Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chad6 4 reviews from this member

We visited here in August with ourfour childrenand had a great time. The pitch was flat with plenty of room between tents. The facilities were clean and nearby. The tissington trail is nearby and lovely ashbourne just 10 mins drive away.

Staff at the campsite werefriendly and helpful.

Highly recommended - we will visit again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopylu100 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August and it was a friendly site. We had a large, flat assigned pitch on a busy campsite. The facilities were a perhaps slightly dated, but clean and functional. The shop was poorly stocked and although Sainsbury's isn't far, it is quite small.

As a wheelchair user, access was not quite as we had pictured, with the ground being extremly uneven and rocky. Their are no smooth roads or footpaths at all so do not expect to get around without considerable help or a car (this includes getting to the toilet). The pub was upstairs with accessible outdoor seating, this is fine if you have someone to buy your drinks! The disabled toilet was of a good size, just be aware their is no shower stool and the shower head is fixed.

All in all this site was quite good, but the access issues will put us off returning in future. This site is not wheelchair friendly!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shrubby 8 reviews from this member

The location is fantastic. On site we sat and watched a huge variety of birds from everyday garden birds to peregrine falcons. Access to Dovedale, Tissington, Hartington and many other tourist attractions is easy. Our pitch was at the end furthest from the road so no traffic noise but no twisty farm lanes to negotiate for the privilege each day either.
However I would probably not revisit due way staff treated us.
We arrived at 8.50a.M. Not booked in. The shop door was open and 2 people were inside, one each side of the counter, one using phone so I waited patiently. The person on my side of the counter turned to me and gruffly informed me "We don't open til 9. 10 minutes later we returned to reception to book in 3 nights £51, having already calculated this to be £43.50 using their website, I asked how much it was each night and was told £17. I referred to the website price of £14.50 and was told we keep telling the owner but he hasn't updated it for 2007 - amazing how the 2007 events were all neatly listed! We then paid a further £10 deposit for THE key that unlocked all the facilities, male/female toilets, laundry etc. It really was a pain organising to wash, shower and use the toilet at the same time as each other or having to wait until the other one came back with THE key. Those facilities however were pristine, but we felt we didn't want to ask for another key. The shop - we went in there for 4 everyday items they had none of them.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dannyparkin 3 reviews from this member

Went to this site last week for the first time. Excellent toilet block. Nice children's play area but not much space to play football.
There's a nice pub that sells food and a well stocked shop. The pitch was flat and private and the site is set inside a quarry.
All in all a very nice site.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sinclaircats 4 reviews from this member

The pitch we were given had no signal for TV but we were given another fabulous pitch when I asked. I loved this site mainly because of all the wildlife and they are so animal friendly which is just so lovely. Even a pet pig awwwwwwwwwww The only down side is you must not go there thinking we can buy all the food at their shop because it is very very basic with no veg and only frozen bar B Q food but enough canned stuff to get by if you are there just for a weekend. We stayed for 3 wonderful weeks so I got a taxi to Sainsbury in Ashbourne. The best Sainsbury I ever saw in my life yummy.

A wonderful little pub on site with lovely food and I really wanted a seasonal pitch here so hopefully they will reply to my begging e mails although no luck so far. All the local people are just so lovely and really no wonder this site keeps getting the gold award from David Bellamy because it is back to nature at its best with all the different flora and fauna. Take lots of bird food with you and you will be delighted at your visitors .

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derekbab 6 reviews from this member

Booked for 3 nights in july only stayed for 2, this was due to the bad weather. The campsite is very clean with a high standard of facilities. The staff were very friendly and help full I would not hesitate to book again shame the good old british weather let us down.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallye 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend in October 2006. We had a great time! This Caravan site is great! The prices are a little high - but you certainly get what you pay for!
 
The site is well laid out with excellent showers. We visited the on-site pub on the first night - and enjoyed a good pint!
 
There are many areas to explore near to this caravan site, we went to Dovedale and had a great day on the stepping stone. The are also quite a few national trust properties in this area.
 
We would visit this site again. 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zxn1ner 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the week of the British Moto GP Race at Donington Park.  The site is quite spectacular as the whole thing is set in the middle of a disused quarry.  There was a good-sized play area for the kids and the size of the pitch was huge.  The park also has a shop, restaurant and pub (the prancing Pony) at the main entrance.  The pub was good, however was closed most days and only opened on the Friday and Saturday nights.  For some reason there was no food available on the Sunday and this meant that the pub did not open at all! 
Will definitely return in the future as the night sky is marvellous without the intrusion of sodium lighting and the kids loved the rabbits that would visit the pitch at sundown.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elizabeth Burt 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned and reminded ourselves of the reviews.
I have to say that previous review says it all. Lovely site. Not too big but with all the facilities. The toilet block is clean, large and really warm. The play area gave space for the children to play and plenty of room for football. The tents filled the pitches but this wasn't because the pitches were small but the tents were large!
We stayed on the camping field which gave really good value for money. We had loads of space in
our area but could access all of the site facilites. Eight of us stayed for three nights for £52 !
The best part was being able to access the walking and biking trails without needing to drive. A great site for all types of visitors. Very friendly staff who, although busy, were still friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Doris 15 reviews from this member

We made our visit of the season to Rivendale and have to say we were impressed and will definatly be going back later in the season.
The site is very well laid out with a selection of all grass, grass & hard standing and all hard standing pitches.
It was very wet the weekend we were there, but the toilet/shower block was kept sparkiling clean, which was lovely.
The shower cubicles are nice and big and there's plenty of hot water. There are private wash cubicles as well as open sinks - all of which have soap dispensers, which is always nice to see on a camp site.
The pub on site the Prancing Pony is very welcoming and serves some lovely home cooked food.  Children are welcome in the bar area as well as in the large restaurant .
The shop on site has a good selection of the essentials and again is reasonably priced.
There is a nice kids play area on site, and also has a large grassed area at the side for ball games etc. The site is very good for kids, especially if they have a bike with them, they can tootle round all day.
There were lots of familes and couples on our visit.
You are about 10-12 miles from Buxton, which is always worth a visit, there you will find a good selection of shops & amenities.
Ashbourne is about 7 miles from the camp amd is also worth a trip - there you will find a co-op and Somerfield as well as other shops & cafe's.
The other great thing aboutn this site is that you are within walking distance of the Tissington trail - great for cycling & walking.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019