Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HELENB 1 review from this member

Stayed for 5 nights on a grass pitch which I thought could have done with being bigger as I felt I was far too close to my neighbours.  Tents and caravans are on the same parts of the site which is fine as my daughter had a tent but the families around us tended to get up very early which I suppose I should expect if I go in school holidays.
 
The showers and toilets are very clean but old fashioned and could do with a few more showers.
 
Fishing at the end of the site was very good, plenty of woodland walks around and of course the Sherwood Forest Visitor centre close by.  It was festival week so there was something on every day
 
Ma Hubbards in Edwinstowe is a must . Really cheap good food
Asda 10 mins drive away
 
I would probably return but only in term time!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisaK 3 reviews from this member

Loved this site! Clean showers and toilets, picturesque setting and loads to do within  a few miles around. Plenty of space to pitch with additional parking close by. Nice shop with loads of camping equipment reasonably priced. Will definitely return! Wish we had taken the bikes. Only niggle was the showers are the type that you press and only stay on for about 10 seconds. You can't adjust the temperature either, but they were free so it was just a niggle.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirsten19 6 reviews from this member

Found this at short notice, What a great place. The drive up is woodland and the staff are very helpful. The lady helped me with a little gas problem as we had the wrong connector.  The pitches are really excellently marked out and you are given clear instructions on how to park up. The toilet block was spotless and was cleaned regularly through out the day. The lady again was very helpful in directions to places to visit and we also got cheap passes for the farm park a must see for young families especially little boys who like trains.  This was the first time we have took the dog and it was fantastic for that, set out walks with bins and also very clean pathways.  We will definitely come again and it's ideal for us as it's less than an hour away, take your ear plugs though as Peacocks can be quite noisy, buts hey that's nature!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maria brownson 4 reviews from this member

During the summer break last year 4 families decided to spend 5 days at this campsite, the wives and kids stayed there and the men commuted to work and back, as it was quite local to us all. The campsite was so much better than what we thought it would be. We went to Sherwood forest farm park, which is a day out in its self, we went all over. The kids all 9 of them loved it so much so we are doing the same this year, they all want to go back, the ages ranged from 11-2, so that speaks volumes. The site is spotless, there is a little river near the site. The surroundings is beautiful.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flick31 1 review from this member

Love this site so much, we went for the Easter weekend and decided to go for this weekend 14th & 15th found on site wardens and staff most helpful, toilet and shower block clean.
Lovely walks around site and not far from site my favorite personally is Sherwood forest pines, which is a great family day out.
Already booked my May bank holiday weekend. I give this site 10 out of 10 for families .

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MLightfoot 3 reviews from this member

Site is set in a lovely setting and there is lots of things to do nearby.
Pitches are quite close together so if the site is busy you are on top of your neighbours - could do with hedges seperating pitches.
Wash facilities were ok but there is not many showers and they could do with some heating on in there. Plug point would be nice for your hairdryer, straightners etc. I think shower block is basically ready for a revamp.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MatthewJW 6 reviews from this member

Just had a really good 5 days at this site over the Easter period.  Had a river pitch.  The ducks and geese were very funny and enjoyed watching them being chased all over the site.
The weather was fantastic and was more like June not April.
The facilities were good including the shop with all the camping and caravan equipment.  (Very Cheap).
The toilets were ok but because it was very busy it was hard for the staff to keep clean all the time.
The hardstanding pitches were a good size.  Would have hardstanding again and not bother with grass as the grass pitches were smaller.
The only down size was when I arrived I had the front of the caravan facing the river and started to set up and was just about to start on the awning when the warden came over to say I would have to turn the caravan round for fire reasons.  I wish they had said this in the shop when I arrived.  He did say the information was on the sheets provided but who looks at the sheets when you first arrive?  You just want to set up and chill when you arrived.  Also the waste water points are in the bin areas.  Took a while to figure out where they were.  Will be going again as they are open all year.  The website does nothing for the site and needs updating.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GLLR 1 review from this member

Excellent site.  Close to Sherwood Pines and Sherwood visitors centre (home of the Major Oak).  Visited with 2 children age 6 and 9, they loved the play areas.  Take bikes as there are lots of cycle tracks close by.  ma hubbards in Edwinstowe definitely worth a visit - really cheap food which was good.  Will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olilew 9 reviews from this member

Just had a great weekend at this site. Everything was spot on. Toilets and showers were very well kept. Always toilet roll and hand soap etc.  Free hot showers too! Site was always pleasantly quiet, no unruly behaviour. Kids enjoyed play areas. We will definitely be going back for more week-ends away.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teloz 1 review from this member

I heartily concur with everything Sarahjane & Jason said, but would like to add that the shop prices are very reasonable and I saved £12 on the price of a gas heater compared to the Argos price. The site itself is set in beautiful surroundings and is well maintained with excellent amenities. Definitely a site to use again and again!

I was pitched on the rally field which is about 5-10 minutes from the shop and amenity block, depending on age and fitness. I found it very easy to pitch, but would recommend the use of Delta pegs for the guys and plastic pegs for other pegging points though I'm sure pin pegs will be adequate in summer when the soil is drier.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0957