Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidxyz 6 reviews from this member

Booked this site on the back of the reviews on here.  Rang and was told there was plenty of room so no need to book.  When we arrived, all that was left was the overspill field.  The field itself was flat and well looked after but right next to the road so we were constantly woken by lorries at all hours of the night!  The toilets and showers were in a porta cabin.  Toilets were clean, but the showers were terrible - no lock on the main building door and when you went in there were just two shower curtains.  I had to post my daughter outside to keep watch - certainly not for shy people! They have a small pub which is nice enough with tables outside but no games room as promised - just a pool table which was kept covered over. 
 
The location is excellent for the Tissington Trail which was our reason for choosing this site, but we would only return if we could guarantee a pitch on the main site.

Date of Visit: May 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Libby11 4 reviews from this member

Very clean well run campsite. Close to the tissington trail which we thoroughly enjoyed cycling along. We have visited twice with friends and the only problems we encountered were poor washing up facilities, only a couple of sinks and not undercover and the pitches they allocated us were separated by a fence and path which made camping with friends a little difficult and it was also a little noisy at night with people visiting the toilet block. We will definitely visit again but will specify our pitches and wash up at our tent. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bar13y 1 review from this member

Went for weekend, 10 of us in 3 tents ! Superb site with very good and clean facilities. Main site was full and we were put on an overspill site which was better (except for the road noise on the A515). Weather could of been kinder but the weekend as a whole was brilliant. We all said that we would go back.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Flappingcanvas 3 reviews from this member

Great location, sheltered in an old quarry. Nice reception, shop with basic provisions, bar etc. Play area basic and no-where for older kids to play ball games. Some great walking/cycling form the site.

Pitches are all year round - so very little grass to pitch on- very muddy and slimy if the weather has been poor. Pitches also quite narrow - if your tent is not an old-fashioned frame tent then it may well be a close encounter with a neighbouring unit. (not sure how that squares with fire recommendations ie 20foot between tents?? we were 10 ft from our neighbours.)

We had our sleep badly disturbed until well after 2am by a noisy party of 14 people in 3 tents on ONE pitch. The site needs to take more care when accepting bookings. We reported to site management but they claimed the party only booked 4 adults. How did they get past reception/why did no one check after they pitched??

Toilet block is superb - well located for the static 'vans on-site and next to the super- pitches. The camping pitches however, are furthest away, so prepare for a hike!

Some excellent "green" credentials for this site. Take a torch 'cos its pitch black at night!

The camping field (no hook ups etc) is adjacent to the main road, is noisy and exposed.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Medenview 7 reviews from this member

Just returned after a weekend at this site. The toilet block on the whole was clean and tidy, although a little messy on Sunday morning. Didn't like the key system for the toilet block. £10 deposit for one key per unit, made it difficult if someone was away to the toilet block and someone else wanted to go later. You only had to wait and follow another person in, which made the system a bit pointless.

Shop seemed well stocked and the reception staff were welcoming on arrival.

Site was tidy around the pitches, ours was adequate for our VW Campervan (without awning).

Our main gripe was the bar. We went there Friday evening at approx 9pm to have a "quiet" drink. We were disappointed as there were about a dozen or so kids, shouting, running about, playing on the pool table. A sign said that children weren't permitted in the bar after 9pm due to licensing laws. This wasn't adhered to. There was an adults only part with sofas but was full at the time, so we stayed near the bar as all seats were taken elsewhere, half by kids and half by adults. There was also a No Smoking sign (we don't smoke), which was obeyed by customers, but there was a member of the bar staff that did smoke behind the bar and her colleague was eating a packet of crisps and "sucking" on a half full bottle of lemonade which she would have served to customers when asked. Meals were still being served to customers, including children past 9.30pm.

Didn't have a meal in the bar due to the above.

After this we chose to drink in our campervan instead which is a shame.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshams 6 reviews from this member

Good peaceful location and the toilet/shower block were well maintained and always clean and tidy. Despite being middle of August and site being quite busy it was not full and we experienced no problems in getting a shower.

On the negative side we had booked back in April and requested two plots next to another but the computer said No! Reception staff were not helpful when we complained about this and that the plot we had been given was not flat and would have entailed having to pitch the tent right next to the road. Luckily the other plot was big enough to accommodate two tents which was what we ended up doing.

Beware that you will need to pay for tokens for hairdryers and the laundry and remember the reception closes at 5pm. Freezing ice blocks was also charged at 25p per block and you were limited to two per family per day.

It was very annoying that the one evening we planned to eat in the bar they decided without notice that they would not be doing food, this was despite it being quite busy and peak holiday time. Being some 7 miles from the nearest town this was inconvenient to say the least.

The small village of Fenny Bentley had a very worthwile pub called the Coach and Horses. The food was excellent and all locally sourced, it's advisable to book in advance and to arrive early to get a parking space.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

Nice site. Toilets and showers always clean and warm. some pitches are a bit small, I could only just fit my caravan and car on the pitch I was on, tho some others were much bigger. Staff quite helpful. They also do a late stay til 4pm for £4 which when compared to some sites i've stayed on, isnt bad. Shop is ok but could do with more stock. Having said that, would visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Navman2860 6 reviews from this member

Really tidy site in an old quarry. Good food at the pub and the pitches where we were, all separated by a low hedge.

Very quiet at 11.pm albeit there were lots of people there. They are just having a motor-home service point built.

Easy bus to Ashbourne and Buxton once you know where to stop the bus. In the small lane opposite the campsite entrance that goes to Biggen

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ann13 2 reviews from this member

We had tent with electrics but pitch was small. Not enough space between pitches. Only one toilet block for such a large site and although immaculate, too far away. The site was extremely noisy over the weekend and although the rules say quiet after 10.30/11.00pm, this was not policed. Despite complaints, continued the same next night. Never saw anyone "patrolling" as claimed. Children and dogs were not always controlled in line with guidelines, so not really for us.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rik666 22 reviews from this member

This was our 3 stay here & it never fails to impress. Nice clean showers, level pitches, great bar, probably some of the best food we have ever had from a campsite. The only hassle was getting the car in & out of the security gate after hours ? Very close to Matlock Bath & Alton towers

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6612 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019