Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 313 Reviews
                10/10 from 313 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  313 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coveney_d 3 reviews from this member

Me my husband and pooch stayed here I absolutely love this site its excellent they have everything including a bath !

Old oaks is at a perfect location for touring and a lovely walk to glastonbury tor and town.

On site is a fishing lake and small holding with chickens the staff are really friendly and they have a shop that sells everything from tent pegs to cider, home made cakes and bbq meat from their own livestock,

Its a really well laid out site and has a laundry room with use of a fridge freezer and microwave

They have yurts for rent and although their prices are high you don't mind paying them for such a lovely site

This is adults only so its really peaceful and quiet

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T4terrier 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful well run site surrounded by lovely countryside yet within walking distance of Glastonbury and the Tor.

We have stayed twice in the old orchard which is spacious and well laid out surrounded by apple trees. The toilets and showers are immaculate and the site has a laundry facility, a freezer for freezer blocks and a spacious pot wash area.

The whole site is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

There is a well provisioned shop and the home made cakes are gorgeous.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andysvwt5 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights and must say this site is one of the best. The staff were really nice and helpful,toilets and showers immaculate,and a well stocked shop which you can get essentials.The pitches are really big, spacious, and well maintained.It doesn't take long to realise how peaceful it is, so if that's what you want this is the place. Nice walk into Glastonbury if you want to as well which we did do and walked back.The surrounding countryside is also a pleasure to look at and breath in the fresh air. We will be going back to this site for many more years to come and hopefully stay longer sooner rather than later. Absolute stunner.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the best sites in the country. The location is peaceful and in the middle of the countryside (yet it is only 1.5 mile walk to Glastonbury). It has immaculate showers and toilet facilities, the laundry room is superb and the washing up facilities excellent - the water is piping hot. The wardens are friendly courteous and helpful and although it is a largish site it is divided into sections. Each pitch is huge (hardstanding) and is semi-enclosed with bushes so being over-looked is never a problem. Being adult only is a distinct advantage to me.

Are there any disadvantages? Only one. I'm going to have to book early to make sure I can visit again next year!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Peterchapman374 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend in one of their cabins,fab!

Perfect for early/late season.The site is immaculate as are the toilet/shower facilities.Water for washing/showers and dish wash is piping hot.Dish wash area sheltered and clean.Use of freezer and microwave plus ironing and laundry area all available.

Pitches are a good size and enclosed with various shrubs.The reception and shop are excellent with fresh bread available daily delivered to your door!

There are numerous walks available from the site with plenty of info available.We went to the Tor and walked into Glastonbury town and back direct from the site.

Camping stoves sre available to hire if you don,t fancy packing your own.

All in all a grade 1 site with wonderful owners and wardens.I couldn't recommend this site enough and can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 40 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many times and it is one of our favourites. Every time we go the owners have made more improvements. The majority of pitches are now hard-standing and quite a few are full service with waste and water.

Pitches are a good size and separated by shrubs which gives a bit of privacy. The owners and wardens are very friendly and always around if required. An additional new toilet block is to be added during the winter which is good as the current one does get a bit crowded when the site is full.

Nice pubs around the area, details in Reception, we tried the Camelot Inn which was very good.

The surrounding area and the views from the site are excellent and peace and quiet are the norm. Lots to see and do in the area details of which can be found in the Tourist Information room on site.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a short 3 day break at this lovely site. We stayed in one of the six cabins which are for hire. We were very impressed by the cabin which was warm and snug and well equipped with king size bed, small fridge, heater, electric kettle, toaster and table and chairs. The outside decked area is large and well protected from the elements and is where any cooking must be done.

The shower block was very good but can imagine they would be under pressure when the site is full. They were supposed to have an additional block this year but the bad winter has delayed it and it should be built over the next winter.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and kept the site immaculate.

Whilst it is only about a one and a half mile walk into Glastonbury it is a pretty steep up and down and not for the fainthearted or unfit.

The site is very peaceful and almost the only noise is birdsong.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blunmurr 12 reviews from this member

A little bemused by previous reviewers comments. This is clearly an adult only site where people go to relax and chill out. For those who want to get away from the possibility of noisy families with uncontrolled kids, then this is ideal. All pitches have hard standing and large grass areas between pitches. The owners have worked hard to build up the site from its original CL status some years ago. All staff work hard to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We were upgraded to a super pitch with water and drainage at no extra cost. Toilet/ shower facilities were spotless and always nice and warm. There was a resource room with a good collection of books and information pamphlets.

For some strange reason a few pitches found it difficult to get the satellite dish working although the cheap status aerial on the roof worked a treat.

Some nice touches like the daily homemade cakes made available for purchase from the shop.

Some walks and cycle paths clearly marked from the site. Glastonbury is a one and a half mile walk and the town of Street with its designer outlet shopping area is great to visit with lots of bargains. Wells is a must with its lovely Cathedral.

Overall probably the best site I've visited in the uk in 50 years of camping and caravanning.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dax 743 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the carnival in November this I must say is one of the best sites we have stayed at. The toilets and showers were heated and spotless. The pitches were extra large hard standing and small hedges around. The site is well kept. The staff make you very welcome. They have a small shop on site. The taxi service from the site was very reasonable. Also a good place for shopping is Clarke's village, you will find all the major retail outlet shops there. The view from the site is breath taking and the only thing that wakes you in the morning is the cows. Will be back in the new year.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rodgey1 2 reviews from this member

Without doubt the facilities are good and clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly too.

Impeccably manicured grounds but I found the place a little bit spooky. I suppose it was the absence of children (we didn't know it was an adults only site)

Our kids are grown up now, but for me, camping is a fun family affair and it's nice to see youngsters around. We visited other sites and kids have never disturbed us.

We walked in to Glastonbury via the Tor and got some shopping so we got a taxi back. Via Bath! So watch out for rogue taxis

Owner's comments: Many thanks for your comments, all feedback is very welcome. However, I would like to defend the taxi drivers of Glastonbury by suggesting that perhaps you may be mistaken with regard to being taken back from town via Bath. Bath is approximately 30 miles away (as opposed to 3 miles from Glastonbury to us) and so a 60 mile round trip would have taken around an hour and a half at best, at a cost of around 100.

Previous     313 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1626