Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
                9/10 from 228 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Banjo220864 1 review from this member

 Just got back and can recommend this site. Our pitch was pre-allocated, unfortunately we arrived just as reception was closing but the lady couldn't have been any more helpful.

The bathroom was spotless and had plenty of hot water. We didn't use any of the other facilities as it was only a one night stay.

The site is conveniently situated for a trip to the Farnes from Seahouses and a sunset walk on the beach at Bamburgh. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heysey 10 reviews from this member

 We went here 12 months ago and had a great time, when we went back this time I was amazed at the improvements that had been made to the site. It just gets better and better, there is now more showers for the men and two washing machines two tumble dryers a microwave and a drying room, there is also a bike store and a little shop and if you want you can now hire a fire pit at 2 per night.

This is a very good place to stay and my grandchildren loved just being able to run around safe, if you like to walk on the beach then this is a lovely place the walk from Seahouses to Bamburgh Castle is just over 3 mile on nice clean sand. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesO 10 reviews from this member

 Good campsite this one, we enjoyed a full week there because it really is a good base for exploring most of the Northumberland coast.

The important things were all covered, a clean toilet / shower / wash block that never seemed crowded which could be due to it being a relatively small site with a limited number of pitches. The showers were a wee bit cramped for the taller chap, but the good news is you have total temperature control.

We had some pretty solid periods of rain, despite which there were no signs of standing water anywhere on site. Your pitch is allotted to you before you arrive and isn't enormous, it's enough though and we never felt cramped with other campers.

Dogs are on site and mostly everybody kept to the rule that keeps them on leads. We did have one free-roaming dog urinate on our tent and beg for food from our barbecue, and it didn't seem like it belonged to a visitor. That's about the only negative thing we have to report.

There might be cheaper campsite but all in all ours was a good stay somewhere pleasant, somewhere easy to keep clean and comfortable, and somewhere close to the excellent amenities in Seahouses.

Do remember you really need to book before you go to this one in any of the warm months. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DawnP 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for five nights over the bank holiday at the end of May. I booked this site after reading excellent reviews on here, and I'm glad the reviews were so honest!

The site was full with it being school holidays, but you didn't feel overcrowded at all. The pitches were spacious and the warden who directed us to our pitch was very friendly.

The facilities were great. Clean most of the time, with the odd muddy footprints because of some rain, but that's to be expected. There were 4 ladies loo's and 4 showers. Despite the site been full I never had to queue for either.

The family bathroom was a Godsend, and enormous! It contained a bath, a shower, loo and sink. Lots of room for hanging clothes and such, as there was in the Ladies. Unfortunately the loo was not flushing properly in the family bathroom, apparently they were waiting for the plumber but this still wasn't fixed at the end of our stay. This is the only reason I'm giving this site 8/10.

Lots of sinks for washing up, a microwave, and a separate drying room-fantastic.

The surrounding area is beautiful and a favourite of our family. Great views of Bamburgh castle and the Farne Islands from the site, both well worth a visit. Seahouses is a bustling little village with a co-op for essentials, a bakery, and plenty of fish and chip shops!

The Craster Arms in Beadnell (approx 2 miles away) does great, reasonably priced bar meals, and are very family friendly.

Would I return? Definitely!

Would I recommend? Without a doubt! And I am a fair weather camper who misses her home comforts, but this site won me over. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Farrer 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in a wooden wigwam and had such a great time it actually inspired us to buy a tent. The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The toilets were spotless and actually caught them getting cleaned at 11.30pm. I want to keep this site a secret as it was such a pleasant place to stay. My daughter 2 1/2 had the best time and keeps asking to go back. The location was great. Shop opened as and when they felt like it but to me that was a good thing as it showed how relaxed the site was. Will definitely be returning except the next time we will be in our tent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scary1 14 reviews from this member

 We booked this site originally for the May bank holiday weekend, but we liked it so much we decided to stay longer. Some of the spacious pitches have stunning views of Bamburgh Castle. Toilet and shower blocks were good, cleaned daily, plenty of hot water in the showers.

Seahouses is not far, there are lots of shops, and takeaways on offer. Bamburgh is well worth a visit, as is Holy Island - 2 great days out! On the way to Holy Island its worth stopping off at Beal, The Barn at Beal is a visitor centre with a restaurant serving very good food, a small bird of prey centre is also there. We had a fantastic day,the staff are brilliant!

The Northumberland Coast is amazing and Springhill Farm is the ideal base to see it all, we will be going back there soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campanula 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, with good-sized, flat pitches, and good facilities. Nice showers and only had to queue if I'd picked an exceptionally busy time (and then not for long), clean toilets, and good washing up and laundry facilities.

There is also a family bathroom with a bath and disabled facilities, which my 3-year-old liked using (not into showers yet) - this was very wet underfoot, but I think they were having problems with it at the time.

My son loved the playground, and as we were able to pick a pitch when booking we chose one of the closest to it so he could go as often as he wanted.

The camping barn type accommodation by the toilet blocks was used for groups, and the group there over the weekend was quite noisy, although not all night to be fair. As this has use of a balcony they all stood out there in the evening and this meant the noise carried.

We had slight issues with the secure bike storage - first they said only self-catering people could use it, then changed their mind, but the key didn't work very well - I was worried that we wouldn't be able to get our bikes out again, and the reception (and shop) is only open very limited hours (although there is an emergency no. To contact the wardens outside these times).

If you like immaculate grass, then this is a good site for you - the wardens did go round mowing each pitch as soon as an occupant had left.

The sea is in view from the campsite, and also Bamburgh castle. Both are a short bike ride away, but not really walking distance if you have a toddler or can't walk far. He did walk to Seahouses once (this is along an old railway line), but we had to carry him back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on the last weekend of September (September weekend holiday in Glasgow).

This is a lovely site. Spacious pitches, perfect ground conditions, lovely view over surrounding countryside, Bamburgh Castle and the sea.

The toilets were clean and spacious. The water was piping hot and the showers were fantastic - adjustable temperature, spacious, plenty pegs. There's a wee kitchen area with sinks, microwave, freezer, washing machines, ironing board / iron, seating and info' about the area. The facilities are in a converted barn and come off a corridor and so a good sheltered arrangement for windy or wet weather. There is also a family bathroom / disabled with a shower, toilet and bath! Oh, also a free hairdryer in the ladies! Plenty soap, paper towels and toilet roll.

There's a good play area for the kids and a football goal. Plenty space for the kids to play.

It's a working farm and there are cows and sheep in the next field but we didn't hear a peep out of them the whole time! The quietest cows and sheep I've come across - or maybe just a quiet time of year! You can buy eggs.

I e-mailed to book the night before we left and received a reply straight away and we were allocated 'pitch 24'. A bit unsure about this system at first because we usually go to a free-pitch kind of site. However, they have this arrangement, I guess, so that they don't have to be on campsite duty all the time (working farm as I said). It turned out that we had the best (in our opinion) pitch on the site. In the corner overlooking the castle (floodlit at night) and the sea. So idyllic. We didn't see the owners until the next day but this trusting/easy-going attitude suited us. We paid 14p.N.For 2 adults and 2 kids.

The 'front' field that we were on also had hard-standing for caravans and motor-homes. The 'back' field was tenting (grass) only as far as we could see. Possibly more sheltered too as it's supposed to be a windy site at times. We were lucky with blue skies, slight to strong breeze, and the most amazing starry skies. There's no lighting on the site and being far from any big cities the clear night sky was incredible. The owners are growing more trees around each pitch and there is a lovely rockery in the middle of the site.

We walked to the beach - about 1+1/2 miles on the road (quicker if you cut through fields) - and the town - about 1mile and another mile right to the harbour. So, we didn't need the car. The site is surrounded by beautiful, almost traffic-free, hedgerow lanes, making it easy for families to wander around. Infact, a great stop-off site for cyclists, hikers and even those on horse-back! Many stables around and horse-riding on the beach.

Seahouses is very nice. There's a crazy-golf course and indoor play centre for kids. Lots of pubs and restaurants. Little interesting shops and lovely houses. Bamburgh is very pretty and the castle is impressive. Lots to do in the area and a good spot for a summer holiday, I imagine.

I give all my sites high scores (because they are carefully chosen!). This one gets a '9' because it's perfect apart from no fire-pits. (Though they do seem quite relaxed about the 'style' of BBQ that you can have!) A really lovely place. We hope to return some time. The owners have created a really great campsite in a perfect spot. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Headquarters7 4 reviews from this member

 This is an OK site - good clean toilets and good proximity to Seahouses - I just never felt a great connection with this place - maybe we were unlucky with deep sea mist but we have camped in similar and not felt such desolation.

It is an easy cycle into town of around 10 minutes and there are plenty of pubs to keep you warm.

Good clean site but we went home a day early. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greented 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed three nights over the first May bank holiday. The site is large and well organised. Bit level pitches with bins and water taps all over.

Showers clean and plentiful. I did comment at the time it was the best shower I had ever had in my life. So powerful and hot.

The site's a bit windy so don't forget your wind break but that's just because it is on the east coast and not far from the sea. The site does have trees and bushes at the edges to combat the wind.

The area is perfect. So beautiful and unspoilt and the nearby castle bamburgh, was magnificent.

We would definitely stay at this place again. 


Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3461 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement