Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bridge8 1 review from this member

 Laneside what a great place to go, excellent clean facilities, loo's, showers, chemical disposal, pot wash. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, we were told to 'stay as long as we liked' on our leaving day, the grounds and pitches are spotless, even and plenty big enough. We had no problems what-so ever with the traffic noise.
The scenery and wildlife are A1 with fantastic walks. Hope, although not very big had everything you may need, post office,spar,bakery and pubs!
We are a family of four with children ages 15 and 10 and would definitely recommend Laneside to all, we really enjoyed it and are going to go back again, but for longer next time,  big big thumbs up from us! 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noodlejelly 5 reviews from this member

 Had a very enjoyable two nights here on what was my first solo camping trip. Staff were very helpful and showed me a lovely shelf next to the river away from the main tent pitches that I could pitch my tent on.

I had no problems with car noise but I was a long way from the road. Some of the other tent pitches looked to be more like mud ponds than grass, but that's probably to be expected after a summer of use. But all the pitches I saw seemed flat and spacious enough, and the price was reasonable considering how good the shower and sink facilities were (first campsite I've been to where there are hairdryers in the shower room).

Hope and Castleton are both within walking distance, and are interesting villages, I had a nice afternoon at the castle in Castleton, but mostly I was there for the walking, which was superb in every direction I walked, and Laneside was a great base. 


Date of Visit: May 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Airforce1 2 reviews from this member

 A very good campsite with very good facilities. Handy for climbers and walkers. No shop on site but it isn't needed as Hope village is only a very short walk and there is everything you would need. I would recommend pre-booking as it can be busy. Their are pubs nearby which serve good food.

The staff are very helpful and will allow quite a lot of latitude on when you actually leave the site.

There is some road noise but it never kept me awake and I've stayed there several times, likewise for the trains running nearby. Be aware though that there is a very bright light that is switched on during the night in the middle of the camp site and this has on occasion not aided going to sleep if I've been pitched in the wrong place or facing the wrong direction. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topbrewer 3 reviews from this member

 This site has it all, apart from a mini-bar. But don't worry there are three pubs nearby! The facilities on this site are great, plenty of hot water, there could be more showers though gets pretty busy at peak times. What this site lacks you can find in the village close by. Hard or soft pitches are there if you can request a pitch away from the main road because of the early morning traffic you might be better off, overall this site is good with nice views of all the hills. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonyps 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a lovely weekend at this site.
 
Positives are: No Club house (i.e. Its quiet), The staff were very helpful and friendly, Enough space for the caravan, an awning and the car on one pitch side by side without feeling too cramped. Very clean toilet and shower area. Attracted a friendly bunch of campers around us. Lovely walks along the river which runs beside the camp site. Electic hookups available for all.
 
Negatives are: There is road noise as on a main road but only really affects those caravans that back onto the road.  I only heard nearby trains up till early evening so no problem with being kept awake.
 
Overall, this is a popular site I would return to again and I would certainly recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bundys 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a four night stay over the bank holiday weekend, this site although well maintained and clean just wasn't for us.  The site was full and felt rather crammed, the pitch sizes are not the most generous that we have come across with little space between units.  We have a small  campervan with awning, when returning from a day out we only just had enough space to park our camper back against our awning as the caravan next to us needed the space for their car, leaving approx 3 feet between their car & our camper. 
The site was quite muddy due to the awful weather, our awning was splattered with mud each time a car passed us and I think they must have a problem with people getting stuck, but the owners do offer a free towing service.  
The facilities are well attended and clean. The showers are separate from the toilet block and basins, which seemed a bit strange. Showers are of a good size but only 4 cubicles so very busy at peak times.  The toilet and basin area is a bit cramped and to be honest a bit smelly at times as no open windows or visible vents!. The washing up area again is very clean and under cover but the sink level is a bit low so get the kid's to do the washing up if you don't want to get back ache!. 
For us the biggest down side of this camp was the fact it is situated on the main road, which was very noisy, the area however is beautiful and excellent for walkers and being close to hope village is a bonus.  The biggest down side for our kid's was the lack of play space around the pitch and no play area, only a rope swing hung from a tree over the river and a green area with football goals  (which you had to cross the river to get to).  The owners state river as being safe, but I wouldn't let my kid's (age 9 & 7) there unattended as they could not be seen from our pitch and I do not consider water safe regardless of the depth. 
To be honest the site was adequate for us as we spent most of our time away from camp only returning late in the day, I wouldn't recommend it for more than a few days stay.  If they increased the pitch sizes by reducing the number of units they try to squeeze in, this would make for a better site, but as for the traffic noise - take earplugs if your a light sleeper! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freebirdy 4 reviews from this member

 First venture out as campers and the experience was made all the more easy because of the friendly service at the site. Shown to our pitch, given map of site and village,showing location of all services. The site was clean, well kept and secure, CCTV cameras and barriers at entrance and exit. 
Police car drove through site in wee small hours most nights (don't think looking for hooligans as not any to be found!) One way system around site, which was good in my estimation, no problems that way with coming nose to nose with another car on narrow site road! Large well kept playing field for the kids with easy access over stepping stones across river or quick walk over bridge. Toilets, showers all immaculate, kept clean at all times.
Must agree with other people that the wash up sinks were a bit low, OK if you are five foot nothing but hey, not really a big problem. Site situated in beautiful countryside, easy distance to all the caverns. The bluejon cavern is the least advertised and tucked away on hillside, do look for it, Castleton is the only place in the world where this semi precious stone is found, go off the beaten track and find this little gem of a cavern, it costs a damn sight less to get in compared to the other larger more touristy caverns too!  (and no queues!)  The trip into this cavern needs some degree of fitness as there are just under 200 steps to climb down,fairly easy down but not so good on the way back up, narrow, dark and incredably muddy and slippy, don't even attmept it in flip flops and don't wear your best clothes, espcially if they are dry clean only. Try to  make the effort to climb Mam Tor, the big hill just outside Castleton! The views of Hope Valley are worth the effort.  But be warned, stick to well used tracks if going walking in the Dales, seeing my 13 yr old daughter fall face first in mud was funny for everyone else but she didn't find it amusing at all! If you are visiting at the end May (May bank hol weekend) make sure you attend the Castleton Garland Festival. Only place in the country where this takes place. We had the best day of our hols taking part in the festival,  buy and wear your oak leaves, you WILL be nettle birched if you don't! You get to stop off at every pub in the village, dance your way through the day, be enthralled by the May Day Dancing Girls and follow the silver band playing the floral dance as they parade with the 'King' of May followed by his escort riding side saddle on massive shire horses. The King wears the flower garland, it completely covers him to the knees (hope he does not suffer from hay fever) The day is brought to a close with May pole dancing, the garland hoisted on top of the church and a very moving ceremony to remember those lost in war from the Village.
We were out from 10 am and got back to our tent at 10pm! Do make an effort to join in, it's worth it and you will be humming the floral dance for days! Only down side to our first experience of camping was the noise from the road which runs parallel to the site, lorries from the cement works couple of miles away start driving past from about 5am.
Train track runs close by too, and quite a few times boy racers still hammering down the road at 11pm. Other lovely folks thought it a good idea to drive past presumably on way to work in morns about 7am and 'lean' on the horn of their car as they went past! The camp site is clearly visible from the road so easy target for horn honkers! That was the only downside to our stay, we would go back again and have recommended this site to others already. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ctayts 1 review from this member

 Excellent! Friendly welcome. We had a decent size pitch. We weren't right next to the road but didn't hear it from where we were. Facilities were excellent and most importantly clean and pleasant to use. We had to queue for showers one morning but not to long, just had to be patient. Lovely setting with the river running around it.
 
Hope itself - Pubs easily accessible - for food the Cheshire Cheese Inn is top notch, is a slight walk but worth it. The old hall is good for drinking and has a pool table.
 
The Spar is well stocked and the Deli is excellent for fresh sandwiches, pies,pasties, salads and cheese etc.

There are some lovely walks around hope, can be some steep walking but also some more easier ones. Scenery lovely (minus the quarry!)
 
Castleton is up the road where there are more pubs, and shops. The caverns are well worth a visit to.
 
Places such as Chatsworth House are also only a 15 minute drive away.
 
Would definitely stay at Laneside again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris + Di 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Laneside over the hottest weekend of the year so far! Entrance is a bit tricky to find as it's buried in the bushes and has a one way system, so you have to exit at another place. We arrived on Friday and the site was already pretty full. By Saturday it was full to bursting! We had hook up, but we were so tightly packed in that next doors tent was at most 3 feet from ours! Noise from fellow campers was OK, but the noise from the road and the passing trains was BAD! The heat (no ones fault) and the road noise, we not conducive to good nights sleep! The facilities were OK, though the washing up sink at the top end is only suitable for children to wash up. Local pubs in Hope were OK and we had a decentish meal at the big one (can't remember the name now), which had a good choice of menu and wasn't your microwaved rubbish! Local Spar shop sells most things and there's a decent deli in Hope. Castleton is a fairish walk away, but worth the effort as there are about 8 pubs there (£3 for 2 adults back on the bus) 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nuttynurse28 1 review from this member

 We spent four days on the site from mid week just till the sat morning. During the week it was lovely and quiet but it did fill up at the weekend,even so the families all had well behaved children. The showers and loos do become very busy at peak times (ie morning shower about 9ish). The site was clean and we had plenty of space, I think for us the only downside was the sound from the road which has alot of traffic even early morning, if you want quiet this may not be the place for you.  


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement