Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 201 to 210                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: James1979 7 reviews from this member

 Top notch site again very pleasant owners and very welcoming. Had great view of the cilffs Second time we have stopped here and although first time was in a tent and now in a caravan we stopped top end of field. Only bad point for us with this is the road seems to get noisy from early until dark. This was the only bad bit and it was worth it for the views and scenery around here. The toilets and facilities were very clean and very nice power showers. Well worth the trip and will be going again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G.G. 6 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say that hasn't already been said? This site is the best I have ever been on in my 28 years of camping. Much of my 29th year will be spent here, with the warm and friendly welcome from Gill and Family; the fresh eggs, the hot powerful showers, the microwave oven, the beautiful view, the spotless toilets, the quiet location, the proximity to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, the welcome for children and dogs, the short walk to a beautiful beach, the peace, the quiet.

In short, this site has everything you could possibly require in a family site. We expect to be spending most of the summer here, instead of my usual here-and-there off-chance try-outs - and ensuing disappointments.

Hooks House Farm is a dream. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie36 4 reviews from this member

 What a fab site the owners are friendly and helpful. Victoria Hotel good for food as they have a family room. Showers nice and hot. Whitby is the nearest place for food shopping as the shop in Robin Hoods Bay is limited. Nice and well run site we have been 4 times now and will continue. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MIZZOG 6 reviews from this member

 We booked onto this site for three nights, and we had a fabulous time. The site has stunning views and excellent facilities. The toilets and showers are spotless and free. Plenty of hot water, although there are only two showers in the ladies end. It may get a bit crowded during peak season.

The owners could not be more helpful, on arrival we pitched and by the time we had sited the van and were scrummaging around in the boot for coats etc, the gentleman helping us had levelled the van off completely. The site is fairly sloped but there are plenty of chocks around.

It is a windy site but that is the price you pay for the view in my opinion. Take plenty of tie down kit and you will be fine.

The site is a very short walk from the bay, although it is an uphill walk on the way back! We didn't venture very far from the van, but did have a few drinks in a pub in the next village (Fylingthorpe), the Fylindale arms and it was a nice little pub.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely go back next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Holly4 4 reviews from this member

 Our first holiday on this site. We will be going again. We have travelled far and wide over the years, but have never come across such a warm friendly site. Gill and her family are second to none,they cannot do enough to help you.The facilities are always spotless even when it was busy.
The views are out of this world, the only problem is the site is quite exposed, so take tiedown kits just in case.We do not want to boost it up too much in case we cannot book on again if its full 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slap 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! From the warm and friendly welcome when we arrived, to the view - it was amazing.

We came here with our 2 year old grandson, and the facilities were really good - much better than we expected. Clean toilet block, good showers, and an excellent washing up area.

We are not expert at parking up, and so our caravan was pitched for us within minutes of arriving.

I don't think words can really describe the wonderful view! Even our grandson was amazed by it, and couldn't wait to open the blinds in the caravan each morning to see the sea!

We will most definitely be coming back here. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hedze 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed on August Bank Holiday weekend and the site was very busy, but we did not have to queue for long to use any of the facilities. We paid £6 for adults and £2.50 for children. The site is on a hillside and slopes slightly but this did not cause any problems. There are electric hook ups for caravans and campervans.  There is an outdoor and an indoor washing up area, which includes use of a kettle, microwave, fridge and freezer (although these were very full). The facilities include 2 men’s showers and 3 women’s showers and were kept very clean. 

The view of Robins Hoods Bay and Ravenscar is excellent, although been quite high up means it can sometimes be quite windy. On the plus side there were hardly any midges. There is a trail through the fields down to Robins Hoods Bay and it takes about 10 minutes to get to the village and maybe a further 10 minutes to the beach. There is a small shop about 10/15 minutes walk from the site.  We only went here as Middlewood Farm was full, but it proved a very good (and cheaper) alternative and the owners were very helpful and friendly.
 
Excellent location for visiting Robins Hoods Bay and Whitby. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian_L 1 review from this member

 We arrived at the campsite to a warm welcome by Jill and was quickly shown to our pitch (the view was just fantastic!)
I had read the reviews prior to booking and was not disappointed, the toilets, showers and kitchen areas were exceptionally clean.
The only downside to using this campsite is that you don't want to leave !
It can get very windy, but if you double peg your tent you shouldn't have any problems.
We will be returning to this site without a doubt, its the best in Robin Hoods Bay. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RLucyG 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip camping and we made a good choice choosing Hook House Farm. On arrival we were warmly greeted and filled in on all the facilities and etiquette of the site by the reception team. All the pitches are sloping but not too much (enough to send you to the bottom of your sleeping bag by the morning!).
 
The toilets and showers were clean and free, but there was sometimes a queue at busy times. The kitchen with it's free microwave, kettle, fridge, freezer and sinks was very useful.
 
The views of the bay from our tent were stunning, and the nearby shop stocked everything needed.
 
We shall be returning 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynetty 3 reviews from this member

 Wow! Irrelevant of any faults this site may have (and there aren't many) it's all worthwhile when you see the view it has. We camped at the bottom of the field where it was flat (ish) and so going to the loo was quite an effort, but still worth it. The showers and toilets fine. Everyone was really friendly and willing to help. Robin Hoods Bay is a really steep walk and ensures you get fit! I would definitely return to the site and remember not to drink too much before the walk home from RHB! 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 201 to 210      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3820 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement