in fort Augustus, will recommend to anyone and will definitely return when in the area! 10/10. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2374 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement