Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 246 Reviews
                9/10 from 246 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  246 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dudkat72 1 review from this member

Just come back from a 1 weeks stay at Gwithian Farm and its quite simply the best campsite we have stayed on in 10 years. We have 2 young children and found the family bathroom and shower room excellent. All of the facilities were clean all of the time and you can tell the owners take alot of pride in the site.

Pub across the road was also very good but like everyone else has said you need to book in advance. Lidl just down the road came in very useful for the drinks and tin food etc. The chip shop came onto site on Sunday and the pizza guy came on Wednesday but you need to get to the front of the the pizza cue otherwise you'll have a long wait.

The owners were both very helpful and even opened up the shop when I forgot to get milk the night before, its all of the above and the little touches that make this site the best we've ever stayed on and will make us want to book again, ideal site for families and couples alike.

One very small criticism was the amount of pushbikes on site , we were there peak season and there were loads and it makes going to the toilet in the evening a bit hazardous due to none of them had lights on

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michael.dent1 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Cornwall.The owners are friendly and helpful,the pitches are a good size. The toilets, free showers, family showers, laundry room are all located in a new building and are as good as any campsite facilities I have used. There is a small shop on site where you can buy milk, bread, pop etc and the campsite also provide free freezers where you can freeze your ice blocks. Over the road there is a small pub but you can only take kids in if you are having a meal so you have to sit over the road in the beer garden. There is a nice beach which is a short walk away or there's plenty of others if you travel by car (try Carbis Bay about 7 miles away). Over all its a good clean campsite to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magicatty 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip, and the site was extremely well cared for, The owners Claire and Mike were very busy, in fact, I can't remember them ever standing still for even a second.

Their induction at the start of the holiday was clear and we were given a map, with details of a walk down to Gwithian beach, which came in very handy. Even though the site became very busy, it wasn't overwhelming.

The facilities were clean and well kept, and the noise levels after eleven at night were tolerable.

The site is slightly sloped, there are not many even pitches, which if your in a caravan will not matter, however being in a tent made it slightly uncomfortable for sleeping, there is a bottom field near the facilities that is level, so ask for these pitches before you book, and you will love this site.

The only downside I had was the amount of dogs on the site, which even though, Mike and Claire strictly state they must be tethered at all times, and not exercised on the site, it was basically ignored and I had to clean up twice right outside our tent, from dogs being let out on a morning from irresponsible owners. Not nice for my children.

The beach is only a ten minute walk away and the walk is very pleasant, The sand is lovely and clean the view of Godrevy Island just lovely, all in all, we really enjoyed it and would come again, but definitely in a caravan the next time.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hornie dawnie 2 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic if you want clubs and entertainment don't bother with this site if you want a clean and well run site with friendly owners that's close to the beach and got great walks nearby then this is the site for you. We went on the first two weeks of the summer hols when it was busy and still it wasn't overcrowded we are definitely going back next year

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire83 1 review from this member

This was the first time I had ever been camping and I have to admit I was a bit nervous, I'm so glad that we picked this place, it was so beautiful. Me and my boyfriend had a fantastic time, the site was really well planned out and the facilities were all spotless. Would defiantly recommend this place for all ages, and families. The walk to the beach was ok, one of the fields was a bit over grown so wasn't good that I was wearins shorts and filp flops, would recommend jeans and trainers! just so you don't get stung or scratched to bits!

The cream teas were out of this world, and reasonabley priced, and St Ives is only a few minutes drive and has a large number of places to eat, although there is a Lidl down the road that sells cheap camping food! Already can't wait to go back there!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alyn2006 3 reviews from this member

We visited this wonderful site just for two nights in July when visiting the area for a wedding. This was my family's second venture into the world of camping, following a disastrous weekend at a poor site in the Lake District in May. What we desperately needed to restore our belief that camping IS a good idea, was a weekend of good weather and a really good camp site.

I am delighted to say that Gwythian Farm is everything that a camp site should be! It's very well laid out with generous pitches and despite being very busy, it never felt crowded. We were a little worried after our battering in the Lakes in May, that this site may be susceptible to coastal winds, but the slope of the site naturally provides sufficient shelter for this not to be a concern. After 10.30pm everyone observed the 'no noise' rule - you could've heard a pin drop!

The new shower block is superb with an abundance of toilets, sinks for washing up and even a family shower room. If this could be bettered, I'd like to see it!

Locally, a terrific beach is a short walk away and there are several cafe's along the coastal walk with one in particular doing a cracking 'english' breakfast!

We enjoyed our two days at Gwythian Farm so much it convinced us to have a fortnights holiday there next year! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Russsylv 14 reviews from this member

Having stayed at Gwithian Farm before Mike and Clare took over, we are really impressed with the new look - it's fantastic. We try to stay at this site at least once a year and are sure of a warm welcome, Mike and Clare are really friendly. The shop is well stocked with essentials and the Red River Inn serves a good meal. A definite for anyone wanting a nice, friendly site, within walking distance of Hayle beach. Great place.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rufustrudy 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site in mid june, the weather was great and the site is brill, great toilet block and the showers are super, the site is really well kept and a pleasure to stay at.

The owners clair and mike were also great when we needed info of the nearest hospital.!

There are loads of rabbits and the pub across the road served good food - book a table as the wait can be long!

We would recommend this site to anyone, young or old!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Spent middle two weeks in June on this absolutely fabulous site. Facilities are immaculate (built 2005) and cleaned regularly. The owners were very helpful and cheerful (which is rare in my experience). The location is ideal for the beach nearby (I have a three year old and found access through site fields best with a pram/buggy) and also exploring the rest of Cornwall. The wildlife was plentiful both on and off site. I found the service of loan ice packs from the site whilst mine were freezing most helpful as we experienced very hot weather and would have struggled getting ours frozen before the next lot had melted again without buying even more packs. The owners had arranged use of the three freezers in a most efficient and helpful way by having two of the freezers for site users, organised by surname and the third was full of site packs. The shop was open in the morning and again late afternoon but the owners were available and willing to open up if something from the shop was required urgently (something I hope people will not flaunt in order to keep them willing!). Would definitely return and have told just about everyone I know to give them a visit. I won't say anymore, go and see for yourself but remember to book if you want to eat at the pub across the road.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Admiral 34 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely week at Gwithian Farm. Glorious site, facilities excellent, owners very helpful - couldn't have asked for more really. No sign of the curry or pizza van though shame that - we were looking forward to them. Really nice meal at the Red River Inn - advisable to book. Plenty to do in the area and the Co-op in Hayle (approx 2 miles away) is ideal for shopping. We were there from Sunday to Sunday and the site was really quiet in the week - will definitely return, probably at this time of year though as I think the site may be a little too busy for us in the main season - but that's by no means a criticism I just prefer quieter (smaller) sites. Would recommend this site with absolutely no reservations!

Previous     246 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth £457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1719