Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 191 to 200                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T9nne 1 review from this member

 Booked to stay here 2nd May Bank holiday for a week then added a few extra days onto our stay. Had a really good time, fab pitches, really good facilities eg, showers, family bathroom, playground etc, friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 week over the Whitsun bank holiday. We were pitched on a hardstanding near to the toilet / shower / laundry block adjacent to relatives who were camping. On arrival the only problem we encountered was that the camping pitch occupied on the other side had hooked up to the wrong post so we informed reception who promptly left them a note, on their return the occupiers were clearly not happy so dirty looks for the next couple of days!

The facilities were satisfactory over the BH weekend as the site was busy so as usual toilets / showers getting used frequently not helped by people not cleaning up after themselves (mops etc were available). After the BH Monday things improved when the site became quieter.

The childrens play area was well used as it has a large grassed area next to it and the kids were happy kicking a ball about and flying kites. Dog walking is also available near to the site.

There are water taps, grey water and CDPs at both ends of the site but it would be a good idea to put a sign up deterring people from using the tap next to the CDP to fill up bottles etc as there is no sign to say it is not drinking water and that the hose on it is for flushing toilet cassettes out! (saw this happen a few times.

There is a good laundry/washing up room with iron and ironing board, microwave oven, washing machine £2 per load and tumble dryer 20 pence pieces needed.

Reception was open every day 8 till 10 then 4 till 6 with a small selection of essentials i.E. Local bread, bacon, free range eggs from the farm, milk, bbqs, toys / sweets for the kids.

The views from the site are great, either out to sea, over to Bamburgh castle or out over open countryside.

It is an easy, flat walk down quiet lanes into North Sunderland / Seahouses with a pub and post office within a 15-20 minute walk. Also easy walk down the lane to the sand dunes and beach. We did several walks starting from the site just using an OS map and linking up the local footpaths.

Overall it is a busy little site, popular with campers and families, quiet at night and we would use it again but probably for shorter stays. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kellis 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here the 1st May bank holiday weekend with our three year old daughter.

First the negatives:

We booked in advance and were told the pitch number allocated to us for our 3 night stay. However, when we arrived we found a caravan sited on the pitch that looked like it had been there for a few days already and was showing no signs of being moved (the occupants were out or we would have asked them). After a frustrating 1 1/2 hours of trying to get hold of the site owners / managers (not on site, no landline number and the mobile number went straight to voicemail) we were told to pitch up on a different pitch opposite several scruffy old fishing boats (obviously I was not happy with the view so asked for a different pitch which we got - much better)

Also, you would think staying on a site on a farm would be quiet and peaceful, not here! At 1am we (and most of the rest of the site) were woken by the tractor / JCB being driven around and around the field next to the camping field, and being revved loudly for a substantial length of time (for no apparent reason). Needless to say, the next morning there were a lot of angry, negative comments from the sleepy campers and caravaners I spoke to.

The positives:

The facilities here have been considerately thought out, with a family bathroom and bath, making it ideal for families with small children. However, I don't think that the five showers in total (male, female & family) would be enough if the site was at full capacity, but that's just my opinion as I don't like to queue for too long.

A nice little play area for the children has been provided too.

Also, the position of this site makes it ideal for visiting the stunning beaches nearby. Only 1 mile to seahouses (easy walk or cycle on a flat cycle track) and 3 miles to Bamburgh.

For our next visit up to Bamburgh / Seahouses we will be looking elsewhere to stay due to our bad experiences, however, the location of this site means we probably will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazza100 3 reviews from this member

 Had 5 nights here in great weather

Didn't feel exposed as not too windy but can imagine it could be a bit breezy with an easterly wind!

Facilities good with a nice family bathroom & clean toilets.

Shop only open briefly on a morning & didn't sell a lot.

Reasonable childrens play area for my under 4yo.

Seahouses walkable, although Sunday night when its raining you did wish they had a few taxis !

Great views over to Farnes & Bamburgh - watched boats crossing during the day - if you fancy it check where they go as some trips you have to pay extra to go on certain islands & they are not very safe for children & babies.

Had no complaints about the site & will definitely go again next year 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 Spent a week up on this campsite over August Bank Holiday. We were in a group of three large tents in the overspill field. There was enough room around and the campsite didn't get too full. A relatively new looking campsite with good facilities already mentioned. The wind did get up and it seemed to be when the tide turns. Views are fantastic especially at night as the sun sets and Bamburgh Castle is lit up. This campsite is ideally located for travelling around and Seahouses has the best to offer in shops and pubs. A walk into Seahouses takes 25 mins, you go out of the campsite by the cottages turn right and walk down the lane until the junction. Cross the road and go through the gate and keep walking down the path. It brings you out in the main car park. The Ship Inn has lovely views across the harbour.
We visited Bamburgh by walking along the beach and back. The Castle Hotel has a superb beer garden and is child friendly and the food is excellent value. Most of the pubs around do not allow dogs inside.
Farne Island trip to see the Seals was good we went with Billy Schiels boat excursions. They will take dogs on the boats but they can't go onto the Islands. A lovely area with friendly people we will go back. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fodenbiking 1 review from this member

 Stayed at campsite for 4 days. Pleasant stay, campsite very exposed to the elements. If you stay here and don't need elecrical hookup you might want to stay in the overspill area, its away from the childrens play area and quieter.
Facilities ok although a little overcrowded at peak times, early showers a must. Well positioned for trips to beach bamburagh, seahouses. I would use site again, very basic site but practical. One downfall. I tried ringing the site on their landline on several seperate times and never got through once.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John67 4 reviews from this member

 A new site with great views including the Farne Islands.
 
Good points:
 
Views, a family wash room including a bath for young children, main site area well spaced, free to use microwave and open access freezer for cool blocks.
 
 
Downsides: 
 
The shop was very basic and only opened briefly each day - Times were not posted to show opening hours and staff appeared to be rarely on site. 
 
Overflow tent field on the bank holiday week end was very busy and led to facilities struggling to cope - Rubbish bins, toilets, hot water etc. Facilities would have been OK if main site area had been the limit and extra pitches had not been added without extra amenities.
 
The site was also very windy and exposed, well pitched quality tents were OK, but cheaper options struggled.
 
We paid £16 per night for a family tent with no electricity - We thought that this was a bit steep, but were happy to pay it when we booked - From the sites website it seems that they intend charging £20 per night next year!
 
We will not be returning - Which is a shame as the site has lots of potential.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhona.mac@tiscali.c 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay here for 2 nights in August. Great views if you are in some of the pitches eg no 19.
 
Fun wooden play area for children with plenty of space to run around.
 
Toilet blocks ok, plenty of hot water, plus point was family bathroom.
 
Kitchen area had a microwave and freezer for campers to use.
 
Was difficult to book as it appears the office is only manned 9-10.30 and no answer machine. When you arrive there is a mobile phone number posted to check availability.
 
Bamburgh only 2 miles,easy cycle to the pub through quiet country lane. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyviolet 1 review from this member

 We stayed two nights here on a non-powered pitch in the overspill area. The site felt spacious and we had plenty of room around us. The shower block was clean and didn't seem particularly busy, although the site wasn't full. The showers had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The ladies and gents both have two toilets and two showers. There is a shop in the reception area (open when reception is open) which sells basics including milk and bread, and also seemed to have a reasonable range of other stuff. There was a small children's play area with wooden swings and a climbing frame / slide. There were several families on the site and the children seemed to have enough space to run around and play without disturbing others.
 
We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to go back. The site is relatively exposed but our tent coped with the conditions (I'd recommend pitching your tent "properly" though), it's a great place for kite flying, and the views of the coast and Bambrough castle are lovely. There seem to be lots of new trees planted which will provide more shelter in the future.  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Struggler 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the B/Hol at end of May. As previous review says nice and level with a good layout,the views are good over to the beach and castle.
The owners are still working on the play area,but children were using this.
The toilet and showers were in a large barn and were clean and spacious plenty of lovely hot water,and in the ladies there was also free use of a hair dryer. The washing up and laundry facilities were good and there was also use of microwave and freezer.
Unfortunately while there the weather was very wet and windy and you do feel exposed.  There is plenty to do in the area with both the Farne and Holy island near by, also Anwick is a lovely town with a castle and beautiful gardens, not forgetting Barter bookshop for a browse and coffee with cookie! 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 191 to 200      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4580 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements