Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul412 4 reviews from this member

Just back from Sherwood, we were pitched by the play area. Good site, this was our second visit in a month. Great for a bit of peace and quiet. Be aware that mobile phone reception is very poor (another advantage). The campshop is well worth a visit. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carvers 1 review from this member

We stayed over the Easter weekend, the site was very busy but very well kept, quiet and clean. The shop sells lots of camping equipment at good prices and milk and tinned food is also available. Sherwood Forest Farm Park is a 10 minute walk away and you can get half price tickets from the shop. Their website says a well known Sunday market is a short walk away, dont think that this is Thoresby like we did it is a local car boot but Thorseby isnt far by car.
If you want a cheap meal out definitely try Ma Hubbards in Edwinstowe massive meals. I would recommend this site it is a good base to explore Nottinghamshire.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyn hathaway 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from this caravan park having stayed an extra 4 days to the week we had already booked.Lovely site quiet.Peaceful and plenty of walks around the site and in the forests.Staff very friendly and helpful. Shop with plenty of caravanning equipment at very reasonable prices and well eqiupped.Toilet and shower area very nice and clean.Our pitch was beside the lake(willow 43)could not have had better. Will definatley be coming back. Our 2 dogs also loved it.Well done sherwood on your lovely site.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ThePrices 1 review from this member

Just got back from a 5 day stay at this site and we were so impressed, we've booked to go back in April. We had a lovely spacious pitch near to one of 2 play areas and so it was lovely to be able to relax, whilst watching the children safely.

We picked what must have been the coldest week of the year, but it was so nice to be warm and snug in our van and look out at the picturesque frosty site, with it's peacocks, ducks and pheasants. The only problem we had was the water taps freezing (the fault of the weather - not the site!), however, the staff were very helpful and successfully got the water running again for us each day.

The shop is very well stocked and the camping accessories plentiful and very well priced. The shower block is large and spacious and very clean.

We had some lovely walks around the site on the dog walk and marvelled at how big the site is and how lovely it is kept. Some pitches even have their own little garden areas! The area itself is lovely and has so much to do. We can definitely recommend visiting the local country parks for some lovely walks. All in all Brilliant!

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Us + the kids! 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights during Half-term. Loved the site, very peaceful surrounded by autumn trees. Very cold and frosty at night, but we were cosy in our awning!

We were on Riverside pitch no 9. Gravel pitch, divided by waist high bushes. Very good sized pitch.

We were opposite a small playground which entertained our 4 kids. They seem to site families with kids together, which is great, our lot always had someone to play with!

The loos and showers were clean and warm, I even braved a shower at 8am on a frosty morning and never found them chilly. The staff are really nice and friendly. The shop sells basics and caravan stuff. If nobody is coming on to your pitch on your departure day, you can stay till 4pm and it costs a fiver, which is what we did. Otherwise you have to leave by 11am.

Sherwood Pines forest is just up the road, fab play areas for the kids and great for pine-cone collecting! We have loads of them waiting for glittering at Xmas!

My only concern about the site. There are obviously lots of little roads running around the site and signs EVERYWHERE to keep to 5mph for the kids floating around and it states on your booking in form about minimum speed, and as we were opp. The play area there were always kids darting between awnings and vans, eager to get to their friends. But quite a few people used the roads as a race track and NEVER slowed down. This worried us considerably and I did breathe a small sigh of relief when we left (just because on the road)You just have to be vigilant and keep telling them to stop and look both ways as you would on a normal road. Very hard for a giddy 6 year old to grasp! But.Other than that, brill site and great holiday and even better its only an hour from home!

P.S. Take LOTS of bread. There are loads of hungry ducks and swans that want feeding. Being on a waterside pitch, every morning we had dozens of ducks sat patiently outside our awning waiting for their breakfast! The kids loved feeding them and they are really tame.(the ducks, NOT the kids LOL)

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chtd 12 reviews from this member

I found this site to be OK, but not that great, compared to other sites on our holiday. We had a pitch opposite one of the toilet blocks which meant that we had its bright lights shining on our tent all night and quite a lot of noise with people visiting the toilets through the night. Although we were on designated pitches, we were in quite a narrow part of the site so we seemed pretty close to all our neighbours. If you knew the site, I guess you could request some of the better pitches near the lake. The facilities are quite dated, and could have been cleaned more often when the site was so busy. However, there are plenty of toilet/shower blocks so there never seemed to be any queues. The playground is not suitable for a toddler, but would keep an older child entertained for a little while.

A nice touch is the option to order newspapers from reception for the next morning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kilner5 1 review from this member

We found the site to be very friendly and the children loved the parks on-site. The toilet / shower blocks were clean and well looked after, it has a good shop on-site where you can buy all your usual camping bits plus some groceries etc. The local town was very pleasant with a really good chip shop. We also visited a nearby 'Petting zoo' that is ideal for little children. We had a great time here and it was because of that that we have been camping ever since. We stayed for 6 days and even though our tent let us down it didn't spoil the holiday, the only negative thing I can think of is that the pitches seemed very squashed to each other / a bit small, apart from that it gets a thumbs up from us.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy.thomas 1 review from this member

What a lovely site. Only live 25 miles away and wanted to visit Sherwood Forest, Sherwood Forest Farm (which is great and only around the corner), Rufford country Park etc. So decided to camp. There are lots of things to do including South Forest Leisure Centre. Ma Hubbards and Robin Hood pub/restaurants are about 10 minute drive away and very reasonable.

The site is lovely and picturesque. 2 small play areas for the children. Had lovely walks around the site, looking at the ducks, peacocks and horses. The shower blocks and toilets were always clean, spacious shower cubicles although the water was too hot for my children to use. As mentioned in previous review you need to take a torch as the lights were not working and it is very dark.The main problem I did have was that they do charge 5 for visitors (if they come in the car), even if it is only for a couple of hours. This is not mentioned, although on the info it does say "5 per night" there is a difference someone staying over night to just a couple of hours.

The ladies, however, in reception and the cleaner were lovely and always happy to help.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charlene Roe 3 reviews from this member

Great site. The surroundings were lovely. The pitches were well marked out and they were relatively private with bushes as screens. The shop was very well stocked and sold everything from butter to caravan accessories. The toilets were spotless.
There was a great children's play area, which my son loved (1year old). The farm next door is a must for anyone with kids. There is also a large Tesco's within 10minutes. Great site will return again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adele24 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights and thought it was absolutely fantastic!
The staff are lovely.Very friendly and helpful. The pitches are very spacious and we were right by the river. Beautiful scenery all around and some nice walks, with lots of nature about.
Clean toilet blocks and free hot showers, 2 play areas for the kids and on site shop. Only thing missing is a pub, but sitting on a deckchair by the river with a glass of cold wine is nice enough :-)

Highly recommended.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0980