Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Smile2day 2 reviews from this member

 March 2005
We have stayed on this site often over the 17 years that we have been camping, a beautiful site surrounded by woodland. The only amenities available are a shower block that is kept clean and tidy. The disabled shower and toilet is in the ladies half of the shower block, and there is only one shower available in the ladies. This can cause quite a rush in the morning as you can imagine as the one block is for the use of both the caravan field and the tent field.

There are no shops on site though the warden does sell ice-cream and sweets from his awning. He is very helpful if you have a problem. The caravan field still gets very boggy when its been raining, and last summer driving at times was impossible, though there is plenty of help when you do get stuck!!

The walks around the site are very good and for varying abilities, I recommend a trip to the 'Giants Chair', you turn right out of the main gate to the farm. There are 2 pubs in the village, a newsagents and a couple of shops, the Coop have offers on sometimes. The nearest chippy is in Arnside, but it's not open on Mondays.

Once you visit this site though it gets into your blood - I'd recommend it to every one, just a shame they have increased the prices.  


Reviewer: Whipper12 1 review from this member

 April 2005
Plenty to do around and abouts,facilities average maybe a shortage of showers. Some very nice views and nice short walks. Steward very helpful. Only one fault site was very noisy till 3:30 Fri night and gone 1:00 Sat night. Two very good pubs with big beer gardens only 15 mins walk down the road.
 


Reviewer: Little*star 1 review from this member

 May 2004
We have come here for years, since 1997!
The facilities are good, but could do with a good old tidy up. There are showers, but (in the ladies at any rate) you have to pay. Anyway, you go, flush the loo, business done. It's got lovely access to Morcambe Bay which does involve a short muddy walk- I ruined a pair of beige combats there!
This used to be one of the best kept secrets in the UK camping world (when it was a working farm), but, in our eyes, it is now a lot noisier than before. On our last visit, there was even a disco, which proved a shock to us! Anyhow, they weren't hugely noisy after 1AM.
If you're a drinker, the Silverdale Hotel may be of interest to you. We meet friends there and always spend a few hours there. There is very little car parking but I wouldn't recommend driving while under the influence!
Make sure you bring torches as there are no street lights - just adds to the feel of the countryside! Speaking of countrysides, there is a very prominent smell of cow dung around the entrance. Nervous stomachs beware!
It is a few miles to the town centre of Silverdale and only a couple to the beach.
This is a favourite site, which we'll be visiting for years to come! 


Reviewer: Pg111 4 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Visited this site on yet another social night organised. Loads dressed up in 70's gear, it had been advertised on site but I hadn't seen it as we would of done fancy dress. Brill night sat round fire. Following weekend they were doing Olympics for the adults and kids. but we couldnt make it as bank hol. What a fabulous place overlooking a bay with added extras of organised events by on site wardens. Well worth a visit, you will be hooked - I am. 


Reviewer: Strong Arms 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
We have been camping for 20 years plus!and this is an absolutely brilliant campsite. It is the most relaxing holiday we have had in a very long time. The ideal place to unwind. (We did not want to leave!) There is plenty of open space for the children, safe and secure, and fabulous views over the bay.

100% credit to the wardens. They are very well organised and make everyone feel welcome.

Everyone on the campsite was very friendly. We were also there for the line dancing night, which was great fun. We also joined in the games night and won the Strong Arm competition!! much to our son's delight.

A campsite right in the heart of a working farm.

The only problem is that we live too far away from this site to visit more often. BUT, we promise we will be back.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Martin13 1 review from this member

 August 2004
went here with 5 blokes and 8 children (aged from 4 - 10.
The friday night was terrible with noise until 3-30 in the morning, but 1st thing the next morning the steward sent those responsible packing!
The saturday night was '70's disco night and was fantastic, all the kids loved it!
The steward is great and sorts out anything, I can't speak highly enough of him.
Kids have lots to do all day and night, rocks, trees, walks and bats swooping down on you at night.
The cost for 6 in a tent and 2 cars - 7 pounds per night!!
Highly recommended! 


Reviewer: hinto 1 review from this member

 July 2004
I have been using this site for six years and it gets more popular every time i visit. Ladies toilets have now been improved and I believe the Gents will be next. It`s a great place to get away from everthing and unwind. The kids love it with plenty of space to run around and rope swings hanging from many of the trees. The warden is very helpful and has improved the site from how it used to be. The local village is a short stroll and has two pubs, but on our last visit one was boarded up. Just try the site once and sit and take in the view across the bay. And on a clear night I suggest a couple of bottles of wine and some good friends and sit under the stars.  


Reviewer: pg111 4 reviews from this member

 July 29 2004
Have just returned from this site again and what an unexpected treat. Stewards had organised a Barn dance on the field for campers, complete with bales of hay. Brilliant night - my kids are still talking about it. Site full, yet toilets and showers remain very clean. Cannot recommend this site enough. Well worth a visit, even more so if stewards havea social night planned. 


Reviewer: barry71 1 review from this member

 July 2004
We( my wife 3 kids and I) go to this site at least 9 times a year. Nothing there to spend money on which is great. How often is it you can go away for a few days and never hear the kids say i want or i need. Toilet blocks are not Hilton standard but they are clean. There is a friendly steward who where possible will help. Breath taking views over Morecambe bay. Where better to have a bbq and a few pints. Well worth a visit. 


Reviewer: kendal123 3 reviews from this member

 30/08/2004
Just come back from a 2 night stay at Gibraltar Farm at 7 per night for family of 5 it was cheap. The ladies washroom was very clean.(only 2 showers). The mens were not as well loooked after, even my 6 year old son would not use them. The site is lovely for the kids. They can run around and explore the woods. They have Bingo on a friday night and a line dance on saturday (which was a little noisy).
After the hoe down the noise did not stop.The warden did try to quiet things down.However it did not stop until 3am!!! not funny when you have kids. All in all a cheap site and loads of exploring for the kids. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement