Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allmad 3 reviews from this member

We've just got back from a short break at Greenhills. The facilities were fine, although as ever, more showers required. The site shop didn't always open at the advertised hours, much to the annoyance of my son and sweetie money burning a hole! However the playground more than made up for that. The staff were very friendly and the site pub very welcome as the evenings were chilly. We didn't walk to Bakewell as this was a not to pleasant route along the A6 which rattles directly past the site. However there is lovely walking to be had. The Monsal Trail, but even better, the Baslow and Cubar edges are just a few miles away and proved very exciting for our 8yr old.
Be warned the site is on a slope and fairly exposed, when the wind blows you'll know it.
All in all a good time had by all and a return visit most likely.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kappa43 2 reviews from this member

Very family friendly site.
Great views, adequately sized pitches, polite staff.
 
Plenty of sinks for the dishes- (i wonder if dishwashers will ever get introduced onto sites (electric or human), plenty of toilets including an additional overflow portacabin toilet block. Showers were warm too which is a bonus.
 
Good shop but need to order newspapers in advance.
 
The first speedhump as you hit the site is rather fierce, luckily we got the ladder out and got over it.
 
Dog walking area adjacent to route into the park, don't mind paying for the dogs but it would be nice if we were given poo bags or something- it might remind the odd forgetful person to pick their bits up.
 
Will return again and soon. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mini 4 reviews from this member

We arrived at Greenhills on the 22nd of July, a day later than planned as we were unable to travel up the M5 because of the flooding. Greenhills was brilliant, they had reserved a pitch for us and didn't charge us for the night we missed even thou we were booked in.
This is quite a large site, divided into areas. We were in the field at the top of the slope that is fairly flat. Plenty of water and hook up points around the field. There was even some brick on each pitch for BBq's.
The showers were alright but only one hook to hang up your clothes while washing. Also no private cubicles to have a wash if you don't want to shower.
I don't know about the wash up as OH is the underwater ceramics technician in our family.
Well stocked shop but not open all the time. There is also a bar and cafe on site but we did not use these. There was some live entertainment on the Saturday night.
A walk of about 20-30 minutes into Bakewell and slighly less into Ashford. Lots of nice places to eat in Bakewell including the Old Pudding shop. You must try a Bakewell pudding with cream.
Some very good walking in this area. The walk from Ashford up to Monsal head and back through the valley is well worth it.
Plenty to do in this area both outdoors and in.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dannyparkin 3 reviews from this member

This is our families favourite campsite, we visit every year at least twice. The site has a nice pub/restaurant and a very well equipped shop . There is lots for the children to do, a nice park and a games field with football nets up. Bakewell village is in walking distance with a few pubs and shops and a large park with a river running through packed with ducks and trout. A very family friendly campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ee7mjc 4 reviews from this member

We found the site on this website (as we do with most of the sites we stay at) and read the reviews, and all I can say is. They were all true!
 
This is a lovely site, the facilities are great and the staff are friendly.
 
When we stopped it was quite busy (it was bakewell show) but we had a nice pitch that was more than big enough for our (huge) tent.  There was no free EHU near our tent so the owner swapped a few around to find us a spot (he also said he had an extension if we needed it).
 
The showers are nice (though the cubicles are a little small for myself and my 18 month old son) and clean, the shop is well stocked (but doesn't take cards) and the pub/bar looked good (although we didn't frequent it).
 
The site was quiet on an evening, and the 11pm curfew was adhered to.  Even the large group next to us kept the noise down.
 
The site attracts a lot of families and the atmosphere is really nice.  We will be going back there again!  Soon!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Greenhills on a hardstanding pitch.
 
When we arrived a car club had taken up most of the field we were pitched on. They also had a marquee set up in the middle of the field and that evening we had to listen to them all learning to line dance.  I personally feel that the site should have warned us that this was going on as it was quite disruptive.  We would have arrived a day later when the car club were leaving.
 
The pitch was fine, the bar and shop were good, the loos & showers were ok but not what I would call spotless by any means.  However the washing up facilities were woefully inadequate.  If more than one person ran the hot tap all you got was a pathetic little dribble, and it wasn't even very hot.  Most of the week it was fine as the site was so quiet but at weekends when more people were using them this was a problem - it took longer to fill up the sink than to do all the washing up!
 
Location was excellent though, walking distance to both Ashford and Bakewell, and beautiful views from the site.  We were there during the floods and the field we were on seemed to drain well.
 
I think we would probably look for a different site if we were returning to the area, although I certainly wouldn't vow never to return because the location is so good.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OutWard 1 review from this member

Stayed on Hawthorne Rise C/w electric hook up.
This is mainly flat at the top but has a gentle slope to it in the middle (nothing to bad to upset the tent)and is flat again at the bottom.Even though we were subject to some very havy rain the pitches stayed dry.The views from this field is lovely and as all are marked, even though it was full, it never felt overcrowded.toilets always found to be clean,pot washing facilities are good and showers always hot.
kiddies play area,very handy bieng next to the bar!
This is a great base to explore the Peak district from.
"Ill be back"

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadsetts 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from a weekend at Greenhills, and got to say we will be back soon.
The staff on site are friendly and helpful, and explain everything upon arrival.
The facilities on site are great, toilets and showers are clean are were never too busy. The bar was lively both nights we were there, and was close to the play area, so good for a drink while the kids play. The shop was small, but had the basics you may need (or may have forgot). Although there is not much in the way of food available on site, the bar does have a book of menu's for takeaways that will deliver to site (so no need to leave the bar in search of something to mop up the beer, ha ha).
The pitches in the camping fields do mostly have a slight slope to them, but coming out of the tent in a morning and looking at the views more than makes up for it!
In a nice central position for visiting the peak district, Greenhills is a nice easy 1.5 mile walk to Bakewell, and a short drive to other places such as Castleton, Matlock and Buxton.
All in all a great site, can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baileyboys 6 reviews from this member

We are writing this review from the caravan site itself. The site has good facilities, shop and bar are nice, and all the pitches seem in close proximity to the facilities. Some of the pitches in the 'Ashford view' field are quite uneven, but would be fine if you arrived with the correct levelling equipment, which we didn't, so we took one of the hard standing pitches, which was perfectly adequate. We were however, quite near the childrens play area, and was slightly noisy at times.
 
All in all the site is very nice, with outstanding views across the hills and fields, dont think we will attempt the walk to bakewell, as it seems a little further than I would want to walk, especially the walk back would be uphill all the way, luckily the weather is perfect, so we can have a bbq outside the caravan, without the need to go to the pub!
 
Will definitley be returning to this site!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carl@atompl.co.uk 4 reviews from this member

The touring pitches with EHU are the flattest on site. Three other fields range from flat to about a 5% slope. We were on pitch number 26 and manage to find a flattish area for the sleeping pods. There is another field though, as you enter the park, which I guess is for non-bookers as there were no pitch numbers. We called it the valley of death as some tents looked to be pitched almost vertical in places.
 
The views from Greenhills are outstanding, you can actually see the bad weather coming before it hits.
 
The playground on site is well used and my kids enjoyed making friends there. There is also a field with football nets on for ball games, kite flying, etc again, well used.
 
The toilets are clean and the free showers are hot and not on timers.
 
The shop is quite small, opening 8.30 til 12.00 and 4.00 till 8.00. The shop only stocks the basics in food and camping supplies, but does stock quite a lot of sweets for the kids.
 
The pub on site is small and friendly serving a couple of traditional beers. We asked about food when we arrived and apparently the pub does sell sandwiches, but they had sold out by 1pm
 
Overall a very nice site, with friendly staff. We WILL be staying there again.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019