Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 239 Reviews
                9/10 from 239 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  239 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MissEddie 2 reviews from this member

 What a superb campsite. As with some others I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, however, after reading the more positive ones we decided this was the campsite for us. We had been wanting to visit this area for some time as frequent visitors to the Lake District this was an area we had not visited and despite the cloud and occasional drizzle we were not disappointed. The village is only a short walk from the site with all you could need, local pubs, (serving good food) and shops. There are plenty of local walks and cycle routes, an ideal base for those walkers and cyclists wanting to avoid the peak season crowds of the Lake District. The site itself has the most wonderful views over Morecambe Bay, not at all noisy even though there were many children with it being the school holidays. The toilet blocks were always clean and well stocked with toilet roll. We will definitely be going back soon, missing eating breakfast in the morning looking out over the bay already. Hooray for Gilbraltar Farm, we love it! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicsmum 6 reviews from this member

 Just had a great weekend on this friendly site. Found the steward to be very helpful. Had no problem with any late noise, despite being a bit apprehensive having read previous reviews.
 Walking and views are lovely here and good food to be had at local pubs. Site and facilities kept very clean, queues for wash-up and showers only at busiest times and not excessive. Great for kids, space to run around and explore. Plan to visit again! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: I need sun 11 reviews from this member

 Pleasantly surprised with this site as we usually go to 'higher quality' sites.
 
Only stayed for 1 night but found:
 
good points - brill views over bay, ok toilets, cheap goods in shop (in stewards' awning!), nearness to Silverdale which has good little shops/pubs (esp butchers & fruit/veg shop), good walks from site, good camping field & lots of space for kids to play.
 
bad points - untidy in nearby woods (lots of cans/bottles from late night camp fires). Noisy / rough (ish!) campers shouting late at night (I'm just a snob), not well lit.
 
Overall though I would definately stay again if only for location (inc art gallery opposite) & Silverdale itself. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

 Have just spent another lovely weekend here and the weather was hot! turned a  bit chilly and breezy at night so take a fleece along with you. This site is so friendly, my grandson (5) really enjoyed the rope swing, and he made lots of friends. 
Very busy, pitched on the friday, by saturday afternoon it was chokka.  go early if you can.
This is a very relaxing site, the noise was not over the top and didn't bother us, everyone was just having a good time. The smell of bacon and eggs in the morning does wonders for you appetite, and the views just round it all off.  could do with 1 or 2 extra showers, but really ,nothing could spoil a stay at gibraltar farm. 
will go again. 5 star. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

 Gibraltar Farm is lovely and only £10 per night (inc Hook-up). This is quite a basic farm site but lovely sea views from our caravan window. The toilets are clean and adequate and the Steward friendly and helpful. He organises special events in a big marquee some weekends. There are loads of places for kids to play including the sites own woods with tree swings, beach (a bit muddy and beware of the tides) and caves to explore. This is NOT a commercialised site or area in any way, shape or form. The whole district, it is designated "an area of outstanding natural beauty" is a great one for walking / nature lovers but not a lot of "organised" entertainment, shopping, etc.  It is, also, possible to visit the Lakes by car for the day. Carnforth is a short drive away and has a wider range of shops, including a brilliant secondhand bookshop, the re-vamped railway station, with displays about the film "Brief Encounters" which was filmed there, and 2 larger supermarkets.

There are lots of lovely walks nearby. Silverdale village has a small supermarket, 2 or 3 pubs and a few other shops. Nearby Arnside has some interesting shops lovely views and walks and a super "chippy." 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAVVA 1 review from this member

 Just got back from our first visit met some really nice people already rebooked to meet up again. Warden found to be very helpful & friendly, facilities basic but clean. Watching the sheep dogs rounding up the cows for milking & then bringing them back I found highly entertaining & amusing how sad am I. Just a really nice place to visit especially for the money. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site. The site was quiet when we arrived , good choice where to pitch ( get there early if you can, soon filled up). Reasonably priced.  Great views of Morecambe bay and beyond. Got very busy as the day went on, and the weather changed for the worse very windy, bit chilly. Good site for children. No playground but plenty of space to play and really nice walks around the site, and surrounding area. No clothes washing facilities so not very good for a long stay. Toilets ok, didn't use shower facilities so can't really comment on them. We really enjoyed our one night stay even in a blowing gale. No unruly noise. Will visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dicko4 11 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in a beautiful location. It has fantastic views and clean modern toilet / shower facilities. Our children especially loved the farm animals in the adjoining fields! All this only an hours drive from home. Ideal? Unfortunately, not. The noise is a big problem and goes on well into the early hours. This site attracts and allows large groups of young campers that carried on with the fun, long after we had retired to our sleeping bags. There doesn't seem to be any site control, although my husband and I and our two young children were told as we booked in, to keep the noise down after 11pm. It's a pity nobody is made to adhere to this rule.
Our friends decided to give the site another go last weekend, things were no better, in fact it was busier and noisier than the first visit.
It's sad to see such a lovely place in a very pretty, rural location, being used in this way. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fromthenorth 8 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend at Gibraltar farm.
A few things said on here are true. We found it to be quite noisy until 11pm but then all quiet. The toilet block is quite small with only one shower in the men's and two in the ladies, not really enough for a bank holiday weekend.
All that aside though, we loved the site. It has a beautiful setting. The tide on the rocky beach goes out at tea time revealing some great caves that our kids loved to explore with their torches. There are a couple of caves on the site too if you go exploring.
We found the stewards to be very friendly selling ice cream etc from their own caravan. They let us stay all day before we left for home which was nice.
All in all we had a lovely stay there and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisuk1000 12 reviews from this member

 Well....extremely noisy site well into the early hours and no site control whatsoever. The continuous chopping down of the trees is a criminal shame and has to stop, as they are being used for fires everywhere. There is no site control I witnessed the warden just ignoring all this in front of my very eyes. So it's not my imagination before someone tries to contradict me. The site staff may be nice but site control is about more than being pleasant!!

Site facilities are limited as the site size easily overwhelms them, so you will have to wait forever just to wash your dishes. Toilets okay but shower? well lets move on. Fresh water close by.
Nice area for walking, beach and parking at Silverdale. Kids ice creams available at the site caravan/store. Plenty of space for them to play safely...ish as lots of stone throwing and the odd rogue beer bottle being smashed. 


Previous     239 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2469 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement