Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 249 Reviews
                9/10 from 249 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rufustrudy 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site in mid june, the weather was great and the site is brill, great toilet block and the showers are super, the site is really well kept and a pleasure to stay at.

The owners clair and mike were also great when we needed info of the nearest hospital.!

There are loads of rabbits and the pub across the road served good food - book a table as the wait can be long!

We would recommend this site to anyone, young or old!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Spent middle two weeks in June on this absolutely fabulous site. Facilities are immaculate (built 2005) and cleaned regularly. The owners were very helpful and cheerful (which is rare in my experience). The location is ideal for the beach nearby (I have a three year old and found access through site fields best with a pram/buggy) and also exploring the rest of Cornwall. The wildlife was plentiful both on and off site. I found the service of loan ice packs from the site whilst mine were freezing most helpful as we experienced very hot weather and would have struggled getting ours frozen before the next lot had melted again without buying even more packs. The owners had arranged use of the three freezers in a most efficient and helpful way by having two of the freezers for site users, organised by surname and the third was full of site packs. The shop was open in the morning and again late afternoon but the owners were available and willing to open up if something from the shop was required urgently (something I hope people will not flaunt in order to keep them willing!). Would definitely return and have told just about everyone I know to give them a visit. I won't say anymore, go and see for yourself but remember to book if you want to eat at the pub across the road.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Admiral 34 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely week at Gwithian Farm. Glorious site, facilities excellent, owners very helpful - couldn't have asked for more really. No sign of the curry or pizza van though shame that - we were looking forward to them. Really nice meal at the Red River Inn - advisable to book. Plenty to do in the area and the Co-op in Hayle (approx 2 miles away) is ideal for shopping. We were there from Sunday to Sunday and the site was really quiet in the week - will definitely return, probably at this time of year though as I think the site may be a little too busy for us in the main season - but that's by no means a criticism I just prefer quieter (smaller) sites. Would recommend this site with absolutely no reservations!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

Nice friendly and relaxed site. We stayed here for 2 weeks, the first week being a school holiday and the site was pretty full. Toilets were cleaned regularly and there was never a feeling of overcrowding. The chip van and pizza van called and the ice cream van called every night and were pretty good value. The second week was much quieter and we did feel that the toilets could have been cleaned more regularly than they were, also the bins were always pretty full. On the whole though not a bad site and the owners are extremely helpful!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PRODISC 3 reviews from this member

To be honest I wish we hadnít chosen Gwithian campsite as our first stopover as we ended up staying here the whole duration of our Cornish break! Itís difficult where to start when reviewing such a superb campsite but Iíll start with the owners and staff.

Not only were the owners informative and as approachable as could be, they stock an onsite shop without the hiked up prices you see at most sites. As stated by the owners, theyíre running a campsite and Ďdonít aspire to being shop ownersí, with their commitment to running a quality campsite shining through.

The shop stocked quality local produce as well as the norm. The pitches are generous and very well maintained. In the evening with the campervan curtains closed you canít hear a thing but the ocean. In the morning nothing but wildlife and the odd burp from my girly partner. Bless. Itís been said in a previous review that this site is open to high winds but Iíll disagree. An onshore wind would come from the W/W/North yet the site runs on a gentle slope towards the S/S/East, therefore the campsite runs to the lee of an onshore wind unlike those sloping towards the shore. If a wind gets that much that it bothers you at Gwithian farm camping, you ought to be feeling sorry for those that didnít choose this site rather than feel unlucky yourself! Great position and great location.

Besides all the above being so perfect the shower block was out of this world. Gwithian farm camping shower block is the benchmark for all campsite owners to reach, but IMHO could not better unless someone were to give free Greek massages as one stepped from the shower cubicle! As a plumber, bathroom & kitchen fitter I have never seen such well laid out bathroom facilities in a commercial atmosphere. The building itself is testimony to the owners vision of how shower facilities should be presented, but the finishing including a full bathroom and bang up to date washers/dryers shows they followed the whole project from start to finish with detail and thought. Never again will my cold buttocks be blessed with such workmanship on a cold camper morning or such roomy showers that have three clothes pegs and a seating bench inside each shower cubicle!

The beaches are the best I have come across in the UK by a stretch and a mile. Gwithian beach was miles long and although our stay was during the B/H week it was almost deserted in comparison to more commercial areas. This area has more of a local feel, or even a welcome timeless atmosphere. Saying this thereís an abundance of attractions within easy reach for any camper so donít think Gwithian farm camping is out the back of beyond, itís position is perfect for both the tourer and sun worshipers alike. A great choice as a base for West and even central Cornwall as we ourselves made our annual pilgrimage to Tintagel 1 hour each way. Lots of English Heritage sites to keep you busy and looking around we could spend a whole 14 days here keeping every day busy with something to do (if you can drag yourself away from the campsite!)

Iíve never given a review for a site without having something bad to say but I just canít find anything wrong with Gwithian. Having camped around Western/central Africa for 5 seasons, the western US seaboard and central plains, most of Europe including most of the former eastern block I can hand on heart say this site was superb and the most well equipped. A credit to the owners and more importantly Cornwall. Gwithian farm camping is the benchmark for all UK campsites and is a wake up call for those site owners whoís heart just isnít Ďin ití.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brumex1 1 review from this member

Quality site, we had good weather which helps. The owners were very good & helpful. Quality shower block & toilet. Local pub Red River is good. Easy access to beach. We would certainly return to this site. Free freezing & loan of ice blocks nice touch

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snelld 3 reviews from this member

This site is FANTASTIC! Owners are lovely, shower/toilet/wash up block is excellent. Beach is a pleasant 10 min walk, very pretty and good for surfing. Don't leave any food / rubbish out, a certain black Labrador and the Gulls will enjoy themselves (am still missing that sponge cake!) Weather was poor so site was fairly quiet. Hoping to return, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleck2 8 reviews from this member

Great campsite. We went at Easter, the site was quite full but the showers were only ever about 3/4 full. The atmosphere is buzzing. There's a Aldi (or something similar)supermarket about 1.5 miles away if you've forgotten anything. We didn't try the village pub food because the place was always packed, it did get better after about 9pm when the food stopped being served. I can recommend the pizza van everything cooked from fresh, the best i've ever had in fact. we left before the curry van arrived so can't comment on that. we will be going back at some time. the only downside to this camp site is that it's a very long way away.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Benoz2000 8 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, very close to beautiful beach and short walk to seal colony.† The site looked recently updated.† Very clean facilities, with constant hot water and we visited during Easter, so well prepared for peak periods.† The pub across the road does excellent and cheap food, although extremely busy during bank holidays.† The local town (10 min drive) is not the idyllic Cornwall town, but has all you would need and campsite is far enough away not to be affected, but otherwise a great location to visit Cornwall from.††
Due to site†positioning we experienced sea winds that†would†possibly not†get†in other locations, but worth the trade off.††No static caravans and not a holiday park - excellent!† Cream teas served in garden with beautiful thatched cottage.† Large pitches and area in centre of site gives a spacious feel.† Not over run by kids. Loved the site and hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pensioner 3 reviews from this member

The first time camping and I was really pleased with the facilities the camp site was really good and the owners very helpful. The weather was awfull but we still enjoyed the holiday. The curry man that came on a Thursday was really good and cheap. The pizza man that came on a wednesday was also great but ran out of garlic Bread and Pizza guite soon. Would certainly recommend this site to anyone.

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win tickets to the NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2744 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1992