Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Googoomae 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Just arrived back from swiss International. As a seasoned camper here are a few pro's and con's

Pro's
Lovely fishing lake with good swims, peaceful and well maintained. Lovely clean pool and pool area. Brill fishing shop for all your needs. Very close to Henley(short walk)a lovely place to visit.
Tent space (non electric hook up) excellent. One toilet block was excellent, shower, laundry, dishwashing, even a bath. A special mention to the lovely man who did all the odd jobs, Grandad as my daughter called him!). So friendly and helpful.

Con's
Water was often cold. The toilet block for non electic hook ups wasn't very good. There were three showers with big queues (also for dishwashing) and water was often cold. Don't go expecting to be able to take your kids to games room / bar for evening as it's full of kids without parents running amuck (with lots of bad behaviour!), two pool tables, one didn't work, 4 machines, 3 didn't work and a darts board with no darts. Kids not allowed after 8 Electric hook up plots were very tightly packed in.

Over all (I took 5 kids!) I would go again as the kids loved it. There were quite a lot of 'rough families' but we were told that it was quite unusual by families that have been back time and time again.
The only advice that I could give is make sure you visit the tesco's a lot and always eat at your tent as Henley is a very expensive (yet beautiful) place.

I know this review is long but I always read these reviews before I go anywhere and I hope my comments help. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Wilkinsonfamily 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite. This was our first camping holiday, as a family. This is a very big campsite, but very well laid out in a lovely countryside setting. We booked prior to our visit which meant we had our own plot which was quite a decent size. The toilets, showers and baths were lovely and clean.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was a nice extra. The kids had a lovely time and didn't want to leave. No food shop on site (although it does sell lollies, milk, camping stuff) but Henley is only a 10-12 minutes walk to a Waitrose. Fully recommended. 


Reviewer: Susiewong 15 reviews from this member

 March 2005
This was a lovely site with plenty of wildlife and beautiful surroundings.The pitches are generous and there is plenty of space for dog-walking and children to play in. The facilties were clean and efficient. It is a short walk into Henley. One minus was that when we left and handed our barrier card in we were told we shouldn't really have our £10 deposit back because we should have done it before 4pm. We weren't informed of this on arrival, there was a small notice on counter in reception but as we picked our card up from a man working in the bar we never saw this notice. We will go back this site. 


Reviewer: William1 1 review from this member

 August 2004
A great site with friendly staff. Would highly recommend it. Groups of young people are not permitted on the site which was a real bonus as we wanted to get away for a bit to unwind and relax. The site was well maintained, pretty and had a real holiday feel about the place.

Plenty of things available to do, swimming pool, bar, evening entertainment, pool table, dart board, fishing lake, BBQ, plenty of green fields, TV showing music and on demand sports channels, adventure playground and picturesque town of Henley on Thames only a 10 minute
walk away.

Windsor, Oxford, London, and lots of things to do with kids like Legoland and Chessington World of Adventures, are all under an hour away. We had no problems keeping ourselves occupied here!

Prices are good value and felt well looked after. All amenities were in good order and enjoyed a few pints in the bar. No complaints, would definitely go back again and would recommend to all. 


Reviewer: Bob™57 16 reviews from this member

 September 2004
I arrived on Friday lunchtime with a weekend booking. My initial impression of this site was not good, being offered a pitch at the top end next to the fence which was on an uneven incline and potted with old and new mole hills. An immediate complaint resulted in a short list of available pitches on the opposite side of the path which were flat and well mown and with a view towards the hill and woods beyond the fence. Rather a pity I wasn't offered a pitch there in the first place.

I also have to say that the toilet and shower block in the upper part of the site was not as clean and in as good a state of repair as I have previously experienced so far, but they were adequate. The block nearer to the reception was moderately better.

Being at the top end of the site there was plenty of room and a feeling of spaciousness but I felt that the middle of the site where most of the caravans were was a little crowded, some of the vans appearing to be permanent or long term. However, in busy periods there would have been plenty of space in the surrounding overflow fields if rather a long way from the amenities.

Despite the booking email making it clear that if I took a radio or intended to have wild crazy parties then I shouldn't even think of going to Swiss Farm there were one or two rather loud groups of people and the 11pm noise deadline was ignored up until about 1230am when they settled down. Some noise could also be heard from the surrounding busy main roads particularly from the more than average number of motorcycles that seemed to be using them over the weekend period.

Nevertheless the site does it's best to create a peaceful atmosphere just on the edge of town and I settled in and enjoyed my stay. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The swimming pool was still open and some children seemed to risk the not quite so warm weather to take advantage of it.

The bar is also used by the residents of an adjoining mobile home park and the atmosphere was that of a normal busy pub. The advertised entertainment seemed to be a disco mostly for the children and held in the second bar/games room.

Henley is easily walkable although I would say a little over the 5 minutes previously suggested. Plenty of pubs, shops, and restaurants and I can highly recommend the Henley Tea Rooms situated at the riverside where anything from an all day breakfast to a Sunday roast can be obtained. Well cooked, waitress service with a smile, and very reasonable prices too.

The riverside itself was not what I expected. Mostly for walking and viewing or feeding the ducks. I expected a more vibrant atmosphere but the one dingy looking riverside pub with an extremely small patio area was not particularly inviting. A lot of lost potential there I felt.

My thoughts of spending a few hours cruising the river in a self drive hire boat were thwarted by the minimum cost of £20 per hour for a 4 seater motor boat, although perhaps not too bad for a family or someone with whom to share the cost. An hourly organised river cruise was reasonable though at £5.00 per person.

Not a site or a place I personally would wish to visit again but it depends on one's interests. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Bigcarpcatcher 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This site is really nice. The pitches are surrounded by trees and hedges with nice views of the countryside. It is peaceful and friendly. The showers were a bit like old school showers but were kept very clean and the water was hot. You can re-freeze your packs in the shop and it has a small bar area with TV and pool tables (there is a seperate side for adults only). Swimming pool is clean, but not heated so OK if it is a hot day. Excellent location for Henley, Windsor and Legoland. Has a Fishing lake set aside from the site which has several swims and nice and quiet. 


Reviewer: Alan40 2 reviews from this member

 May 2004
Excellent site for walking and the Red Kites circling the site is a view to be beholden!

The toilets and showers, whilst OK could do with a little tlc.

This site is great for visiting Henley, and is definitely walkable, with loads of great restaurants and pubs! 


Reviewer: chris. 1 review from this member

 June 2004
We had an excellent stay at the campsite, it is within very short walking distance to the nearest town. The site was very quiet and well lighted.
The pitches were very nice as they are surrounded partly by hedges.
The fishing pond kept us occupied throughout our stay.
The washing facilities were all very clean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swiss Farm International and we will definately be going there again! 10 / 10 


Reviewer: Gemma 123 1 review from this member

 June 2004
Overall the campsite was excellent and I don't think I could fault it. It was basic but had everything you would want.

The setting was great and felt secluded even though you were very close to Henley as there were high hedges in between every few tents. We were looking onto a hill in front of our tent, which if you climb it takes you on a long walk through woodlands and fields.
The toilet and shower blocks were basic but clean. The swimming pool looked well kept and clean but it was far too cold to use the weekend we were there!
Henley was very close and was a nice town with good resturants but there weren't many shops.


 


Reviewer: morgie 2 reviews from this member

 Bank Holiday weekend May 30th 2004
We stayed in the overflow field which was fine, gently sloping. plenty of space for kids to ride bikes.
Toilet facilites where okay, not very clean at times, lots of rubbish overflowing the bins outside. The main toilets / shower block nearer the reception area was better. Not much hot water, if any, for washing up which was a pain. Showers nice and big but forget it if you wanted a wash or shower with hot water after 09:30a.m. There where signs up warning you of lack of hot water at peak times, which I can understand perhaps for showers but not for basic washing up facilites, dread to think what it would be like in August or Henley Regatta week. Don't mean to moan as otherwise it was a nice campsite within walking distance of Henley which was great and it had a nice outdoor pool which the kids enjoyed.  


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement