Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Reviewer: SarahW 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We have visted this camp site before and were very impressed with the facilities. In fact our main reason for returning was because one of our "more cautious" camping friends wanted to join us and we knew that we could guarentee the cleanliness of this site.

The location is also excellent - being well situated for such a variety of entertainment.

However, we were disappointed to discover that we had to pay for three nights stay even though we only wanted to stay for Saturday and Sunday night. We asked how late we could arrive on the Friday and were told that the gates shut at 8pm. This made it impossible for us to consider this (as we were all at work on Friday and had to travel to the area). Consequently we paid 50 per couple for a two night stay. (Has anyone paid more than this for a tent, two people and a car??)

This campsite is well worth a visit however, I suggest that you avoid bank holidays (as the cleaning of the facilities was insufficient) and windy days - the rally field offers little shelter and many tents were trashed (literally) by the strong winds. 


Reviewer: Mrs Betty M 1 review from this member

 May 2005
Lovely site though not much shelter for campers if it's windy (which it was!) Toilet blocks clean and modern, but get very busy (queues out of the door most mornings!), as does the washing up room, which is ridiculously small for such a large campsite.

Good play area for the kids, small shop and walking distance to nice village (shops, fish and chips and 2 pubs!)and beach. Would return as ideally placed for Scarborough and Filey. 


Reviewer: Sadie 2 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just visited this site and have to agree with the previous post the pitches are quite close together.
We were shown to our pitch by one of the wardens who was very informative about the site and surrounding area. There is a large dog walk area but only half was mown grass the rest was left long(boggy)the warden said you do not have to pick up after your dog on the field which I was very surprised at(I still picked it up anyway)as I would not like to trail someone else's dog poo into my van. Toilets were clean. Shop sold only basic items. 


Reviewer: Kirstymememe 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
I have to say that Cayton is a lovely place to stay! I am 15 and loved every second of the two weeks that we were there! We were greated by some wardens and also helped off by the wardens. Every night me and my dad and my little sister (6 yrs old) would go out side of our van and had loads of fun with the other kids! We had a laugh - we didnt want to leave. So we booked again to go back in 1 week. So we came home and went back within that week! Thats how fun it was - thing is though it rained a LOT.

The toilets were spotless both times. The park was kept nice at all times, and as far as security goes there are wardens going around at all times of the day! I would trust them to look after our van with it unlocked! Loved the holiday there and would definatly go back 


Reviewer: Martin.eneale 37 reviews from this member

 October 2004
Just got back from a short break. It's just off the main road from Cayton village, but there is very little traffic noise.

The site was very quiet, but we thought the caravans were a little too close together. Our "area" had 5 pitches, all of which were in use, we thought that it would have been better limited to 4. Wouldn't like to see what it's like when it's packed.

The staff were very friendly, they showed us to our pitch and even helped to push the 'van into position.

There appeared to be 3 toilet blocks, being close to the end of the season only one of which was open. The gents only had 1 shower cubicle, which was a bit on the small side and it was also a bit dark, but other than that it was always spotlesly clean. Given the muddy conditions that show's how much pride and effort the staff put in.

Security was a bit of a concern, there is a ditch that appears to run around the whole of the site, but no security barrier as such. The gates are closed at night and opended again at 8am. The toilet blocks require a security code to gain access, we've not been caravaning for long so we were impressed with that idea. The staff were very quick to spot a new car in the car park and made enquiries to find the ownwer, so top marks for that.

The play area was very well set out, and is designed for 5 yrs+, which didn't stop our 3 yr old trying to drag us up there at each and every opportunity.

The local village is only a very short walk away. Couldn't sample the food in the nearest pub as they were just having a change of owners, but it looked very nice and served a decent pint. Chippy was ok, but take note of the opening hours! There's also a couple of shops within easy walking distance.

Enjoyed our stay and will visit again. I think we'd give it 8/10 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Helen237 11 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This site was not what I expected at all. The facilities were great - and there was plenty of 'em too. But the big camping field was a disappointment - a big slope which meant a lot of people squeezed on the flat - it was also like a bog mainly due to the amount and speed of the cars driving up and down. And yes I think people do drive to the toilets - soooo lazy !
Due to the excessive amount of rain I rang and asked about the quality of the camping field to be told it was fine - it wasn't !
Oh and the chippy in Cayton was lovely - but order your fish at the door when you enter, you get told off by the owner if you don't !! 


Reviewer: markpearson 1 review from this member

 July 2004
This was a lovely site, nice little shop, showers and toilets were excellent. The only problem that we did have was that caravans were cramped in too close to each other and on the day of leaving we had great difficulty in removing the caravan. We had to turn it by hand just to hook it up 


Reviewer: carloso 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
well this trip was the first in a long time (10yrs) with a caravan, But what a nice place,
we where greated with a warm welcome, Showed to the pitch by wardens (whats that all about then it use to be over there ! pointing to a field indiscrimantly lol) and drove striaght onto the pitch no bother what so ever Toilets / shower blocks where spotless, i didnt use the pub but understand the food was very nice

I would certainly have no problem with revisiting again at some point (i say this after been off the scene for 10yrs i have a lot of places to go yet lol)

EXCELLENT i hope all the others i visit are as good as this one

Cheap to 23quids for 2 nights !! okok i know theres cheaper out there but i dont mind paying a bit for good clean bits and pieces !!

well pleased

carl and Wendy 


Reviewer: NSUTHERLAND 9 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Second visit, very impressive site, friendly staff, held pitches for 3 separate tents arriving at different times. Good local pub and chip shop.
Will return.  


Reviewer: The McGreevys 3 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Lovely site, well-kept, loos and showers clean and well maintained. Great play area and dog walk. The only thing we weren't keen on was the way the vans and tents were pitched very close to each other - although it was a very busy weekend when we were there. Would go again, but out of season! 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement