Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Woz_ 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Just come back from a long weekend at Fisherground.
Good points first:
1.CAMPFIRES ALLOWED!!!! Yay! ( in existing firepits, of which there are plenty)
2. Loads of flat space to pitch your tent. In fact you'd struggle to find a hill to pitch on in this site as its virtualy flat all over.
3. Kids area. Complete with tyre rafts,zip slide, climbing apparatus, etc.
4. Clean showers and toilets.(4 mens and 4 womens)
5. Friendly owners. Seem to be onsite all day chatting to campers.
6. The big hill ( Or mountain?) at the back of the site just over the minature train track is great for a climb as there are path ways leading up to the top for a great view of the site and surrounding area.
7. Close to a pub ( King George IV)
8. No moblie phone signal anywhere! Aaaah peace and quiet ( No Crazy Frog etc, to be heard on site)
Bad points:
1. No tree house to be found in the kids area?
2. 50p does not seem to last long enough for a shower and there is no guarantee if it will be hot ( or even luke warm in my case 2 times out of 3)
3. Friendly owners on site all day chatting to campers ( or checking up on you? Hmmmmm)
4.Close to a pub ( King George IV) £2.40-£2.60 for a pint of Stella depending on who serves you at the bar and remember to re-mortgage your house if you want anything to eat here ( almost £4.00 for a cheese sandwich!!!)
5. No moble phone signal anywhere.
6. No shop. If you run out of supplies there is a garage about a 5 min drive away ( which also has a cash point...£1.50 a go!) expect to pay garage prices and then some.
Thats about it really, other than to say what it lacks in the little things it more than makes up in the fact its set in beautiful surroundings and you can have a CAMPFIRE!!!!
7.5 out of 10 


Reviewer: Drfill 1 review from this member

 July 2005
MY wife, myself and two teenage sons have just spent the weekend at the site. It was absolutly heaving and people were pitching up on top of each other; but still the owners continued to let them in. The site itself is set in a beautifull location and by 11pm was peaceful.

The showers and toilets were clean but whilst my 13yr old was washing the pots was told by the owner not to use hot water as it affected the showers; he neglected to mention this to several adults who were also washing pots at the same time.  


Reviewer: LisaDavies 1 review from this member

 June 2005
This is a great Family Campsite in a lovely quiet part of the Lake District. We stayed there with our 2 children for 4 days in June 2005 and can recommend this site to anyone with children.
We never saw ours!...they will get muddy and wet so take plenty of clothes! You will need 50p's for the showers and dryers etc.
The showers are great,very hot and last long enough.
All in all we had a great time and will definitely be returning again. 


Reviewer: Csjjpm 4 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Fantastic site for families. We have two boys 8 and 5). Site has a stop on the Ravenglass Eskdale narrow gauge railway which is brilliant. Open fires are fun and keep the kids busy gathering firewood. Take an axe and saw.

Only one toilet block with four showers for women and four for men. Need 50p coins. Always clean and you don't have to wait long when its busy.

We went at the last May bank holiday and it was so full they were turning cars away on the Saturday morning. There were alot of large groups of families all playing music (guitars and tin whistles etc... and relaxing) and it has a nice atmosphere. But doesnt go on much past 10.30pm anyway as everyone had kids.

The adventure playground with rope swings, death slide and pond with rafts is a welcome distraction for the kids along with the regular trains.

Good pubs with nice grub 5 mins in either direction by car or a 30 min walk on the road.

Lots of walks along the river Esk or over the top of the fell to Boot and we took our 5 yr old who didnt complain (much).

I would give this site a very high 9 out of 10, the missing point would be the lack of shop (even if it was open for an hour a day it would be handy). 


Reviewer: Jonycoupster 6 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just got back from a fantastic weekend at Fisherground. A perfect campsite for the kids in a picturesque setting. The new owners make you feel very welcome and really look after the site.

My only complaint however was that although I expected it to be busy on the bank holiday the owners let far too may people onto the site. This was made worse by inconsiderate people camping inches away from your tent. If I wanted that I would have bought a Glastonbury ticket. The washing facilities are more than substantial but not for the amount of people there. The hot water in the showers had run out by 8am and they cost 50p (hot or cold). However, they were always very clean as the owners kept on top of the maintenance.

Campfires are allowed on site (which made my weekend) and you can buy bags of logs on site for £3. There is however plenty of wood in the adjacent woods. It is advisable to get to the site early as fires are only allowed in existing fire pits, but these are plentiful.

There is a decent pub, the George IV, about 5 minutes walk from the site but for a good meal the Brook House Inn in Boot was much better. This is about 20 minutes walk or a very short drive down the lane just past the Eskdale miniature rail station. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Lava Lamp 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Basic campsite in wonderful surroundings.
No need to book for this one, but it does get very busy so ensure you get there early.
The new owners, who took over this season are very friendly and wander around the site at least twice a day chatting to everyone.
One of the best things is the fact that you are able to have a real camp fire, branches are plentiful along the perimeter of the camping field, so you just go up and drag a few back and the majority of the pitches have a fire pit.
Logs are available from the site at £3.50 per bag, but this is the only item that is sold. Thatís the only shortfall I found, it would be much improved if there was a small shop for essentials, such as bread and milk and the odd newspaper available.
There is a 20 minute walk to the nearest shop.
I recommend you take an axe to chop up any logs you may purchase, only because they are so big they struggle to stay alight, this resulted in me bringing mine home to burn on a coal fire, next time the axe will be with me!
The showers and dish washing area is spotless the water is very hot, and the bins are emptied several times a day, the owners work extremely hard to ensure the place is clean and tidy.
A ride on Lil Ratty, the miniature steam train along the track which runs along the top of the site is a lovely trip out and a great experience for kids, the cost for a ticket to Ravenglass is £8.40 for adults and £5 for children, I thought this was very expensive, though it does stop at the top of the site which is very convenient.
There are no phone signals in this area due to the surrounding hills.
The childrenís rafting lake is great fun and several changes of clothing are required each day Ė they canít keep out of the shallow water!

This is one site that I shall look forward to visiting again. 


Reviewer: Eltdjl 2 reviews from this member

 May 2005
An excellent campsite run by a dedicated couple. Brilliant if you've got kids, although with kids you'll need to pack a lot of changes of clothes as the adventure park is right next to a big murky pond (you may find they spend some time in there!!).

Very busy site but, amenities stood up well due to the hard work of the owners who were consistently aparent during our stay. Field turns to mush in places when heavy rain falls so pick your spot wisely before you pitch.

Good for camp fires and 10:30pm noise rule was loosely followed (not regimented). Excellent minature railway adjacent. Post office shop not far in a car. Excellent washing up facilities.

A thoroughly good family stay!! 


Reviewer: Kampcamper 1 review from this member

 March 2005
My family and I visited this campsite over the Easter weeks (part in the Easter weekend and also before and after). We are a family of four, two adults and two children, a car, medium sized tent and gazebo. Our reviews are acurate and informative and written so that other families can get a good idea of what a campsite is like.
Why Fisherground then?

Fisherground is a lovely campsite in Eskdale, Cumbria. The facilities are very good and the new owners Mike and Alison are as keen as they come and ensure any problems are dealt with immediately. They also work every hour to maintain a wonderful clean site. The biggest bonus has to be that campfires are allowed in designated fire pits. You can't make your own but there are enough to go round even through peak season.

The peaceful location is great for walking, and though there is nothing commercialised for the kids on site (yeah!) a short drive away and you are in Cockermouth, Keswick, Coniston or Morcambe! We love this site because even at quieter times there are always a few kids for ours to play with and they generally amuse themselves. The kids love the wooden adventure playground which is set amongst the trees, over a small brook and raft pond (complete with rafts). The adventure playground has a zip wire, chain bridges, platforms, balance beams, rope swings, net walls etc. It is a little uneven on the ground due to exposed tree roots and we saw a few falls but nothing too serious. As long as you're aware, its fine. The only down side to this park is that you have to cross water to get to it, so it's best that children are accompanied as we all know even an inch of water can be extremely dangerous. Don't be put off though are there are enough pitches around the park area to be able to watch whilst at your tent.

The site comprises of two areas, a main circular field and another smaller area where the wash block, showers, loos and disposal points are. Facilities are really very good. There are six toilets for the women and I think four for the men and some urinals. Toilet roll is provided and never ran out even over Easter!!There are signs up saying not to burn the loo roll, so if this continues I think it will be a case of bring your own.

Showers: There are eight in total, four female, four male. They take a 50pence for about three minutes. Generally they are very warm to hot, but over the busier period they felt much cooler. I think it also depends on which you use and how the water is pumped from the boiler.
Washing sinks: There is ample washing facilities which have free running hot water but only two of these sinks have cold water for rinsing. Plenty of draining space.
Washer: A large commercial washing machine. It cost £1.50 for a wash and is generally good for a quick clean whilst your away.
Dryers: Take 50p. There are three and it will cost you about £1.00 to dry a small load. Dryer one is the best, though all do work fine.
Freezer: There is a chest freezer which you can freeze your ice packs, be sure to label your own and keep you eye on them, our friends lost theirs.
Iron and Ironing board: I never saw it used but there is an iron and board which I think again take 50p's.

There is a chemical disposal point, bins, water taps all round the site and also fire points with sand and extinguishers. Alison and Mike clean the washrooms at 7am 1pm and 7pm each day. The sign says "plus various other times". I think that in the week we were at Fisherground there was only a few times that I did not see them in the washroom. The toilets and showers are a marked improvement on last years cleanliness. We went last Sept for a weekend and I have to say I cringed at having a shower because they are situated in a breezblock building with a plastic roof and last year the roof was crawling with bugs, webs, and spiders, in fact the whole place was. This year I have to say I never saw one spider or bug the whole time. The new owners have swept, blasted, painted and really spruced the place up.

Over Easter there was over 170 pitches in use, so a lot of people using the facilities and despite this number of people the toilets and showers , sinks and wash facilities were never dirty. Ok a bit muddy underfoot, but NOT dirty. The owners were constantly cleaning, chatting, cleaning, emptying bins, cleaning, sweeping, mopping, cleaning..... they never stopped and that is the truth.

Fisherground has a the Ravenglass mini steam railway which runs along the top of the bottom field. It's worth a trip on it but it can be quite costly for a family. Your best to jump on the first train then jump on and off all day.
There is a pub about ten minutes walk, I promise it really is only ten minutes max. They have a non smoking area! Yeah!!! a nice beer garden, and are very friendly owners. I didn't see any play area for the kids though which would have been nice.
The post office in Eskdale Green (five mins in the car) 30 minutes each way on foot at least, sell camping equipment, clothing, groceries and of course postal items. They are open til 7pm most nights, but after this your nearest shop is the Texaco garage in Holmrook, about 10-15 minutes in a car.I think it is open til 10.

The campsite sells kindle and logs for the fires, £3.50 a bag for the logs, and the Texaco garage also sells logs. We found the local forester the cheapest at £2.50 a bag of logs and 50p a bag of kindle. As you are heading for Holmrook and the garage the foresters house in on the right. A small sign is just near his gate saying logs for sale.

Whats nearby?
Sellafield Visitors Centre, if you can pass on the contrversy, it is a great FREE day out. Very interactive and informative for the kids (and big kids too). The nearest amusements and commercialised kids stuff is in Silloth, basicall up the costal route as far as you get to the tip. Check your map. There is an arcade, paddle pool, childrens small fairgroud, beach, tea shop and it's quite a dainty town. Personally unless your desperate to spend your money, I wouldn't go. It took at least 45 mins+ in the car and all we did was spend, spend, spend.
Down the coastal route brings you to Morcambe, but again, there is not much there now unless your spending.
Seascale is pretty, if the weathers nice. Its about 10-15 mins in the car and theres a nice beach, rock pools, small park, shops and a Nat West bank. There is also a shop selling hardware and refills on Gas bottles.
Gosforth is quiet, a nice walk to Gosforth, but nothing for the kids, apart from the pies which have a yummy reputation.
We spent a day at the pencil museum in Keswick which was cheap but don't make a special trip there. Go if your in Keswick but other than that......
Cockermouth offers a Sheep and Wool centre which hides the Visitor information centre as well. I say hides because it was sold to us as the sheep and wool centre but other than the shop selling wool products and a few display boards, it is a centre about everything else in the area. The centre is free but you have to pay to watch the sheep show. We did, it was ok, the kids got to feed lambs and stroke the sheep. The centre has a restaurant and bar downstairs and the food is ok in quality and price.
The nearest hospital is in Whitehaven which has an A and E dept. The clinic in Cockermouth does not have a casulaty dept or Xray etc. My daughter broke her arm whilst we were camping and we were told by the sheep centre/info centre to go to the minor injuries unit at Cockermouth which we did, only to be sent to the Whitehaven hospital!!!!

Over all Fisherground is a fantastic site. Great if you are a family with kids who will entertain themselves, or a couple wanting peaceful walks. All in all a fabulous site with over keen owners, who really do never stop at all. I am reluctant to post this review as I want to keep the site to ourselves.

TIPS:
1) Take loads of 50pences.
2) DO NOT PUT more than one 50p in any machine as you still only get the time allowed for one. Wait until the first one has run out then add your other.
3)Take your wellies, especially for the kids. Then can paddle and play on the rafts.
4) Buy your logs outside of the area, at home, B and Q, better still go out log hunting with the kids! Its a conservation area, so don't pick or chop anyting down. You can burn anything that is already on the floor.
5) Take loads on newspaper and perhaps some firelighters if you want a fire, especially if it's wet.
6) No matter how high you hold your mobile, there is NO SIGNAL on site at all. There is a payphone over the road at the top of the feild. Find it in case you need it. The Wardens number is on the board near the loos. In case you need it.
7)In Peak season it's best toget there a day early and leave a day late to get thebest pitches and avoid the rush when packing.
8) Prices as of March 2005 are: Per adult £4, child £2.00, car £2.00 all per night. Visitors are charged also. The warden comes on site and collects money throughout the day and gives you a yellow ticket for your tent.
9)NO CARAVANS allowed. Tents, motor homes fine. BUT beware of the boggy bits, we saw loads of cars stranded in the soggy grass and had to be pushed off the feild. Time of season though!
10) finally, please, please respect the site rules. This is a lovely (mainly) family site which offers fab uncommercialised facilities. NO Groups, Dogs on leads AT ALL TIMES, NO unruly people, YOU MUST CLEAN UP AFTER YOUR SELF, NO Swearing, NO Smoking in toilets, shower rooms, etc.

I hope you found this review useful. I could tell you much more but it would be a really, really, long review then. Happy Kamping to you all!!! 


Reviewer: The wilsons 1 review from this member

 July 2004
Never been here before but had seen it from the train. We were delighted, especially as we could have a campfire.
We arrived on a Monday and it was quiet. It got busier as the week progressed and the weekends resembled Knebworth on a busy night so we would recommend Monday to Friday stays. Camp fire wood on sale in the village at a house - cheaper than the post office. We will probably take our own another time.
Kids paradise, we never saw our son but could hear him and the other kids doing what kids should do all playing together best of mates.
The pond is great, just wear pumps or something on the feet. The swings in the trees are never out of use and the ice cream man must be a millionaire with the amount of sales they make.
The dog meg is cock of the field and checks out every dog that visits.
Highlights are the train passing which the kids loveD and the fires. Take an axe to chop the wood and you will be very popular as everyone seemEd to forget about chopping wood.
Showers are acceptable but can get a bit muddy in bad weather. They are cleaned every day and the people who run the site are very friendly. We are going back for Easter. 


Reviewer: Nicanders 7 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This is a campsite on its own, I can understand why you don't see any caravans near this site. We have a trailer tent and it was a breathtaking ride to say the least! Its also on its own because I've never visited a campsite quite like it before.
_Good points_______
Campfires. The atmospere surrounded by the hills, entertainment by a group camping nearby with guitars, tambourines etc. Our family sat round a fire telling ghost stories.

Its very remote, we are a family who likes home comforts. This site taught us you don't need the telly, radio, mobile phones and also one night no electric!!

The pub down the road Gearge IV I think it was... that was the night with no electricity, then again we sat playing dominoes until the light failed and the husband had enough witches brew to sink a ship we gave up and went back to cook a pan of slop on the campfire.

The Downs
---------

Reading what I've just wrote I don't think there were any we had a great time.

Oh... there was spiders and cobwebs in the roof of the shower block so one smelly mum. Also if you have small children the play area is a bit dangerous I don't think health and safety venture this far. But it's great for older chidlren they can have so many adventures like we did when we were kids. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement