Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Krd1 1 review from this member

 This is a very large site consisting of three large fields, one of which is two thirds hill. The toilet facilities were adequate but a long way from the furthest two fields. There were only four male and four female showers and a good deal of time was spent queing for a warm to cold shower. Whilst we were there they held a Barn Dance which went on until 12.30am. Fortunately we were in the furthest field, however the noise, coupled to the returning drunken revellers made it impossible to sleep until 2.00am. There appeared to be no policing of the event and this was not the kind of thing I wanted my children exposed to. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tallulah_bb 3 reviews from this member

 Just visited this campsite for one night and have mixed feelings about it. It is in a lovely location and is right on the waters edge, which is fantastic. There were flat areas available across the three fields although most of one field is taken up by a hill. We ended up at the bottom of the hill because we wanted to be fairly near to the toilets and showers. The facilities were clean although there was no toilet roll in the ladies toilet from about eight o'clock in the evening till the following morning. There weren't nearly enough showers, (only 4 for 3 fields worth of women,) and the shop opened at funny times. I would suggest a visit to the shop at Park Foot as it is well stocked and opens for longer.

This campsite is a working farm which does add to the atmosphere of camping. The lakeside walk into Pooley Bridge is lovely and it only takes about 15 mins. I enjoyed staying at this campsite and we are returning in a couple of weeks for a longer stay. I would definitely recommend this campsite over the larger campsite on the same road even though it takes a little bit longer to walk in to Pooley Bridge. 


Reviewer: Csg65 1 review from this member

 July 2005
went on a weekend and not to pleased with the amount of noise and drunken behavior going on until what seemed like the next morning. Meant to be a family and couples only site. A large site and I'd recommend pitching in the first field near the reception as it seemed a lot quiter after 10 pm. Shop well stocked and owners seemed friendly. A nice walk into Pooley Bridge on an evening with a choice of 3 pubs. Could do with more showers to accomodate the amount of people.  


Reviewer: Ron gates 4 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Arrived on Friday afternoon to an almost empty site and found a perfect pitch with a view of the mountains at the southern end of the lake, we were not alone for long tho and the camp quickly filled up. On sunday the camp emptied just as fast and we had a very peacefull week. As regards the facilities, yes at busy times they could use more, I also understand that there was a problem with the water pressure due to overuse by Parkfoot campsite down the road. This stopped the toilet cisterns from filling up fast enough to cope , this is being sorted,( we always take our porta potti with us, available at any car boot sale for about a tenner) 


Reviewer: Legless 1 review from this member

 May 2005
I have to say we were very disappointed with this site. The fee was quite steep and we expected better.

The fields were tidy and had a lot of level areas and the location was great, close to good pubs and local shops with fantastic views of the lake. However, it was let down by the facilities.

There were 6 toilets for the ladies but they were frequently blocked and the smell made the whole block very unpleasant. 4 showers for 3 fields worth of lady campers meant there were long queues, but they were hot and free.

The washing up area was unlit and the bins were overflowing, there was no water in the top field.
 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Teepee 4 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We stayed Whitsun bank hol, 2 adults, 3 children, 1 tent and 1 car. We paid 23.50 per night and just couldnt help feeling ripped off. The site was absolutely crammed full, we went out to find a tent pitched in our car space when we returned, tents in front of each other and very close to the road.

There are only 4 female and 4 male showers for the whole of the site, needless to say there were queues to use them. Children's play area is close to the busy road where cars enter and leave the site and we didnt feel it was ok to let our children age 7, 4 and 4 play there alone. If the shower and toilet facilities were improved, this would be a lovely campsite as it would be possible at quieter times to pitch near the water with a lovely view. Please, please move the play area and definitely improve those showers! 


Reviewer: Ronnierhino2000 9 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just spent one night here

Lovely site. Facilities were good plenty of toilets, 4 showers that were free and lots of hot water. shop with plenty of stock. Lovely walk to the nearby village by the waterside where plenty of pubs can be found. The wind is quite strong coming off the water but not problem. Very large site.

Just remember it is a working farm so the cows may wake you up in the morning. Will go back there again as everything that I needed in a camp site was available. A very relaxing place to be and if you are into watersports, a great place for getting onto the water. 


Reviewer: Worththemost 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This is an excellent site for families, the shop is brilliantly handy for morning supplies and the food van is a real credit to the site. The footpath to Pooley bridge is fantastic, you must take a trip on the Ullswater steamer and hire boats.
The toilet facillities are top notch and all staff friendly. If you are looking to enjoy the beautiful lake district from a well run site this is it. 


Reviewer: Debs25 7 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Just arrived back from our trip to this camp site and have to say I was quite impressed. I don't really have anything to compare it to as this was our first camping trip, but the site seemed to have everything we needed.

There were plenty of toilets and extra portaloos behind the toilets so you never needed to wait. There were four showers each, which did mean that sometimes you might have to wait, but I was lucky enough to only having to wait on the last day. A bonus of the showers were there always seemed to be hot water and it was free! There is also a hair dryer in the shower block and a small cupboard with electrical points in the toilet block.

There is a small shop on site and a laundry room with an ironing board and a burger van that serves food pretty much all day.

As for where the site is situated its about a mile from the centre of Pooley Bridge and the roads leading to it are quite narrow. If you have children there is a little park to help keep them entertained, but the big selling point for us is that the campsite is directly situated on the edge of Ulswater lake and if you are lucky enough you can pitch your tent looking out onto it as the site managers were more than happy to let you pitch wherever suited you.

We had a lovely time at this site and will be visiting it again some time soon! :-) 


Reviewer: bootiful 1 review from this member

 Yonks ago!
Stayed here a few years ago, during the foot and mouth epidemic. The site was great and despite having to pitch our tents on a rather steep hill side, we had a great time. The showers are a bit thin on the ground, with only three each, but there's a lake nearby if you just wanna have a dip! The shop sells all the absolute necessesities and the laundry is clean and servicable. There is a hot drinks machine that sells a good hot chocolate. Ideal for first time campers who think that a full kettle will boil in a few minutes, only to discover that a single ring burner will take a life time to heat it up!
Very good site and I may well visit again soon. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56748 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement