Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daveblade1889 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here during the middle of April, found some of the non awning pitches a bit tight with rocks around them but the awning pitches looked better, will book one of them when we go again.
  nice little pub on side away from the pitching areas,toilet block very good. Theres a small play area for kids to burn off their energy.
   On the downside thought the prices are a little steep compared with some sites,but you get what you pay for, and also make sure you book well in advance cos this is a very popular site and books up quick,  we were very lucky to get on ,got the last pitch.
  All in all a superb site , but pricey, will be going back for defo!

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pac1974 11 reviews from this member

Just spent a few days on this site before Easter and it is a very clean and well set out site. Most are hard standing pitches The shop is OK The food in the bar is very good worth trying. It is a very easy site to get to signposted. Would go again as there is lot close by and the prices are OK

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian camper 6 reviews from this member

Just spent four nights over easter 2007. This is a well run very clean site, the toilet blocks are the best I've had the pleasure of using. Both tents and caravans / motorhomes are well catered for and we found the pitch for our large family tent more than adequate.Lots to do nearby with Alton Towers a only 30 mins away, its well signposted from Asbourne.
The site was quiet on arrival but fully booked over the weekend, despite this it was pretty quiet at night although we had to contend with the usual large groups of families who like to talk very loudly into the small hours. The only blessing was the fact it was freezing at night forcing all but the most adventurous to get tucked up by 11 at the latest.
The food in the bar is of a high standard with friendly staff and a cosy rural pub atmosphere (there is disco music in one section mainly to keep the kids entertained). The shop is a little low on stock, the family next to us went down at 9am one morning only to find no bacon or sausage. Well recommended, take a torch to find the toilet block.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milomc72 15 reviews from this member

We went on the wettest August in history, and I hasten to add, our first camping experience! We arrived to find our allotted pitch a paddling pool! When asked if we could be moved they were not very helpful.we asked for a certain pitch but were told it had been reserved.and in the end they never turned up! We were eventually given another pitch which was not as water logged. As a result we only stayed for 2 out of the 3 nights booked.
The toilet blocks were clean and with lots of hot water.  The washing-up facilities were okay, but the lights were not working properly.  The children's playground was aimed at over 10's with very little little for smaller children. The playground did become a hangout for older children in the evening.  This site is why we made the decision to get a caravan!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clark52 11 reviews from this member

Caravan plus awning plus tent.
Site itself is great, location very good for cycling along the Tissington trail.
We arrived for a few days on the way back to Scotland from Cornwall, just before the English holidays.
The bar is adequate, but not for real ale fans.
Plenty of alternatives nearby tho.
Went to sleep on the friday, with the site pretty quiet.
Woke up on Sat morning to find that the hols had started, and the place was MOBBED!
Justifiably popular, just a bit busy for me

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dr.Bunsen 2 reviews from this member

Booked in again on this site for members of  the L200 club - 2 caravans and 7 tents this time !
It was half term and they were only just opened for the season, but we were allocated 3 super pitches and the grass that goes with it. Plenty of room for all !
Facilities were up to the usual high standard, and though the weather was deep snow and high winds, the temperature in the toilet block was bliss !
Staff were more than helpful and always pleasant to everyone. A lovely site which we will use again and again.

Date of Visit: November 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terance 3 reviews from this member

Not our usual kind of site but given the time of the year you need certain facilities and also are restricted by what is still open.
This is a very good quality site with plenty of hard standings for all year round use. Having said that the one we were allocated was rather on the small side and it required a bit of too-ing and fro-ing to get our lengthy motorhome into. However the 16amp electricity was most welcome for the very frosty cold nights we experienced.
The toilets/showers were of very good quality, warm, plenty of hot water and very clean. The location is ideal for walking with the easy going Tissington Trail just across the main road. Dovedale was a fair walk but well worth it.
Reception was very good, the on-site pub was not open at the time of our visit and the shop was stocked for winter (not much in it!) as could be expected. Good TV reception.
Would we go again? Yes, but only at times of the year when facilities are required. Even in November, mid-week it was well used and could be a bit too packed for us in the summer months.
Overall and excellent site for all year round use.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang/Ken 18 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site well laid out. Mostly all hard-standing level pitches with hookup divided by hedges or fences. Small play area for the size of the site. Toilet facilities clean & tidy.  The site is open all year (except February) but the shop in October was stocking very little other than tinned products.  The Bar is situated up a flight of stone steps above the reception / shop which might be difficult for the younger / older members of the family.  They ran out of several items during our stay and we were informed they wouldn't be restocking them. The meals in the Bar were excellent for both Children & Adults.  One area of the Bar is for Adults only.  You have to leave a £10 deposit for the toilet key which can be a good or bad thing depending on the size of your group.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dr.Bunsen 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site along with another caravan and two tents.  Very helpful staff when booking the pitches only 2 days before, we were all together on 3 super pitches.  These were quite narrow but plenty long enough, although having the awning on the grass made quite a mess after only 2 days.
The toilet and shower block was IMMACULATE every time it was visited, and with 3 children, that was quite often.  This was a mixture of the site manager leaving clean J cloths on each sink to wipe down on finishing washing, and a mop and bucket to wipe over the shower floor after use, and also the campers  taking some responsibility in keeping the facilities clean for the next user !. (sadly something lacking on many sites) Reception and shop staff most helpful and friendly . Children's play area is basic but occupies younger children whilst the adults pack away. We didn't use the bar facilities but the menus looked inviting and  reasonably priced. As a member of a car club who regularly meet, this site will be recommended each time we visit this part of the Peaks.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickburt 7 reviews from this member

We camped in a group of two caravans and two tents, which was no problem for the owners to find us pitches were we could keep together.
 
A well kept site.  Some of the grass pitches have obviously suffered a bit during the summer, but the hard standings for caravans were of a decent size and well spaced. 
 
Take some decent rock pegs for awnings though as the stone is very difficult to get pegs into.  (I bent several rock pegs).
 
Toilets and showers kept immaculate.
 
Take torches.  The site is very dark at night which made for good star gazing !
 
The location is superb, with the Tissington Trail just across the road, and being almost in the middle of the Peak District gives great access to a fantastic area of the country.
 
It's obviously a popular site so book early at all times.
 
We'll definitely be back.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019