Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laneside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Laneside Caravan Park Reviews

Laneside Caravan Park
Laneside Farm
Station Road
Hope
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 6RR
Tel: 01433 620215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 14/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 229 Reviews
                8/10 from 229 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  229 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve + Gina 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location with lovely views, adequate pitch size - we where in a frame tent on a serviced pitch. We did not notice any problems regarding any sewers, we didn't even realise there was even one nearby.

The only downside for us was the noise from passing lorries so early in the mornings. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nannapepsi 11 reviews from this member

 Good location next to village with ample shops within walking distance also a couple of good pubs. Well situated for walking and rambling (some steep hills). The site itself is next to a well used main road with traffic activity (lorries) from five o'clock onwards. 
The facilities are clean although unusual in that the showers are separate from the basins. Site has own shop but with limited opening.
Hookups as well as plain camping. Dog friendly with dedicated dog walk. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaveyDave 26 reviews from this member

 We have just had a very enjoyable stay at this very friendly site.  However, the dog walk is hardly that. If you have a small Yorkshire terrier you might just manage but don't expect to be able to walk a large dog along it. There were queues to the showers everyday but to be fair the site was full. There is a site shop with hardly anything in it, but the village shop is only 5 minutes walk away.  We were placed near the road which was extremely busy and very noisy.  There were a lot of lorries going to and from the nearby concrete works. Saying that, we will probably visit again as it is in a good location close to the caverns and walks. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DavePCC 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly family run site. Enjoyed our many visits here. Can get very crowded in high season and therefore a bit noisy. There's road noise from the busy road running past the site. Told exactly where to pitch with little flexibility if you prefer the look of a different pitch. Facilities clean. Attractive location and grounds well maintained, however at the end of a busy weekend the rubbish skips were overflowing onto the ground around them which looks unsightly! Despite my negative comments the good points outweigh the bad and we will definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Needlenose 2 reviews from this member

 Right, the good points.
 
Beautiful location, lots of good pubs nearby and many of them let you take your dogs in with you. People who ran the site were lovely and the showers when we were there were piping hot. Seeing as it snowed while we were here that was LOVELY!
 
Bad point, and it was a biggy, was the road. Laneside, no, roadside, yes. I was kept awake all night by lorries flying past. We have a camper with a tented roof so we may as well have been in a tent and it was very very noisy. You perhaps won't notice it if you're in a motorhome or caravan but it ruined my weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Good intentions 6 reviews from this member

 Our first outing with our brand new trailer tent, and on the way to Laneside it snowed, very thickly, so that when we arrived, the site was very muddy and we were advised to park with two wheels on the road.

There were few other tenters when we arrived, although more turned up at the end of the week, including a school party who were rather noisy and tended to hang around in intimidating groups outside the ladies!

Facilities were ample with plenty of free hot water, including the showers, and never a queue for any of them. As someone earlier has said, the washing up sinks are very low, so send your kids or shorter relatives to do the washing up.

Location is brilliant as others have said, very close to Castleton which has numerous eateries (particularly recommend the Three Roofs cafe for meals and wonderful cakes). There's plenty to do within easy reach, even if you don't like walking!

We'd definitely go back to that site if revisiting the area in future. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rodblackburn 1 review from this member

 Sewage station is now no longer a problem. The site is well managed and the new shower block is great. Unfortunately there is still a considerable road noise from 0700 each morning and grass pitches are showing signs of wear at the end of the season. All in all though a good site to visit with plenty of walks and Castleton only 2 miles away. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Lux Interior 5 reviews from this member

 So, you're thinking of booking Laneside and are doing your homework eh. If you've read the previous reviews then a mixed bag is the impression we got, certainly not a dive but "smell" issues and pitch size opinions abound. What I will now attempt to do is give you a thorough insight to Laneside and let you decide if it's worth your hard earned holiday time.

First things first a bit about us, we are a 40 something couple who on this occasion took along our 14 year old son as ballast. We both camp and caravan but this time we took the caravan for a week ( ending 3rd Sep ). Only been vanning and tenting for about five years so we're not veterans yet. My wife is tolerant but I'm a grumpy middle aged git with superb hearing.

Now finally to the site:
Our first impressions were good, the site looked well kept and the staff greeting was friendly enough. The office also had useful brochures, maps and info of the local area. We had booked and were expected so we were escorted to our pitch promptly. The size of the pitch was not an issue for us, there was room enough for my car then the caravan with awning and a good 4 feet either side for access. I will cut straight to the chase here and say right away there was ZERO smell from the works mentioned in other reviews. Further to this I went down around the back of site to see for myself and the works are not in operation any more, fact! Those spinny round arm things that spray water into those big vats at water treatment places were not turning and the place was silent. This gave credibility to the notices round site as to the development of that area in the future.So,long story short, no smell.

As we'd arrived on Bank Holiday weekend we expected to find it cramped but there was no sign of overbooking to us as there was the odd spot here and there. On this site there is no real segregation of tents and vans, the rows for tourers were peppered with an assortment of tents and young families. All sites were fairly flat with the odd van using a chock to level, but it's by no means hilly. A small shallow river flows by the west end of site with a few rope swings for the brave. The stepping stones separates the site from it's own grass play area with permanent football goals up or there is a footpath over the bridge to it.

Position:
The site is located in Hope valley and the spot is well chosen as it's very scenic if hills and walking are your thing. The site is overlooked by Win Hill by the way, worth a yomp up for the view (ignore the cement works you can see from the top of the hill, we all use concrete). The small town of Hope lies about 200 metres west from site and most things can be had there, food, ale, money, camping supplies and a car boot on Sundays. It is 2 miles from Castleton one way and 4 miles from Hathersage the other. The site gets full marks for location from us.

Noise:
During our stay there were definitely no "here we go here we go" punters singing til the early hours. This site suits the families or mature couples much more in our view. The cctv around site and the entry an exit barriers seemed to convey an air of regulation which was not overpowering but I reckon does the trick of keeping order. I can't say what there action would be on site to yobs but it was a "rules observed" site with no parties after 10:30 when we were there. The road passing the site can be busy so it is not a super quiet site but it was hardly the M1 though. Very acceptable noise levels to us.

Toilet Block:
Overall were good with ample free hot water for both showers and the pot washing area (low sinks though so Dads watch out for your back). One day a tile was loose in one of the showers and I noticed it had been repaired by the next morning. All showers are large and do not have curtains. Clean at every visit of ours we have no complaints at all. Loos were also well maintained with no hygiene problems but as mentioned before there is no soap. No problems at all in this area worth a mention.

Verdict:
This site was a last minute gamble for us given the previous reviews. But as no two people read the same book all I can say is that we would have no doubts about returning to Laneside. It was clean enough in a top location with the added bonus that if people wanted to get tanked up they must have done it in Hope as we didn't hear them. The site having good loos and showers go a long way with us and then that the site was quiet enough pretty much sold the deal. Yeah, we'd go back. 


Reviewer: Neil Corfield 1 review from this member

 August 2005
We arrrived at 1300hrs, the office was closed and when the owner finally turned up, he greated us with, I suppose you have a big then there, do you want electric (we had booked back in June for our trailer tent with electric). He never showed us a site to pitch on and was more bothered about the fact that he had no lunch.
we drove down onto the camping field and only found 3 empty pitches (all very, very close together). We started to pitch the tent, when I found a use nappy in the hedge, and a disposal pie dish with a large amount of toilet paper in it and what looked like human excrement. The site smelt of urine and, as myself and my wife were dbating whether to leave, we happened to look around to see our 2 year old son pick up a large lump of dog mess in his hand, we only just managed to get to him before it went up to his mouth (Disgusting). I have been a scout leader for 20 yrs and have camped all my life and I can honestly say I have never seen a camp site so dirty.I spoke to the owner about my concerns, packed up and left, we visited the toilets on the way out and my wife found the ladies in a terrible state we will not be returning to this camp site and will never recommend it to friends. 


Reviewer: Helen34 2 reviews from this member

 June 2005
First impressions of this site were mixed. The office was closed when we arrived around lunchtime, and I spoke to the owner / manager via intercom (that was the only time I had any communications with them, as the office was closed every time we happened to be around). Given directions as to whereabouts to pitch we drove past the sewage treatment works (v. unpleasant) and down past the caravans to the riverside, which was lovely. The smell from the works didn't follow us, and it was a very pleasant pitch, with the river flowing by, and lots of ducks around.

Later on, the site began to fill up and we found ourselves less than a foot away from one tent, and about three feet away from another, with our car squeezed in diagonally. Very, very full site.

The toilets and showers were very clean, and we never had a problem taking a shower (although we tend to get up about 7am when not many other people are around). There are no signs around (as a previous reviewer mentioned) regarding the closure of the sewage works. Showers are free and the cubicles spacious. The showers are static and have no controls which means you get the water as it comes with no means to change temperature or height. Hairdryers were 20p.

When we were there the site seemed full of boisterous families, which it is well-suited to, as there is a great play area down by the (very shallow) river, and also a good sized area of grass for ball games. The rules seemed pretty relaxed, and as one half of a "quiet couple" it wasn't really our cup of tea. Better as a family site. 


Previous     229 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laneside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laneside Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laneside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


14835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement