Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Jane Munday 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Myself, partner and our two small children found our perfect haven at this site. Such peaceful, tranquil surroundings. Very spacious. Lots of idylic walks in country lanes. The children loved visiting the sheep, horses and ducks. Very friendly people run the site. Much praise for the recycling. There were Eco friendly loos. We did have our own loo though! I would throughly recommend this site to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Such freedom for our 2yr old son to wander with his ball and us not having to worry if he is safe. We will return as soon as we can.
 


Reviewer: Jady 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Cracking little site! Secluded, lovely private lanes to walk down to the beach, good village nearby with a wide range of shops & places to eat! Very children friendly too, our kids loved it and especially seeing the ewes & lambs!

We stayed for two weeks and during the week pretty well had the place to ourselves with only a couple of other families staying. It was nice to have a traditional, old fashioned field, we camped near a big oak tree & hedge which provided some shade from the sun. Friday & Saturday nights were busier with an influx during the hot weather of weekend campers. Whilst we were there the owners were haymaking in the next door field (yes it is a genuine working farm, not a pseudo farm site!)and after the hay had been baled this field was opened for the summer holidays so there was masses of room for everyone, even at weekends.

The owners were helpful and friendly, as the weather was hot the ice pack freezing service was very useful! We especially like the eco friendly ethos of this site, the ecoloos were great, and whilst the facilities are basic, they are adequate. The site tends to attract a fairly chilled out crowd on the whole, most of the chavs & noisier types tending to prefer the bigger sites but in our opinion that is a positive benefit!

This site maybe not to everyones tastes, but if you want a simple site in a really lovely location then this is for you, if you want clubshouses, bars, loads of showers, onsite launderettes etc. then try one of the bigger sites. We have tried several in this area over the years, most of the others whilst they have better facilities are much bigger and noisier and crammed like sardines. What we like about this site is that there are no marked out pitches, you can pitch up wherever you like and there is usually plenty of space. 


Reviewer: Em_R 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
On the weekend we visited half of the field had been roped off for use only by the Boys Brigade. This did mean that the rest of us were a bit bunched together but as everyone seemed friendly it wasn't a problem.
Nice friendly owner, Simon, who came wandering around on Saturday night for a chatter.
Good relaxed campsite where you are left to your own devices - a 15 minute walk into town and the beach. And don't worry, you soon get used to the Eco-Loos! 


Reviewer: Siouxsieb 1 review from this member

 June 2005
We stayed here for 3 nights. Pleasant enough field - flat, quiet etc - trees and birds.

It was a really hot weekend so by the time Saturday came, the site was heaving. They really cram you in at this site and I didn't feel it was a very relaxing atmosphere (although I guess you expect that when it's hot).

There was a range of people at the site few caravans, groups of young people with tents, families with young children and half the house in tow, older couples - even 2 caravans with about 15 blokes who seemed to be foreign travelling workers (they set up with 2 carvans, 2 mini buses and a big satellite dish).

The Eco loos are fine, however the washing facilities are severely lacking. I would not go here again for that reason (1 shower when the site is packed with about 40 people is definitely not enough). Shame really as the people were really nice.

I could imagine it would be a nice site to visit mid week when it might be less busy. 


Reviewer: Harlequin 3 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Great little site, quiet & secluded, lovely large field to camp in which was sheltered with pretty hedges, lovely beaches & walks down the farm lanes. The nearby village of East wittering has a lovely selection of shops & places to eat, fish & chips on the beach is just heaven!

The site is on a working farm and the children loved watching the lambs in the next door field, a real bonus.

Facilities are basic but adequate, the ecoloos are a great idea, much better than portaloos and were kept clean & tidy, we were surprised how well they worked and did not smell at all. The site was busy over the bank holiday & the facilities only just coped but most site have similar problems over busy bank holiday weekends. I was amazed how much rubbish was left after the bank holiday - what a terrible waste and it was good to see that the owners are recycling much of this, they cleared it away within 24hrs of the end of the bank holiday - it just goes to show what a terrible consumer society we are! After everyone went on the Monday we had the site pretty much to ourselves with only two other families and this was just perfect.

The owners are friendly and although they are busy on the farm, checked the toilets & showers before starting work in the morning and again in the evening. There was plenty of space for the children to play games and with no roads nearby you did not have to worry about traffic.

All in all if you want a nice old fashioned traditional site without all the modern day trimmings, this is a lovely site in a lovely location. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Louise100 1 review from this member

 June 2005
This site is in a great location and the site itself is quite pleasant. But... the facilities are basic to say the least (when we stayed on a Saturday night there was one shower/loo to serve around 70 people staying on the site + 3 eco toilets - which were dreadful on a hot weekend).

Also, some parts of the site seemed a bit unsafe for children e.g. near our tent was a dilapidated old greenhouse with shards of broken glass strewn around on the grass outside. Also all the bins were overflowing, and were not emptied during our stay.

I think this could be a lovely site if the owners invested a little bit of time and money in it - both in upgrading the facilities and maintaining the site. 


Reviewer: Val burge 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We stayed at this site over part of the whitsun half term. It's a really nice site, and on a normal weekend it is probably really peaceful. The location is beautiful, with a huge choice of beaches and harbours all just a short walk or drive away.

Unfortunately our stay coincided with some huge family gathering of about 40 Spanish people who camped right on top of us, so for the first 2 nights is was like camping next door to a nightclub. Once they packed up and left we got a much better idea of what it must be like usually, we even managed to use the shower! I'd definitely go back for a non holiday weekend, but to be honest the site just isn't able to cope with the number of visitors over the bank holiday weekend. The eco toilets are a great idea, but they could have done with checking more than once a day, I think the wood shavings supply must have run out for a couple of days as the buckets were empty for a couple of days.

The recycling facilities were not big enough for the volume of waste people were throwing out either, I ended up piling up paper on the ground as the small box supplied was overflowing, I just hoped it would be collected before the wind blew it all over the site.  


Reviewer: Estelle 5 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We have been using this site for many years and thoroughly recommend it. It is a delightful small traditional "eco friendly" site, quiet & secluded but close to good beaches and East Wittering village (which has good shops & places to eat).

The facilities are basic but adequate, the old shower has been replaced with a nice new unit & redecorated, the new ecoloos are great and even the potholes in the lane have been filled in!

The site attracts a nice friendly relaxed informal clientele, and most of the noisier "essexboy" set luckily seem to prefer the bigger sites elsewhere. The owners are very friendly,relaxed and helpful.

We especially like the "eco friendliness" of the site which is fairly unique and is is surrounded by attractive hedges which are full of wildlife & birds. The site is not regimented like most modern sites and there is plenty of room between pitches, even on bank holidays when they open a big overflow field.

Showers are free, the only downside is that there is occasional queuing at peak times on busy bank holidays, although most other times are ok. If you are looking for a simple pretty old fashioned traditional campsite then this is for you, if you want lots of modern facilities then this is not the site for you. 


Reviewer: Lemon 1 review from this member

 May 2005
We had a wonderful time staying at Stubcroft, the campsite is basic and environmentally friendly, which to us is a huge luxury!! The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. The walks close to the campsite are breathtaking and teaming with wildlife.

We would recommend Stubcroft to those who enjoy escaping the fast pace of life, but it would not be suitable for those who enjoy the clubs!!

There is a very nice pub 5-10 minutes walk from the campsite…the food is fantastic, booking is recommended in busy periods!! 


Reviewer: Irpreedy 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
We as a group of well-behaved teenagers stayed here in summer 2004. For our purposes it was fantastic - good basic facilites, though queues for the toilet were not unknown, and level pitches. The site was not near full, so we had our pick of site and spacing! The weather was PERFECT, the campsite within walking distance of the small town (one cafe serving a mean bacon sandwich) and longlong beach.

We travelled by train, then a bus. The directions given were clear, the journey very simple, and the only gripe would be walking down the track to the farm carrying tents!

Definitely one to keep in mind! 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement