Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Butch137 2 reviews from this member

First time we had been camping as a family. This campsite looked nice. Drove up to where we could pitch tent. Kids ran off to play in park. This is right near tent pitches. Toilets a little farther than would have liked but clean.
Only one downside this site allows single sex groups. We come home early due to large group of young lads shouting till 5am (no good when you have young kids). Wont be going back again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MAGIC10 4 reviews from this member

We have just got back from this site, it was the first time we have ever gone camping and found that this site was lovely.

The area for pitching was fantastic with seaviews. We pitched at the furthest end of the site but this was still only a 5 min walk to toilet block which was very clean.

The pub was reasonably priced and child friendly.

Will definitely be coming again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ash47 4 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews on here we decided, as virtual beginners to camping, to try this site from friday to sunday. The weather forcast was good so we wanted to have time to get to know our tent and equipment on a nice seaside site. We booked a tent pitch with electric and were told at reception to use any that were available around the play area. Some pitches were taken but we found a nice flat pitch accross the road from the already busy play area. Instant worry. Big lads on the play area, not playing on the excellent play equipment but just kicking a leather football as hard out of the area as possible hitting cars, tents, campervans and little kids too.

The pitches are large and have plenty of car parking space, its a shame the EHU doesnt go right up the field to the cliff edge.Stunning views of the bay.

The bar on site is nice but gets crowded late on and prices arent bad too. The shop is well stocked and the fish and chip shop looked busy although we didnt try it.

Showers and toilets are a fair way away from the camping field and are quite clean. Although the grass had been cut the day we arrived and there was more grass in the showers than outside. Nowhere dry to stand in the showers to dry yourself and get dressed so as other posters have stated.Wear as little as possible.

The massive downside for us was the noise and unconsiderate behaviour of other campers here. On our first night a group were letting off fireworks up until midnight, kids were playing football and shouting on the play area after midnight.Goodness knows where their parents were. The music from the dance club at the blue dolphin site next to the crows nest was booming away til 2.30 am and sounded as if it was in the tent next door. On our second night a group of young people camped on the hill and had car doors open with loud music booming out til the early hours. Some campers asked them to turn it down and they just laughed and turned it up. Was really disappointed at the lack of attention by the owners to peoples complaints about the noise and behaviour of other campers.

The site is in a perfect situation and really handy for visiting Filey and Scarborough.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbieastan 11 reviews from this member

This is a good site. The panoramic views of the sea, coastline and the countryside from the tent field were absolutely superb.  The shop on site was well stocked and not overpriced,  The pub was very child friendly and the beer was good and reasonably priced.  It also has a heated conservatory which allows pets dogs inside.  The swimming pool was £1.50 for as long as you liked.  It had a life guard so the children were safe to be left. Also it was very warm and clean.
The toilet and shower block were a short walk away from the pitches but were warm and clean and there was an endless supply of hot water.  This site has a very laid back approach, pitches weren't marked out, meaning we could pitch up where ever we pleased and have as much space as we wanted, leaving  plenty of room for ball games, kite flying and exercising the dog,  However,  I do recommend that you pitch your tent near one of the hedges that runs on either side of the field as the wind can be very strong at times.  This is a lovely site which offers good value for money and no fuss and  has everything you need, even a chippy that seems to be open most of the time.  We will return to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JAYNE B 7 reviews from this member

The drive up to reception is lovely. We checked in straight away and were directed up to the tent field up a hill,it is worth it as the views are stunning. Rolling hills to the west and sea views and Scarborough to the east. You can pitch where you want either on the cliff top or around the edge by the hedges and trees. The middle of the field is not quite flat.
The toilet and shower block is clean no matter what time of day you go in. The shower cubicles are quite small so taking young children in is quite an art. The floor gets wet so take an old towel to stand on and don't wear lots of clothes to go in as there is only 1 hook and a little fold down seat,try the disabled loo at the end, it has a shower and sink and plenty of room! but saying this the water was lovely and hot.There are plenty of sinks with mirrors over them with plug sockets.
There is a brand new adventure play area for the kids next to the field.
The shop on site is very well stocked. The fish and chip has an excellent menu.
There are 2 small lounge bars with entertainment which get quite full.The beer prices are reasonable.
There is a heated indoor pool with a slide although it is small it is warm! you have to pay £1.50 each to go in and you get a plastic box to put your things in, but be warned, hand the box in behind the counter for them to look after as my husband left his in the communal changing room like alot of people did, but my son had his england towel pinched!
There is a small room with slot machines in for the kids.
This site is great to stay on as there is access to cliff top walks,but be careful it is close to the edge in parts. There is no beach access but it is only 3 miles to Cayton Bay beach and 5 miles to Scarborough.
We would definitly stay here again as it is a lovely and peaceful site,good for novices!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roofie41 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend here - in fact came home a day early because couldn't stand the noise any longer!
Positives - excellent children's playground and large well stocked shop
Negatives - kept awake after midnight the first night by numerous groups talking and drinking; no signed speed limit around the site lots of people driving far too fast around the overflow camp field; inadequate toilet, shower and washing up facilities, in fact had to queue every time! inconsiderate dog owners - had to clean kids shoes more than once!
We had fab weather and great to be on the east coast but we won't be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Axel5171 7 reviews from this member

Ended up at Crows Nest after trying to book a couple of other campsites first, but with it being bank holiday, they were requesting a minimum of four nights stay. We stayed at Crows Nest from the Friday to the Monday

The toilet block is a bit dated, with tiny shower cubicles.

The emptying of bins was nonexistent until the Monday, by which time they were overflowing.

There was no control of noise at night, with various parties being held until 2:30am.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiki 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site quite often over the last 20 years .First with the family and now on our own . We have always found the site to be clean and tidy . Toilets and showers are cleaned regular. During the week they are kept spotless by the holidaymakers then come friday when the weekenders arrive then they are different. Kids are playing in and out of them, not very hygenic,No matter how many times they are cleaned they are dirty within half an hour. You cant blame the owners for that. The owners are very friendly to everyone. All in all it is a nice friendly pleasant site. We will be back soon when the school holidays are over.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millymop 1 review from this member

We stayed at crows nest for 4 nights,we were only supposed to be staying for 3 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. The shop was reasonablly priced and had everything we needed. The play park was good for the kids we never went in the club house as we made our own entertainment and went on long walks during the day so we was all too tired to go in the club house.
The toilets were quite a fair walk away but not too far. The toilets were clean but at times ran out of toilet paper. The showers were clean but small not much room to dry yourself but lets face it when your camping you cant expect too much.
The swimming pool was good for the kids at £1.50 a day you could go in and out as many times as you liked. We walked down next to the cliffs and walked to scarborough one day which was tiring and walked to filey the next along the cliff edges with good views.Overall we had a great time and would go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lephanto 6 reviews from this member

The facilities were good (showers, toilets and laundry) - OK so you have to pay a £2 charge for using a card when checking in (which is a bit inflated) and you can't use cards in the shop, only cash, but I can live with that.

Usually I just read what other people say but after this weekend I had to put pen to paper so to speak.

1. Some inconsiderate person played VERY LOUD music until 4am - no matter how many people went over to speak to them they just kept playing it.
2. A fight happened somewhere and the police were called in. This wasn't kids it was adults!
3. Someones car alarm kept going off and they didn't switch it off.
4. Someone got up at 5AM and played their car radio so loud it meant if you were lucky you had managed to get an hour's sleep from the previous loud music.
5. Dogs were fouling anywhere and everywhere. We had one dog foul right outside the tent!

Why didn't the owners come and sort the music? I have no idea!

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3507 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019