Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Reviewer: Kirstymememe 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
I have jst read the commentes about Cayton Village caravan park, and I am shocked!! I am 16 and have just returned home from a Lovely Holiday there and I can honestly say that I loved it!! As you can imagine I didnt want to go on holiday with my mum and dad because I'm 16, but when I arrived at Cayton Village caravan park my thoughts changed, I was happy to be there. We Arrived and like all people we was shown to our pitch by the wardens, they then helped put the caravan on to the pitch, and my mum and dad had a nice conversation with him.

I have no fault with this site at all!! ok I admit the shop is small and could do with some more stock, but other then that I dont know what some people are talkin about. The toilets are clean and cleaned regulary, the people that work on the site are nnice to talk to, and we found no problems with Noise! The dog run is really big, our dog loved it!!

So if you are planning a nice family Holiday I would definately tell you to go to Cayton Village!

We liked it so much we are goin back again in 2 weeks! 


Reviewer: John31 3 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Would not recommend this site. Booked to stay here for 4 nights, with a camper and awning. Told that was fine. Arrived, shown to pitch which was tiny and set the awning up. We were then told the awning was too big and were asked to take it down. We have used this awning for the last four years and have never had this problem at any other sites (and we are regular campers). As other reviews show, they do cram you in like sardines.
Asked for a refund for the next 3 nights and set off to a beautiful site in whitby, never to return to this site again!  


Reviewer: Boiler man 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Very good first impressions, all facilities are very clean & tidy, site is very nicely laid out we had plenty of room on our pitch the only thing wrong was we went right at the side of the playground having 2 lads we though it would be a good idea? think again plenty of noise throughout day no lay in's in mornings & kids at it till 10 pm. but still it wasn't over the top, 10 pm came & all noise stopped, to a degree?.

There are 3 pubs within 10-15 mins walk, easy walk. would very much recommend the tow bar inn food was brill & cheap & plenty for kids to do while you have a drink. beach is only about a 15 min walk aswell. Overall impressions would deffinatly go back again no worries. 


Reviewer: Daznlesley 3 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Nice site although the pitches are as everyone else says too close.
Shop sells basics and only allows 2 ice packs per pitch to be stored at the cost of 20p each. I had to make do with warm beer!
There is a couple of other shops just out round the corner, a 5 min walk.

Kids had time in park but with so much to do in area we were out more than normal.

Site is well maintained and clean and staff are friendly.
Would go back but only if no other site with more space is available.
Loads to do in area and Cayton Bay is a nice beach itself. 


Reviewer: BIG J 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Cayton caravan Park is a lovely place to go. Like others have said caravan's are to close togrther. Toilet Block was very clean.

My wife was talking to the warden about the dog walk and tolled him there was no dog bin and he said there would be one put up before the day was out. but it was our last day so we don't know if one was put up or not. Also I think the shop could have a lot more in it  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Mrandmrsloon 4 reviews from this member

 July 2005
If you have a toddler like we do watch out for the ditch that is about 2 metres deep that runs around the site, sadly it is not fenced off. We were placed on a "dog leg" away from any other tents (very lonely) we asked why and they said it was because we stayed Sunday Night? One couple had to move their tent on Sunday to a pitch closer to the entrance for no apparent reason.

Toilets clean but could do with more showers, I had to queue for a shower for half an hour. Plus toilets are quite a walk from the tent field, we didn't drive to them but some people did! Could do with more lighting on tent field, one light to cover a massive field is not adequate. Won't be going again.  


Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We have just returned from a week at this site with my two children (age 3 and 5). The campsite is very well kept and the shower block, and facilities are in excellent condition (as previously reviewed!).

Situated next to the village its handy for the chippie, pubs, and local shops and just a ten minute walk to the beach.

BUT when we arrived at the site - the warden had trouble finding us a pitch - even though I had booked months earlier and stated I needed a large pitch and ehu. The first two pitches I was offered were very squashed and next to the play area (that was really not very suitable for under 5's). I was really shocked at how squashed in the campers all were. We eventually got allocated a good space amongst some "long-term" caravans which was nice and quiet (although still squashed).

We found the atmosphere of the site wasn't right because about half of the site has been given over to long term lets, which meant empty caravans taking up nearly all the site! It seemed a shame that such a nice site has had to do this (obviously financial reasons!) and the touring campers were left with no choice at all! Another couple who we spoke to had been told which way round to pitch their door so they did not overlook the other caravans - even though the caravans were empty all week!!! They told us that the campsite has had a different manager in every summer since they first went 4 years ago - to me thats not a good sign.

We did have a good time - but wouldn't go back, and especially not in the school holidays!! 


Reviewer: SUSIETWEETY 1 review from this member

 May 2005
This site has everything you could want, we had an excellent weeks holiday. Even though it did not start well, we forgot to pack the tent.

The facilities on the camp are excellent, plenty of toilet and showers, these were spotless, laundry even no need to take an iron this can be used for only twenty pence.

There is a shop for papers milk etc.,it is only a five minuite walk into the village where there is a fish and chip shop, two pubs, a post office and an off licence selling most things. In the other direction it takes about ten mins to the beach.

The staff are very friendly and can not do enough to help, another bonus if you have a dog, there is a very large field at the back of the camp allocated just for dog walking. 


Reviewer: Norrisr9 9 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just spent the last 4 nights here, (bank holiday weekend) stayed in the rally field, with electric hook up - my cable not long enough, and they hired one out foc. The shop was good as it sold most basics, plus wine and beer!! Toilet and shower block good, and warm and modern. Yes, the pitches were close together, but this did not ruin my stay, nice and quiet, and no problems at all.So really all in all a nice friendly sitre, would go back, and would recommend 


Reviewer: Julie214 6 reviews from this member

 May 2005
First impressions: Looked great, reception seemed on the ball and we were directed to our pitch and was told briefly where all amenities were.

Then it hit us, sardines, we were luckier than some. When you had pitched up and parked the car, that was it, no other room. More worrying was how cars had to manouvre so near to other caravans and tents, not at all safe for young ones to play or even be outside.

Our toilet block was clean, only down side was the showers, I found ours to be hotter at certain times which is no good for parents taking their young ones in with them. The showers were free and were operated on a push button system, but you had to push the button every 15 seconds!!!

They had a shop which sold basics and the dog walk was a generous size. They froze your ice packs, only 2 per person and 20p each for the privildge, and if you needed to change any booking arrangements they charged you 5 which I personally think is un-necessary.

There is a park for the kids to play on, but depending where you are pitched this could be too far away for the younger ones to go on their own. We had quite a walk to get to the chemical disposal unit, so please bear this in mind.

The site is close to Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington & other places of interest. There is a local general store, chip shop, morrisons supermarket and a couple of pubs, one serving food although we didn`t try it.

We found the Star pub which was a lttle further down the road to be friendlier, although they didn`t serve food we were told they didn`t mind you taking food in to eat in the conservatory, which was good as the chip shop is next door.

All in all, No, I would not stop at this site again. I got the impression they like to fill the site, obviously to earn a crust, but they seem to have forgotten about us people who stay there and pay good money to enjoy our family holidays. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


31 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement