Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dasamdra 5 reviews from this member

Booked for bank holiday with 9 other units, mix of ages - tents / vans / trailer tents on ashford view field. Showers adequate, sited block and portacabins but not much space to hold clothes off floor and could really do with a family shower room !
Little grumble - no specific washbasins with privacy to just wash face / clean teeth, would be a bonus.  Good separate field for ball games, playground adequate.
Great walks from this site, visit to Monsall Inn a must, good food and great views. Local pub in Ashford-in-the-water, Ashford inn closed at 3pm but nice beer garden (we got there at 3.03pm!).
Overall, good site, staff nice, will go back again !

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julester66 12 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the May Bank Holiday and thought that on the whole it was lovely.  We had the field with marked pitches and didn't have to contend with slopes.  The reception staff were friendly and helpful.  The on-site bar was nice and the children's play area was literally a few metres away, enabling parents to have a drink and watch their children.  There is also a large field next to the play area that has football nets in it, so there was plenty of room for the children to play ball games.
 
The only downside was the showers.  They were hot first thing in the morning but if you went a little later they were cold.  They were also small, particularly when having to shower with small children, and there were not enough hooks to hang clothes on etc.
 
We ate at the Ashford Arms, which is about half a mile away, and the food was delicious.  We ate at lunchtime but I think in the evening it is more formal as they were setting the tables for evening.
 
It was just unfortunate the trip was marred by the persistent rain and cold weather.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MIZZOG 6 reviews from this member

We just spent a weekend here, we chose the weekend before the bank holiday at the end of may so that we wouldn't be too crowded.
 
The site is a mile to Bakewell, it took us 15-20 mins of gentle walking to reach the centre and it is slightly less in the other direction to Ashford in the Water.
 
The pitch was large and on the main touring field with 16amp EHU.  Plenty of water points and even bricks to keep barbecues off ground.
 
We had a lovely time, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean and the showers were free with plentiful hot water. We do not have children but the play area looked good and was being enjoyed by most of the kids on site.  The area can be watched from the pub.
 
The shop was well stocked with most basic provisions and we did not find it overpriced.  The bar / pub was quaint and very comfortable, however we did find this overpriced.  Despite the fact that the site was almost full, the pub was never crowded and was quite empty on the Saturday night.  I don't wish to speculate but I've a feeling that the overpriced drinks may have been one factor.  I paid £1.30 for a lime and soda (the soda was out of a 35p bottle from a supermarket).
 
This site is only 30 minutes or so from home, and we will definitely use it again for a short weekender.  A lovely site!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiggley 1 review from this member

My family (2 adults and 2 children) visited Greenhills Caravan Park over the May bank holiday, we arrived around 7 o'clock on the Friday evening and after checking in were shown to our field (we chose the no marked pitches site) although it was really busy we found a pitch at the outer edge of the field, with only a slight slope to contend with.  The campsite was very clean and the owners friendly, the children loved the play area.  The showers were lovely and hot and were kept clean.  Although the site was very busy there was not much noise at night.
 
We walked into Bakewell the picturesque way, go out of the camp and turn left as if walking away from Bakewell, cross over the road and follow the stone wall quite a way until you come to a gate and public footpath, double back on yourself, now heading to Bakewell over the fields, next to the river, through the fields of sheep, horses and lamas - lovely.
 
We will definitely be heading back to Greenhills in the future!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

We visited the area last year on another campsite in peak time (no pun on the peak district) we found to be very disappointing. Not this time, we visited Greenhill's on the May bank holiday. The site was absolutely choca-block as the 'full' sign went out on the Friday night. I like smaller sites normally but this site managed the crowds very well indeed and maintained the feeling of a smaller site. 
 
The site was very well cared for, excellent facilities and staff that couldn't have been more helpful. A quaint little pub attached to reception was most welcome. The playground was excellent and a play field was attached to this for football or whatever game you wanted. My only disappointment was the shower which was scalding hot with no means of temperature control and a mere trickle which meant I was pressed against the wall trying to get under the fixed head. A minor niggle. 
 
Would we go back again? Absolutely yes!    

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bashersbatey 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here in April 2007.  Owners very friendly and extremely welcoming.  Site facilities were clean and modern.  Free showers and hot water for doing your dishes.  We were on the pitches near towards the back of the camp site and it was spacious, flat and quiet.  Some road noise but not enough to actually bother us.  We would certainly recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful camping experience.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iconics 1 review from this member

My hubby and I stayed here for two nights at the weekend and have to say it was one of the best campsites we have been to. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the general feel of the site was laid back and relaxed. You can pitch pretty much where you like, there are several large fields and there aren't formal measured out pitches which we prefer.
The facilities are very good, there are two very clean shower/toilet blocks, the showers were lovely and warm. The shop had everything you may have forgotten - very useful. There are plenty of bricks handy for bar-b-q's and I was pleased to see recycling bins for glass, cardboard etc.
We went into Bakewell for the day which was beautiful and has a Co-op with very good wine offers! The Chinese take-away was excellent. We have already booked to visit again with the kids - the facilities for children looked excellent and safe - a shop for sweets/a park/plenty of open fields to play on and not too far for them to walk to wash the pots!
We couldn't fault Greenhills and had a very relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 18 reviews from this member

We moved here from another campsite in search of a few more home comforts! As a family with young children, we thought this site was great!

There is a children's play area and a fenced off playing field away from the camping pitches, ideal for the early wakers! There is a small shop selling basics and a pub which was really friendly.

The showers and toilets were clean and even though some were in a portacabin they were hot and free. The washing up facilities were lit and sheltered.

Our pitch was flat and grassy even though it was the end of the school holidays. We were however quite close to those on the pitch next to us. Electric hook ups were available too.

We would recommend the Bakewell Pudding Shop and the pub at Monsall head which does excellent good quality food.

I would certainly go back to this site

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knobbylear 1 review from this member

Just returned from an easter break from what I can only describe as a near perfect stay. This site has various fields some are sloping but not to bad. We had electric hook up this time, and I found these pitches to be flatter.
This site got very busy over the easter hols, but plenty of room still for everyone. The kids play area is very good and can be supervised from the bar, which has to be a bonus. Shower block not to bad although the ones in the portacabins are better and cleaner.
The people who work there are very nice and very plesant, and the shop is full of very usefull items. Make sure though if you are on electric hook up that you have a good length of cable as some of the hook up points are quite a way away as we found out but the owners gave us the use of one for free. But stunning views and lovely site we will definetly be returning there again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley.moore1@ntlw 1 review from this member

I would first like to say that we had a wonderful time at Greenhills Caravan park, the views that we had on our pitch was fantastic, the walks from the site were great especially up to Monsall head,
the campsite was clean and tidy, the shop well stocked, a lovely pub on site, the staff were friendly and helpful but what spoilt it was the lack of hot water for the showers and the dish washing. We were lucky enough to have our own shower and dish washing facilities which to be honest we don't usually use as I like to rough it a little but I just couldn't get under those showers first thing in the morning it was just too cold.
As it was easter and fully booked I think the problem should have been sorted before all the people came and especially for the people in the camping field who were not as lucky as we were on having our own hot water.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3717 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019