Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Superpup 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 4 days here. Great view over the bay. Bus stops right outside. Number 93. Going to whitby and scarborough. There is a slope on the field. But no big problem. Very peaceful. Toilets and shower also very clean. About 10 to 15 minutes walk down to hoods bay. Steep hill in places. But great for exercise.
The weather was rainy when we got there. So got soaked putting the tent up. Then it cleared about 30 minutes later. Wow. What a view. Best I ever seen from a camp site. Shops are down in the bay. Plus great chippie.Some bars as well for those who like a good pint. Just go. You are gonna love it. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hendrix1664 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site on the way home from camping at another site nearby.

The grassed areas are very well kept and the site is immaculate. It has all the facilities you will ever need which are spotless but IN ADDITION a freezer, a fridge, a microwave, an electric kettle to use at no extra cost.

Our labradors loved this break the site itself is very near to the forrest, beach, village and shops and pubs

Extremely friendly and warm wlecome awaited us and we were just disappointed we had not known about this site the week before when we had stayed at a different camspite.

The fees here are based on each person we paid 6 per adult which we find is a very good pricing structure because most other sites charge per tent eg 20 or whatever and why should 2 people pay for a family of 5 or 6 hammering the facilities? superb very well thought out in every way.

If we had to find something not so good it was the walk back up to the site from the beach which is totally beyond the campsites control it is very steep, however we did see a bus that we believe goes into Whitby so this is an added thing to look forward to.

Basically if you get the weather once pitched you wont want to move far from your tent as the views of the bay are breath taken on this site, but thats our opinion try it for yourself. SPOT ON! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma dawson 12 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite. The views are to die for! The owners are friendly and helpful. (When we got a flat battery, the farmer jump started the car). The facilities are great. Kettle, fridge and freezer. Along with washing up area and socket for hairdryer/straightners. Best of all - it is very clean. Cleaned 3 times a day. We visit on a regular basis! We'll see them soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper_sylv 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly site with lovely views. Clean facilities. They also provide an electric kettle in the washing up area which is great when you only have a tiny backpackers gas stove.

Nice walk through fields to Robin Hoods bay.

The site isn't flat all over. As the site was quiet we had no problem finding a nice place to pitch but if it was busy you could end up on a slope.

Definately would go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mic10 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 days over the Spring bank holiday weekend. Excellent welcome. The site is on a slope but our van was pulled by a 4x4, parked, and levelled - never had this done for me before. Despite the site being full the toilets, showers and washing up facilities were kept very clean and only queued once or twice, but only for just a few minutes.

You can walk down to the village easily and get on the coastal path. Good bird watching in the area. Bempton cliffs and Flamborough Head are well worth a visit, but they're quite a distance.

We'd certainly go back if we went to the area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eclaire 17 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site 5 times over two years and the owners are always very friendly and helpful. The top row of pitches are now gravel which is probably better for most people although personally we prefered them as grass.

Toilets are always clean and showers are spacious, hot and free.

Views from all parts of the site are simply stunning.

Caravans take some levelling as the site does slope quite steeply but the owners do provide wood if you havent got any.

Can get muddy if the weather is wet.

Co-op in Whitby (aprx 5 miles) is good and plenty to do around the area.

The only time we have not enjoyed our stay was bank holiday week when the field was totally overcrowded with guy lines overlapping and far too many people to use the showers and toilets. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bunnies 4 reviews from this member

 I can only echo what all the other reviews have said. The hosts are lovely and make your stay there as easy as they can, we shall certainly go back. The location is fantastic, the view- unbeatable.

I would like to add for others who may be interested about nearby Gluten Free places to eat, this is a big consideration for us when we are booking a site.

The Magpie Cafe in Whitby do GF fish and chips if you ring in advance - absolutely delicious! And they have GF puddings. The Quayside in Whitby also have GF fish and chips, but you do not have to ring in advance, so thats very handy.

In Robin Hoods Bay itself there is a cafe called 'Swell' which is in the old cinema, they have GF sandwiches. I wouldn't recommend the hotel down by the bay as they were not very helpful when approached about GF, but I am sure they are fine if you don't have a restricted diet. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luvinit 1 review from this member

 I have just returned home from my second ever camping trip. We were greeted by the owners of the campsite who treat us like we were the most important people in the world- showed us where we could pitch and were extremely welcoming in general. I went with a more experienced camper who asked what time we would have to leave on monday as it is apparantly normal to have to have left by a certain time but we were told to stay as long as we liked- we could even stay for tea!
During our stay we watched the owners regularly check everything was ok, assist people in parking up caravans, get up at ungodly hours to clean the toilets and barn area where there is a kettle and sinks to use. Everything was spotless all the time. I cant complain at all - everything was perfect. The icing on the cake however is the view- absolutely spectacular to wake up to that every morning. I am already planning my next trip there. A lovely walk into Robin Hoods Bay from the campsite- although it is quite hilly!

Thank you Hooks House Farm for making my experience such an enjoyable one. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simac365 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a perfect Bank Holiday weekend at Hooks House Farm. Jill and her family coulld'nt do enough to make our stay a memorable one. Spotlessly clean facilities, stunning views and the bonus of lambing season! A lovely walk down to Robin Hoods Bay where a handy shop and a few decent pubs await you.

We'll be returning soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bex22 1 review from this member

 I have been visiting this site at least once a year since 1995 and have always found it clean and friendly with the best view ever! I prefer it to be quiet and it can be a little over crowded on bank holidays. Robin Hood's Bay itself is ace with good pubs, cafes and interesting shops. It is also the most dog friendly place I have ever taken my pampered pet! 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3819 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement