Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michelle + Kev 33 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 4 nights at this site, which was formally Hollins Farm I believe.
 
It is in a gorgeous setting, surrounded by fantastic walks.  Three pubs within walking distance, all serving real ales.
 
Toilet / shower block immaculate at all times.  Big Family / Disabled Shower room.  Washing up facilities both indoor and outdoor.  Information room. 
 
Reception sold all the essentials you might need, cereal, milk, bread etc.
 
Very pleasant staff and hope to return later in the year.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

WOW . Stunning location!
First class facilities.
Flat fields.
Loads of electric hook-ups.
3 showers (FREE) and 5 toilets plus a hairdryer in both men's and ladies blocks plus a family/disabled room with toilet, baby-changing unit and 2 showers.
There are 3 indoor and 3 outdoor washing up basins with constant free hot water and a laundry room with washer, dryer, spin-dryer and iron all available for a small fee.
Site was kept tidy and facilities were spotless.
Well stocked small shop selling essentials, treats and local produce.
Run by a helpful couple and friendly staff.
Drive over Wrynose Pass and Hardknott Pass to get there is spectacular, especially as the mountains open up to the view of the valley. However should only be tried by confident drivers with a hardy clutch.
Plenty to do in the area, especially for walkers. Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is worth taking a trip on.
3 family friendly pubs within walking distance.
We are already planning our next visit!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobyloo1969 11 reviews from this member

Wow, what a site! It was surrounded by mountains, absolutely breathtaking scenery! To get to it though we had to drive over Hardnott Pass, so if you're thinking of visiting in a motor home - don't, you'll never get it over there! The owner was very friendly when we arrived and said we could set up our tent where ever we wanted to. To be honest I don't think there would have been a 'bad' pitch on the site. Plenty of room to spread out a bit.
There was a stream running through the site, which our 3 yr old loved paddling in.
The toilet/shower block is the biggest, cleanest we have been to! They were cleaned everyday and were free, although you did have to use a token to wash pots and pans 20p, which was an honesty pot. The washing up/laundry facilities were fantastic, to be able to do the washing up INSIDE was great. All very clean.
There was a fantastic pub a few minutes walk from the site The Boot Inn, did great food at reasonable prices, we ate there for the whole time we stayed at the site.
Unfortunately there was no shop on site, but there was Eskdale Stores, which was a 10 min drive away and was well stocked with all the essentials, and even stocked walking gear.
The Eskdale Miniature Steam Railway was a five minute walk away from site and is a must if you stay here.
All in all an incredibly relaxing, restful, peaceful stay, we would definitely come back here again!
We would give this site 10/10

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J Smith 1 review from this member

We visited with two other families (by prior agreement) in August.  We had booked for 6 days but were so impressed with the site and the area that we stayed another 3 days.  The facilities were always spotless and showers not only free but warm.  The washing up and washing machine facilities were also excellent and worked on a token system.  The owners were very friendly.  
One of the other plus sides was that the site didn't get over crowded and there was still plenty of room for the children to play.  If there had to be a negative (and it was really difficult to think of one) it would be the distance to travel for provisions-the local post office stocked the bare basics but to reach a supermarket was a fair drive.  The area was quiet and very beautiful with loads of walks for all abilities.  We shall definitely be returning to this site.  

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catherine :-) 1 review from this member

Nterra Europe. This is a fantastic campsite to get away from it all! We arrive for August bank holiday and we were glad we booked as it had a full sign up; however the field we camped in (there is only two) only had tents up around the side of the field leaving the middle completely free. The shower facilities are lovely, hot powerful and best of all FREE, the only thing I would say is that you can’t use your own hair dryer but there is one for a small fee. The washing up area is great too…there is even free washing up liquid. The pub right next to the campsite does brilliant meals and serves up to 9pm or if you fancy something a bit later the King George does pizzas till late. I would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone whether you are a family, couple (like us) or one man and a dog!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StuKay 1 review from this member

A quiet, laid back, simple but excellent campsite!

You can pitch where you like, and leave when you like. Two pitching areas, along the quiet entrance on large grassy flat verges (where we pitched), or in a large walled circular area.
The surroundings are beautiful.

Plenty of space between tents for playing games. Simple swings and a baby swing for the kids. Very clean bathrooms, but the showers were too hot for the children.

You need tokens costing 50p for hot water to wash up which are always available on the desk.
Dogs can go on site, but they have to stay on leads, there was no dog mess around.

A very short walk from the miniature railway (£22 for a family ticket), which also has a lovely cafe. We also enjoyed St Bees maize maze (£14 family ticket) and beach, great for kites!

Handy shop just by the water mill which sells hot bacon butties and other useful things.
Eskdale stores sells more healthy options but is further away.

We loved it with our 3 young kids!
Peaceful, traditional fun, not too crowded and very clean.

Would only change the shower temperature and the scary single track roads, don't take a trailer!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaybee 1 review from this member

Just spent a fantastic weekend at this impressive site! We were very pleased with the whole experience.

Fab facilities, which were always very clean and well stocked. The showers were powerful and hot, and we didn't have to queue once, despite the fact the site was full!

Truly gorgeous location, complete with a little stream to lull you off to sleep at night. The Site is a fair drive along a lot of twisty roads, but affords amazing scenery and was well worth the extra slog. Not too many people on site as they restrict the pitches. The owners were friendly and very easygoing about our departure time, and there are two pubs within easy walking distance for a nightcap.

Great ice-cream at the local shop, and a steam train railway nearby for the kids.

We will be going back at least once this year and this site is firmly in our yearly diary! Check out the pub at Eskdale green for great food and service and a scrummy sticky toffee pudding!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M38ark 1 review from this member

This was our first try at camping as a family and we were delighted with the campsite. Very quiet and relaxed campsite with very clean facilities. Very glad the fisherground was packed as we might have not found this place at all. The kids loved it and cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsW67 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after a mixture of torrential rain and brilliant sunshine. Peaceful, level site divided into two fields with loads of space for each tent. The owners prefer (or even insist?) on bookings which means that family groups and walkers are encouraged - the site was very quiet at night. The facilities (which aren't far from any part of the site) are kept very clean and have free, hot showers. 50p tokens are needed for hot water for washing dishes at a sink that is housed in a large indoor washing and laundry room that also contains information and leaflets about local shops and attractions. Boot is a few minutes walk away, as is Dalegarth Station for the L'al Ratty Railway which is a must. The kids had a brilliant time at the site playing on the swings tucked under the trees next to the tent and running around the large grassed area. Apparently the wet weather had caused some cancelled bookings but the (friendly) owners don't allow the site to become crowded so I'm sure there would always be plenty of space for the kids to play. We'll definitely go back again.

Reviewer: Chrisfh 5 reviews from this member

July 2004
Loved this campsite. We were looking for somewhere quiet, with level pitches in the Lakes and Hollins Farm was perfect. Beautiful setting. Good free shower/toilet block which was kept very clean. Wash-up area with free hot water too.

Good walking from the site, on a quiet road so we also went out cycling along the valley.

We approached from Hard Knot pass - not advisable with anything bigger than a car! However, once we were into Eskdale we were there for the duration and it was so peaceful.

Rained at least once every day we were there - including heavy rain on arrival until the following morning. So, our first trip in the new tent put it to the test (and my ability to cook in the rain). When we left we drove south through Hawskhead and there was brilliant sunshine. When we commented on this we were told 'it always rains in Eskdale', but it was worth it.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3169 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019