Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eksohek 4 reviews from this member

 Just came back from the half-term Camping Venture.
We were recommended to book this site as we could not get a booking at Lincoln Park.
What a great site.
- A small farm with rabbits, ponies, sheep, etc. (Excellent for younger children)
- A small trail around the site. Parts of it are forestly and farmy, so you can easily feel nature creeping back.and stone throw away too.
- Dedicated playing field out of harms way.
- Plenty of cubicles.and I swear the they clean them ever so frequently.
- Very quiet.no road noise
- Loads of playing areas for children
- Shop that bakes croissants and bread in the morning and is open for ~12 hrs, 7 days a week.
- A co-op 5 mins drive that is open even longer everyday, and 20 mins drive gets you to a 24hr Tesco.
- You can even book a farmhouse breakfast at the farmhouse if you wish. ( I thinkit was £6.50 pp)
- lots of walking and the owner owns another field across the road, so yiu can walk there too.
- Wake up to the sounds of birds, and plenty of space to pitch on numbered pitches.

ok, what was not great:
- Rain made parts of the sire boggy.but that's a combination of rain and BH traffic on the grass.
- Very Hilly for Cycling, but who said this was Holland.
- No Rowdy groupies.

Overall, Kids loved it. We will go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CaddyClan 23 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 5nts at this camp over the Bank Holiday weekend.

This is a very large park and reasonably well maintained. Has a little shop/reception with smashing homemade bread and pain-au-chocolats every morning which were simply delicious.

I'm afraid we have to disagree with the toilet facilities though. They are badly in need of updating and needed cleaning much more frequently. The ladies was without soap for 2 days of our stay and the toilets were disgraceful. I appreciate that there were a huge number of children on the site and there had been a lot of rain which meant a lot of mud was walked into the facilities - but the general cleanliness of the toilet cubicles themselves was well below par and not at all what we expected after having read these reviews. They also need to have a mop of some sort so people can mop the shower stalls out after use as they were hopelessly muddy.

With regards the pitches - we were fortunate to have a pitch near the first set of facilities - because lower down people seemed very crammed together, especially in the lower fields. Our pitch, whilst spacious, was right next to the play area - which suited us down to the ground with having 3 kids of our own, but it did mean people trampled all over our pitch to get to the park all the time.

During our stay we had a lot of rain and as a result our pitch became a quagmire and hardly drained at all. Made for a very wet, soggy and muddy weekend.

Kids loved the play area, ping-pong, pool table and seeing the horses (and the pain-au-chocolats every morning!).

I think this will be a smashing park if / when the owners decide to refurbish the toilet facilities - it's way overdue. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Perry114a 4 reviews from this member

 Just come back from staying here over bank holiday and I will really echo what other reviewers have said. 
 
The toilet and shower facilities are excellent - no queueing at all and are clean.  The owners were friendly and there are good walks around the site which also has a well stocked little shop and a park and tennis courts etc for the kids.
 
Charlbury is the nearest village (1 mile away) with a few nice pubs although the walk there is a bit hairy as there isn't a pavement.  More central villages like Bourton, Burford etc are about a 15/20 min drive.
 
I would however say that this site is really for families.  At £19.50 a night, I felt that we were paying for all the children facilities we didn't use and we were only one out of a handful of couples there.   Also there were large groups of families, one in particular who liked their music and shouting.
 
All in all the park is clean and well maintained with large pitches but if you are a couple and not fussed about table tennis or a snooker table, there are cheaper and more central sites around.  


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toffeetart01 1 review from this member

 Just spent Easter here, very nice camp, clean showers and toilet blocks, child friendly although I do feel its over priced at £19.50 per pitch for 2 people then we had to pay an extra £2 per night for our 9 year old child.

The nearest pub is a mile away but down a hill, bit dodgy in parts as there is no pavement although the road is not that busy, they do drive pretty fast. We just bought wine and sat in tent, I think thats what most people did. Went to Cotswold Wildlife park which was nice and you can take your dog there too. Had a nice weekend and would return there 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vf580 4 reviews from this member

 A bad experience this particular weekend, mainly contributed to by the bad weather. A couple of gripes though, the soap dispensers did not work in the mens loos,(3days) and were not even topped up properly. If they were not working why weren't there bars of soap to use. The family bathrooms were not quite as clean (flys, cobwebs) as on other visits. The site to me is starting to lose its edge, and feel a bit tatty / dated, considering the high price. Still better than a lot of other campsites though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil Marriott 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed staying at the site so much that I felt inclined to register and leave a recommendation.

Although at first sight Cotswold View may seem to be over priced, this is easily explained when comparing against lower cost sites.

It is fair say that of all the sites we stayed at this year the Cotswold View had the most generous and best laid out pitches. Ample room for everyone, with lot of thought having been put into the design of the play, and recreational areas.

The facilities were excellent and clean with free hot water. My one negative point was I thought that the shower cubicles were a bit tight.

An added bonus was the bathroom, something I have never come across on any other site.

We loved the farm and forest trails leading from the camp site and the animals were delightful, especially the goats.

As a dog owner I was delighted that although on a lead around the site, the dog had plenty of space to run free through the forest trail.

All in all, an excellent site and worth that little extra cost.. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vikki75 14 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely. The play area is lovely we were pitched right next to it so could watch the kids all the time. The farm trail is also a good adventure with kids we stroked the horses, donkey and the goats and looked at the rabbits. The toilets and showers were clean and plentiful with private wash cubicles. The staff were very friendly and ehu is included with all pitches. The pitches are a good size and numbered so you can be sure that you will have adequate space. If we lived closer we would be regular visitors but we definitely hope to return one day. I really can't find anything bad to say! 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SusieP 4 reviews from this member

 As a first time visitor to this lovely site I was impressed by a number of things - firstly the size of the pitches which were very generous and the imaginative (for UK) layout of the site - it reminded me a little of a continental site. This image was no doubt kept alive by the smell of croissants being freshly baked each morning (one is never enough) and the beautifully clean toilet/washblock which was built out of local honey coloured stone and nestled unobtrusively in a herbacious location. The forest trail is a great idea and Barney can highly recommend the 'dog walk'. Yes, it is a little pricey but in my opinion you get what you pay for at Cotswold View which is more than can be said of many other campsites changing similar tariffs for inferior facilities. Go on - try it - you won't be disappointed! 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LizT 1 review from this member

 This site is a jewel!! Every pitch has electric hook up. The pitches are spacious and the site is very pretty and lots of greenery. The toilets and showers are immaculate and plenty of them!! There is use of free hairdryers and iron! The laundrette has timers on the washer and dryer so you don't have to wait round you know how long before ready. The facilities on the site for children were great there is a large play area, separate football pitch and the games room. A small animal farm also. Although not tried out the farmhouse also offers a full english breakfast!! there is a tourist information point on site and the staff were friendly and helpful all the time. Excellent site - will be back for a longer stay next year!! 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woofy 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from yet another very relaxing week at Cotswold View. The site was reasonably quite through the week, which was just great, did start to get busy on the friday for a local "mini" gathering (thats the car mini). Which was interesting as they did a little cruize around the site.

As always, clean and well maintained, enough play areas to keep our two girls occupied for the week, shop stocked the essentials (beer & wine).
Will definitely be returning next year for another week.  


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


23675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement