Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karlpeg 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent Saturday and Sunday night at the Crows Nest.
Two tents for two nights cost £70 pound which includes a credit card surcharge of £2.00.

The good points:
Excellent beach at Cayton Bay which is only a few mins drive away and parking is just a couple of pounds for the whole day (get there early).

On Site the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There is a club house with live entertainment on every night. (Uncle Brian’s Magic show went down a storm with the kids).

I never checked out the indoor pool but it looked a good size from what I could see .

The shop has everything you always forget to bring and need ongoing through your holiday and much more.

The shop staff were very helpful. I thought the prices in store were very reasonable (they only take cash).

You can order a Chinese takeaway (if that's your thing when camping) and I am sure others will deliver too, which I presume you meet the delivery driver at reception. There is a Fish & Chip shop which I never tried out.

Bar prices are average, well from where I come from anyway (a pint and a white wine soda just under £7.00).

My kids loved the play area and made lots of new friends. If you want to pitch right next to the play area then ask for electric hook up.
Washing up facilities incorps three sinks which never seemed to be busy. The toilet and shower block was just like any other site. No use complaining as its in the middle of a field at the end of the day. They were clean for the amount of use they were getting.

The Bad point:
The field is on a cliff top and when the wind is up it is a nightmare to set your tent up.
Normally my tent takes 10 mins to pitch. It took my nearly an hour and with help!

I hate the fact that it’s a free for all when it comes to where you set up.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Familyhack 2 reviews from this member

Having booked 14 days mid-August, our first family trip to Yorkshire (children having been on previous school trips to North Yorks).We found no access to beach but, good location for Scarborough (use Park n Ride), Whitby, North Yorks Railway, Heartbeat country (must visit) and Flamingoland (recomended - even for mums& dads who don't like theme park rides). Shopping try Morrisons take B1261 over roundabout, follow for about 5 miles then turn left following superstore signs. To south there's Filey.

The Upside:
staff friendly and helpful, good well stocked reasonably priced shop, same goes for on site Fish & Chip shop, Indoor pool very good, Showers/toilets free with constant hot water, Club house looks Ok but, didn't actually use it.

The Downside:
the "Pitches" are small and tight for the average family caravan (Swift 5berth single axle), there was no grass area left to bar-b-que and park your vehicle (which I had to move several times a unit needed to negotiate our corner plot), the adjacent van over hung our awning to the extent that we could not access the door at at one end (Fire Safety Regulations?). Toilets and Showers cleaned twice daily but, shower cubicles too small.

As we left the "extra field" was full for the Bank Hol weekend !

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Arbucklrjnr 1 review from this member

Very pleasant site with all amenities perfect for families tent hook ups situated all around a very large children's play park absolutely ideal for ourselves as our 3 & 5 year old were able to play morning till night and we could see them all the time. Fantastic walks from site with stunning views over the coast be careful trying to access beach near to campsite easier to get down to than get back off. Toilets basic but clean. Chemical disposal points were blocked in both blocks. Indoor pool great value for money £1.50 a day or £8.00 a week per person, under 5's free excellent with slide & u can return as many times as you want with your day pass.
On-site bar but we never used this as kids were worn out every night from playing. On-site shop well stocked with everything, very close to Scarborough & filey within 10 mins of both.
We will be back later in year loved it

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Max010103 4 reviews from this member

I have just returned from this site. We stayed there for one week with another 3 families all using tourers. This site is very basic. The toilet blocks were very dark and dim and were not the cleanest.(even during the night there was no lights). The showers cubicles were very small, hardly enough room to get dried impossible to take a small child in with you. The overall site was unkempt, a lot of litter about and a lot of dogs poo (that is down to the lazy owners of pets).
The shop is very well stocked but I did find that they freeze bread and resell it without telling you, as I bought a loaf thinking it was fresh and when I checked the sell by date it was two weeks out of date, when I enquired about this I was told it was ok.
The swimming pool is small but is ok for what you want. The pub is ok and does have entertainment. The fish and chip shop on site is very handy and quite nice.
Overall we did have a good holiday ourselves but sadly we will NOT be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

Mixed feelings about this site.
 
Overall, the range of facilities provided are good. The camp shop was well stocked, the staff were friendly and the prices reasonable. The shops morning opening time is a little late for my liking and it could also do with staying open a little longer in the evening.
 
I was a little concerned that they seem to have an unusually large amount of alcohol for sale though. I'm not against people drinking though I do believe in moderation.
 
The pool is very small for a camp of this size and the charge of £1.50p per person though reasonable for all day can be expensive if you just want a dip in the last hour.
 
The chip shop closed before the stated time so we didn't get to try it out. (Maybe they should revise the board that has the opening times on)
 
The bar was very good. Reasonably priced with excellent live bands in the evening. Children were welcome and all the kids present on the two nights I visited were well behaved, no running about screaming. For those wishing a night without the bands, there is another room with a jukebox and television and pool tables with no noise bleeding through from the other room.
 
The toilet / shower blocks are far from adequate for the number of people using the site. The gents facilities near the top of the site had 5 shower cubicles with similar number of washbasins etc. There were no squeegies or mops so the floor soon became covered with grass and mud. My daughter tells me that the ladies facilities are on a par with the gents.
 
The laundry facilities looked ok though we didn't use them.
 
The site was well kept with private caravan owners taking pride in their plots and creating their own small garden areas. The roadways and grass verges are in good order and clean.
 
The site provides adequate water points and refuse bins.
 
By far the worst point is the site attracted campers who have no respect or consideration for others. One group of campers from the Newcastle area thought it was fun to sit outside their tents, shouting to each other at the top of their voices using extremely profane language until at least 2 am. In fact, one mouthy woman declared to all who were there that she was going to have an early night. She would be in 'effing' bed by 4 in the morning.
 
One other small thing that put me off returning was the fact that the owner of the site tore a strip off one of his employees in front of me for looking at his mobile phone. This should have been done away from paying guests in an office.

Date of Visit: January 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Note, reviews posted prior to 2006 have been removed at the site's request, as facilities have changed since then

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cmottershead 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for 17 days including the Bank holiday in August. Over all the site was OK.
The indoor pool was OK but needed a bit of a clean there was a lot of sand at the bottom of the pool - still usable though. It cost £1.50 for the full day under fives were free.
Over the Bank Holiday weekend there were a lot of tents (never seen so many) and the touring pitches were all but full which made the bottom shower block inadequate for the number of people.
The kids loved the park is was well thought out.
The shower blocks were cleaned often but the number of people using it meant they were dirty over the bank holiday weekend.
Showers were OK lots of hot water but were only tiny cubicles. If you wanted to shower a child it was difficult to do so due to the available room.
It does have a good laundry facility wash £2.60 dry £1.50 for a timed hour.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R a blenkinsop 4 reviews from this member

I went to the crows nest site for the first time with my family. we found the site clean and tidy and staff very polite and helpful. There was a bit of noise from the club after eleven which is annoying when you have children. But that was my only fault I found.
I am going back for a week on the bank holiday weekend and hope to have as good a time as the first. R blenkinsop.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H2OJules 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first family camping trip, just stayed one night to try out new tent.

the good.

Fish n chip shop was fab! As was the shop, everything reasonably priced, pool looked fine but we didn't use it. Didn't go in the bar either.

the bad.

Toilets and showers were awful, toilets dirty, sinks looked grubby, didn't use the showers but had a looked, they were very small and very grotty looking, you'd have to put your clothes in plastic bags to stop them getting wet. There's no way I'd use the showers. Also toilet blocks were a good walk from the tents (amongst the caravans), not great when you have 3 small children!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarem79 2 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip, we paid £15 per night which we didn't think was too bad. Facilities were clean, kids play area was good and we had fantastic views of cliffs.
Only real problem was noise. People were noisy coming back from club house and some were really bad til 1 ish in morning

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1577 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019