Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 191 to 198                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Oggle 8 reviews from this member

 Can't say I have ever been anywhere else and felt more welcome. Within an hour of arrival the proprietors had insisted we joined them at the local hostelry for welcome drinks, and not being the sort to refuse...... anyway, book in here for the peace and quiet, the quaint villages, lovely walks, reasonable proximity to the coast and the humongous pitch sizes! While you are at brighthouse walk the farm trail, visit the Swan Pub in Lawshall and meet the barmaid, who as god is my witness is Mafanwy from Little Britain. If you need to eat out The Bush pub,( in the next village I can't remember where - Odell will tell you!) was V good and V V reasonable. You'll want to go again and agin, we're going again soon....  


Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: WIGS 1 review from this member

 We have been going to Brighthouse farm for 3 years now and have just booked for our first visit of 2005. When I ring to book I am always greeted by the friendly owner Odell who runs the camp/caravan site together with his parents. They also have a splendid bed & breakfast with self catering lodges as well.

The site is indeed beautifull, lovely and quiet even when its full. we have a caravan that we hook up, but the facilities for camopers is very good, very clean toilets and huge showers, you could get the whole family in!.

Odell is very helpful ans has plenty of suggestions as to where to visit in the surrounding areas. There is alovel pub noy atall far to eat and a shop to get the necessary provisions a little way a way.
About 7 miles away is the town of Sudbury, which has a large Tesco on the side nearest to the site or Long Melford, a lovely old village with plenty of little shops etc.

We only live in Sudbury but still feel that when we have been to Brighthouse that we have been 'away'. To have this idyllic site on our doorstep is wonderfull. 


Reviewer: Jellikin 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
The area around the site is beautiful,the site is so peaceful and picturesque. all level pitches we stayed for 8 days and we just wish it was longer. We had a great time with great weather. The showers are huge and clean and they last a long time.
Odell was very friendly and he wandered round every day to ask if everything was ok and as soon as we were being troubled by wasps him and his dad were on the case trying to destroy the nest.
Loads of places to visit around and about and the prices on this site were very reasonable. My only moan would have to be the toilets as they were a portakabin, it would make the site better if they built a more permanent fixture, but otherwise perfect and will definately return. 


Reviewer: Dean Johnson

 2 August 2003
Set in a rural idyll where you can see old England's wheat fields, villages, country pubs, games of cricket and old churches. It's all very quiet too.

Mr Truin, the friendly owner, works hard at the site and is investing in its future. Facilities have been improved, there are trees, picnic tables and chairs with sun umbrellas to pitch by and the grass is manicured. Mr Truin likes to keep things looking neat but is concerned that he might kill bees in the clover with his mower. He's a sweet man.

If you're townies like us the farm walk is a pleasant stroll with views of rolling country to aid relaxation and thought. Needless to say, Mr Truin keeps the grassed pathways in good order and clear of any obstructions. 


Reviewer: Alan

 July 2003
A big disappointment after all these recommendations.

The toilets were shabby and lacked towels or hand dryers. The shower, although huge, blasted out boiling water which could not be controlled. At 50p a throw I expected more than a couple of minutes, which left me standing wondering how I was going to rinse my hair. In the event I stuck my head under the basin tap.

There was an uncontrolled dog wandering around which several times attempted to wander into both our tent and car. It also tried to follow me into the shower block.

Despite the lack of caravans we weren't allowed to camp in the shady part of the site because they had electric hook ups. Not much fun in a heatwave.

It's a good thing they didn't ask for money up front as we would have had to ask for our money back before leaving prematurely.

There are much better campsites in the area, as we discovered subsequently.

 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Amanda Sheridan

 July 2003
We chose this site for our very first camping trip and we certainly feel we struck lucky. The site is well signposted and you'll find it buried deep in the most beautiful unspoilt Suffolk countryside. Plenty of local attractions round about and Bury is only 10 minutes in the car for shopping.

Brighthouse do superb B&B as well as camping, and they are also a working arable farm. The family are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Very relaxed about arrivals, departures,and pitches.

There were about 15 families camping on this July weekend, and Odell said this was the busiest he ever lets the site get. We were free to select a spot for our 8 berth tent and were spoilt for choice opting to pitch next to one of several picnic bench and parasol sets which are available free of charge.

All the ground is level and smooth (a lawn by any other name!) and there are an abundance of beautiful trees and shrubs. We had a clear 35 yards all around our tent and the kids were free to lark about as they pleased.

Toilets and showers are not glamorous but they were scrupulously clean and in good working order. Showers are 50p but they blast out such an abundance of hot water in the huge cubicles that you can do one adult and two kids in one go and still have time for a raindance.

The farm trail was marvellous. We took our dog (a German Shepherd who was genuinely welcomed)and the trail provided a lovely safe run for him with lots of wildlife and a babbling brook as well. Odell has created a 5ft wide grass strip around the perimeter of several fields and it was evident he takes care to trim the hedges and drive back the briars and nettles regularly so his campers get to enjoy a very clean and comfy ramble with superb views.

Its the little things that make the difference. A fallow field to exercise the dog. Barns owls in the chestnut tree, and a hare living on the campsite. Odell raises turkeys for Xmas and he invited my kids in to admire the day old turkey chicks.
On the practical front, there is a well stocked corner shop about half a mile away, also a basic but excellent range of pub grub at the Swan.

We'd definitely go back. It cost £7 to pitch our huge tent, and 50p per kid. The dog went free. If I had to suggest an improvement it would be a climbing frame or some such for the kids. 


Reviewer: Simon Gooch

 25.5.2003
Arrived in the rain, and were quickly shown the site. we could virtually pitch anyware ! We chose an area that was very quiet and well situated.

The owner is very helpfull and the site is very well maintained. Although the site does not have a childrens play area as such, there is plenty of space and walks to keep them occupied.

I would recommend a visit to this site, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will return ASAP !!!!!


Simon Gooch
 


Reviewer: Lisa Chalmers

 August 2002
This campsite is going to be very hard to describe, as words cannot show itís full beauty. On arriving in Lawshaw (a small village in Suffolk), we were guided by small B&B/camping signs along the roadsides. On driving into Brighthouse Farm we quickly found one of the owners - OíDell Truin, he then took us into the camping area of the farm and basically gave us the pick of about 5 different areasí where we could pitch our family tent. He then gave me a quick tour of their new shower blocks and toilet facilities and left us to choose a spot!

We decided to pitch up next to a wooden table & bench set, other campers in the ground had done the same and this meant we could use this table for eating etc. There were plenty of these bench/tables dotted around and we thought this was a nice added extra.

The grounds are very flat and easy enough to put the pegs into which was nice and after about 20 minutes the tent was up and we could relax. Mr Truin came around a bit later and told us about the local pub down the road as it has playground facilities for children and about the Brighthouse Farm trail they put in especially for the people using their site.

That afternoon we went to the local pub and found the food was really lovely and very reasonable in price, we also found we were about 10 minutes away from Bury St. Edmonds were thereís Tesco and Waitrose for provisions! The campsite wasnít very busy and in the evening/night we found it very quiet and relaxing (even with our two children). Although the site doesnít have a childrenís playground, the children are allowed to play any ball games where the tents are because itís so spacious, there really is no chance of you hitting another tent!

The next morning Mr Truin came around to collect some money Ė I was pleasantly surprised to find our Sat-Mon stay only costing £14. We then decided to go on the Brighthouse Farm trail to get the children out. The trail is absolutely stunning, going around lots of the local fields, well laid out and kept us busy for about an hour! If you live in London (like we do) we appreciate the rolling fields and fresh air and this trail definitely had all of that! The children were able to pick up wheat from the ground and found a few crow feathers as well as flint to take home!

On the Sunday afternoon having missed the 4pm closing of Tescoís we asked Mr Truin if he had any produce we could buy for our dinner, he directed us into Lawshaw village to a small farmhouse that sold burgers, sausages, eggs etc. We purchased what we needed for dinner and on returning to the tent found Mr Truin had left us a bag of freshly dug up potatoes and a bag of plums! When we left on the Monday (he wasnít fussed when we left as thereís no kick out time), he explained that weíd actually been at one of his busiest times! I was a little shocked at the news as the whole weekend was so peaceful and relaxing, all the children on the site were so spread out that you hardly heard them!

Next year they are planning to put in a dish washing area as at present they havenít got one Ė even with our children I didnít find this a problem though, merely getting hot water from a cleaning area and making do! I didnít mind roughing it one bit! The new shower blocks take 50p coins and are very clean, the ladies one could easily fit both of my children in with myself to make life easier for us mumís! The toilets are in portacabinís but again they are very clean, bright and airy. Not one spider did I see and Iíll be very happy to take my family there again next year. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 198     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement