Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 201 to 208                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Reviewer: oois25 7 reviews from this member

 May Bank Holiday 2004
What a find. Visited this site after reading the reviews, this site is fantastic!!! Most of the campsite overlooks the lake. The toilets and showers are very clean and free!! Only a short walk to Pooley Bridge village by following the lakeshore footpath. Will definately be going back!  


Reviewer: leon perry 4 reviews from this member

 Mayday weekend
Excellent facilities, had a fabulous may Bank Holiday weekend. Staff very helpful. On first night two separate tents a little noisy. one was told to keep noise down by a 'site warden' (good), but were noisy when he went a way. The next evening, I told the the lady in the shop of this tent next, an hour later I noticed the owner having a word to the people. I had no prob's sleeping that night.
If you go into the top field and turn right, the field has a little hill that blocks the view to the lake, but it made a good wind break from the wind coming off the lake!! If you want a good view camp on the hill bit!! done that last year! all-in-all, it's not a bad site! 


Reviewer: Chris Collins

 August 20003
Camped at this site twice this year,once with all the family members and bank holiday weekend with the kids. Great site had a lovely view of the lake. The kids spent most of the time swimming. I must admit toilets and showers are a problem. A site i will be spending most weekends at next year. The owners are very friendly and the other campers who were around us were the same. Roll on next year. 


Reviewer: Paul

 August 2003
This site has a fantastic location but it seemed ill-equipped to cope with the amount of visitors it had during our recent visit.

With only 4 toilet cubicles and 4 showers it did not take long before long queues developed. In fact queues for the showers started at 6.30 in the morning and continued throughout the day. Hunting for a toilet was like searching for a needle in a haystack. There were even queues for the washing-up facilites.

There are no marked pitches and finding a place for a tent is a bit of a free-for-all. Space was at such a premium that our neighbours abandonned a trip by car in case someone pitched a tent in their parking space whilst they were away. There is only one small shop and no restaurant or bar. The only cooked food outlet is a fish and chip van which, bizarrly, closed for lunch!

Waterside House was not a pleasant experience for me at busy periods. 


Reviewer: Rich & Lynne

 May 2003
We just keep coming back to this campsite, Its got great views of the hills & lake & the nearby (10 min walk) sun inn does good food & Beers. We meet up with friends here and never fail to have a good time. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Lisa Berrett 6 reviews from this member

 May 2003
The view across the lake from this site is beautiful. It will mesmerie you.

We found the fees a bit expensive at 14.75 per night (2 adults, 3 kids, tent and car) but all the facilities were free! (or at least you did'nt have to pay per shower etc). The site is very big, we were camped well in the middle of it and it felt like a long walk to the toilets, especially first thing in the morning - if it had had small loos dotted around the site here and there it would have helped. It is a working farm with cows and cow shed which are very close to the toilet block, so you don't want to camp too close to the facilities because of the smell (and killer flies).

Its a truly beautiful site, and I would recommend it, but make sure take a potty with you for this one. 


Reviewer: Sal 1 review from this member

 August/September 2002
Excellent facilities, had a fabulous August Bank Holiday weekend with glorious weather here and a soggy weekend in September but thoroughly enjoyed both. Very dog friendly, plenty of walks in the area, right on the banks of Ullswater, they hire out boats and canoes at very reasonable rates.  


Reviewer: Sue Knowles

 july 2002
I discovered this site some 8 years ago during which time the owners, Collin and Joan, have made significant improvments to the existing facitities which consist of a shop, shower block, toilet block, laundry room with freezer,
washing-up area, boat & bike hire, childrens play area, volley ball net, good launching areas, gas purchase, vending machines and public telephone. I feel so passionate about this site that I feel loathed to tell the masses about it. The site is split into areas to accommodate adults only, family feild and an organised group feild. Waterside House is a working farm on the shore of Lake Ullswater which is fantastic for a variety of different water crafts. It attracts respectfull discerning campers of all ages who understand the unwritten rules of camping and yobs will not be entertained. If you are a watersport enthusiast this is the place to be. Wheather your windsurfing board is state of the art or like mine 20 years old, you won't feel intimidated. A good safe site for kids to learn about safety and the rules of life. Collin can been seen every morning touring the site on his quad bike with a few kids who have hitched a ride (the pide pipper springs to mind). With coffee in hand watching the sun rise or a brandy watching it set, is my idea of heaven. I visit this site with my family several times throughout the season and always enjoy meeting up with other campers who we have become acquainted with over the years. I just love it. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 208     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement