Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 211 to 220                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkybijou 1 review from this member

 This was our very first camping trip with our two young children as a 'tester' for the weekend to see if we liked it. I have nothing to compare with, but if all sites are as good as this then I will be very pleased. It had been raining on the Friday when we had intended to arrive, and Jill was very honest on the telephone and advised us to delay coming until the following morning due to the rain. On our arrival she was very friendly and helped us to get organised. The field was sloping but fairly flat at the bottom, where we decided to pitch our tent.

It was very, very windy and after pitching our inner tent it took off like a huge kite and thankfully some very helpful fellow campers helped us chase it across the field and re-peg it! Despite this shaky start we soon got settled in and found the toilet and shower facilities to be absolutely spotless. I was pleasantly surprised to find a kitchen in the building next to the shower block with three sinks, a fridge, freezer, microwave and kettle - again very clean and well kept. The view from the site is absolutely amazing, and waking up to that sight in the morning sunshine was the best thing about the whole weekend. Robin Hood's bay is approx 10 minutes' walk away, though there was no footpath along the main road for the first half which was a bit hairy for walking with a pram. All in all, a lovely weekend, lovely campsite and we will re-visit in the future! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazzy607 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic camp site, had a wonderful pitch, that had a stunning view across robin hoods bay and more! The camp site was very clean, and the people very friendly! A nice walk down to robins hood bay! Would definitely visit again, and recommend this to all! Great! Thank you! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vikellis 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived on the Wednesday of half-term, having been advised in a helpful email from Jill to avoid the Bank Holiday weekend.

I had a choice of pitches, all with a great view, and had a fantastic peaceful two nights. There is plenty to do in the area, and it is a short and pleasant walk down to the village (with a variety of pubs and shops) and the beach. I ended up next to the field used as a play area, but all the children there for the first two days were quiet, polite and well-behaved.

The toilets and showers were basic but spotless, and I met Jill as she was filling up the loo rolls at 10.40pm!

The whole experience was only marred by the inconsiderate group who had arrived while I was out for the day on Friday - who had no regard for the rules about noise, parking topside of your tent or keeping dogs on leads, and whose many children ran around screaming for much of the evening.

On the whole though, a fantastic site, and one which I will definitely be returning to. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juney 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a week beginning the second bank holiday weekend in May and ending the following Saturday.
When we arrived the site was very full as expected for a Bank holiday weekend, however we had booked in advance and the friendly owner, Jill, had reserved us a few pitches for the tents in our party. Costs were £5.50 per adult & £2.50 per child.
We had read about the sloping pitches and that is exactly what you get - there isn't any flat ground however the field is well drained and even in the pouring rain, mud wasn't a problem.First three days rain then sunshine (if you moved from the coast inland!)
The site and facilities are quite basic but the view more than makes up for it.
You are looking directly down on Robin Hoods Bay.
The toilets and wash basins are housed in converted porta-cabins along with the showers.These were always spotless. The showers are free however there are only two each for male and females. There is also a mixed disabled toilet in a new kitchen area which also housed washing up sinks, a useful kettle, microwave, fridge and freezer (all of which are free).
All the site was missing really was a small shop selling very basic camping needs -fresh milk, etc.but I realise that these things need staffing.
Robins Hoods Bay is only a fifteen minutes walk away with P.O, pubs etc and Whitby (with supermarket) is a ten minute drive.
Overall a very pleasant site on which we all had a great weeks holiday and one which we would all return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen J 26 reviews from this member

 We got blown away by this campsite- literally. Despite losing our tents to truly awful gales on the Friday night, we persisted and bought cheapy tents in Whitby then stayed the whole weekend- it is worth it. The site is gorgeous.
Handy facilities in a barn (microwave and kettle) were very useful at five in the morning for us when we were tentless! Great walks around including a short walk to Robin Hoods Bay which is gorgeous- especially at 8 in the morning when you have no tents and nothing else to do except wander into the nearest town for refuge from the howling winds! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather94 2 reviews from this member

 I agree with all other reviews. Site well laid out and cared for, grass well kept and, being on a hill, well drained. But the wind did keep us awake the best part of one night and the close proximity to others was also somewhat disturbing. However, the views, friendliness of the owners, hot water in the showers and cleanliness of the shower and toilet block mean that we would have no hesitation in returning.
 
The Victoria is a good family pub for meals, and the Cleveland Way to Whitby (8-9 miles) is worth the walk. Taxi costs about £7.50 to get back! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peskypeeza 8 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hook's House Farm - the view across the bay is absolutely amazing.
 
Jill gave us a very friendly welcome and explained where tents could pitch - we choose right at the bottom of the field so our view was uninterrupted. Although this was really windy!
 
The facilities were fine and always clean - plenty of hot water in the showers as long as you kept pushing the button; plug sockets for hairdryers/straighteners in the loos and enough wash basins. There were three outdoor washing up sinks from which you could see the bay and some little lambs having a frolic - made doing the pots much more fun! Also a camping kitchen with a fridge/freezer, more washing up sinks, a kettle and microwave and leaflets about the local area. You could also buy eggs from reception.
 
The site wasn't very busy on the Friday night but more people turned up on the Saturday night. Everyone seemed quiet when it got to 11 and didn't get up too early!
 
You could walk out of the site, down hill and through some fields to Robin Hood's Bay, v pleasant. There was a shop about 10/15 mins away then another 5 mins to the coast. We didn't go to any of the pubs but they looked nice from the outside.
 
Would definitely recommend - only slight problem was that we couldn't get any reception on our little wind-up radio (specially taken so we could listen to Eurovision song contest!). And we had to buy a wind break. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sargej 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a week at this campsite and it was a wrench to leave it. We had a problem with our tow vehicle on the way up, so telephoned to let them know we would be late, and when we arrived they could not have been more helpful, the farmer levelling our caravan up for us. As it was May day bank holiday the site was very busy, but it was still peaceful and those views!
The amenities are basic but spotlessly clean. With the site full there were small queues for the showers but if you went later in the day it wasn't a problem. After the bank holiday the site almost emptied and the rest of the week was just perfect. It can be very windy as it is an exposed site, so storm straps for the awning are recommended.
The best place for a meal in the bay is Ye Dolphin pub and the walk back up to the campsite will work off half the calories!
We will definitely be going back, this is the only site for us with fantastic panoramic views of Robin Hoods Bay. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spireite 1 review from this member

 Have camped here numerous times over many years, the views from the site are stunning and hard to beat and the atmosphere used to be very relaxed. But recently it has become very popular and they seem to pack campers in with little control of how close everyone is to each other this has meant the relaxed atmosphere has become a little strained as have the facilities that struggle to cope with the numbers. Worth a visit for 1 or 2 nights just to see the view, but more nights than this do become difficult because the slope of the site means you end up in a pile at one end of the tent every morning. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Steve wood 2 reviews from this member

 1st Visit to this site. Have to agree with the majority of reviewers.Fantastic site !

Superb views of the coastline and the bay.

Basic facilities but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean.

Great base to explore the area and a a good work-out walking to and from Robin Hoods bay.

However, next time (& there will be a next time soon) I will remember to take a windbreak ! 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 211 to 220      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3705 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement