Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahjane&jason 29 reviews from this member

Lovely site set in beautiful surroundings. clean and warm toilet block with hot FREE showers which where used after a muddy mountain biking session at Sherwood pines just 5mins up the road. We stayed in the rally field which was well drained up until our time to leave which was then very wet but fun.

Had use of the hut which a 40th birthday party was held and was warm and very clean. Excellent shop on site which sold loads of camping stuff,food,sweets and ice creams for the kids. Very clean and tidy dog walk and looked like most people bagged and binned.

Will return to this site in the near future and its only 30mins up the road too.

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marynov 23 reviews from this member

Lovely site which we'll go back to! Toilet block nearest us not open when we where there at first but they got it sorted and open in no time so no trek to the loos in the rain! Good showers and lots of room, free hairdryer was a bonus too. Only negative bit was that the site was badly lit where we were, Riverside hardstanding pitches, which made it awkward and a bit scarey at night for the kids to go to the loo - there seemed to be lots of regular low level lights but none were working.
Nice big pitches although we were there at a very quiet time of year and can imagine it gets very busy in high season. Watch the river if you have kids as its fast flowing but has great wildlife including ducks, geese, owls and woodpeckers.
Shop was very reasonable for camping/caravanning stuff and lots of bargains and essentials till you got to the supermarket although they did say on arrival that it was low stocked at this time of year.
Leisure centre nr Edwinstowe was great - flume slide included with cafe etc, kids loved it. Nearest chippy/kebabs etc a 5 min drive to Old Clipstone. Nearest pub Dog and Duck was a lot more upmarket than we expected but they welcomed us although we felt somewhat underdressed - food gorgeous, kids menu, and very reasonable. All in all a big hit - handy for Sherwood forest visitor centre where you can have a go at archery and see the Major Oak etc - lovely eatery there too!

Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ringa 2 reviews from this member

Very good and clean site, just a word of warning they say they have these digital TV channels, well all I can say is the picture is very poor indeed. Tried using own aerial and I could not get any picture on that at all, you have been warned. The toilets and shower block was very clean indeed and the on site shop was well stocked as well.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debsydo 1 review from this member

After a time consuming journey in the heavy rain we eventually found the site (which is easy to find)
When we booked we were given a grass pitch, on our arrival we found the field to be to soggy so we pulled onto the nearest hard standing pitch (and hoped no one arrived during the night)
found reception very helpful next morning, although we had to move this wasn't a problem as we got a beautiful riverside pitch.
Campsite beautifully kept. Toilets and showers immaculate (a bit chilly in the morning).
The shop on site is little sparse on food essentials but good range of shops in  either direction.
Tried Ma Hubbard's cheep and cheerful ok with three hungry teenagers.
Edwinstowe has some nice shops and the visitor centre well worth a visit.
Hubby and boys fished at the local lakes, which they thoroughly enjoyed( not bad prices).
The caravan parts on site where amazingly cheep or is it because we are ripped off in the south.
we hope to return when the weather improves over all a nice peaceful location.

Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ok_ed 3 reviews from this member

This site is our week-end get away, as it is only 15 minutes from home, not cheap at £17 per night, but you can see where the money goes, as this site over the years has seen massive improvement, although its always been a good site.
 We will use this for our week-ends away, as well as other close sites to us

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeanC 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week. It was larger than I imagined and I usually prefer smaller sites. That said this was fairly well organised, the pitch area was large too. The area we were in had a great play area for our kids who were never out of it when we were there. The shop was ok, but not much fresh food, however there was a supermarket nearby. Toilets and showers were ok.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chikemonkee 1 review from this member

Being my first time camping I was worried about arriving late but we informed them before hand and they said they would leave the pitch instructions on the door.  We arrived and found our instructions on the door and drove around the campsite and as we got to our pitch number, we found we had absolutely loads of room to pitch our tent (and it was a large six man tent) and park our car beside us. The toilet / shower block appeared always clean was was just in the next section of the campsite with only a minute walk (not a problem) the pot wash room was located in the same place and always had very hot water to clean those messy pots and pans.  
There is a Tesco and a Asda nearby which was such a help. My only niggle if you like was that the playground didn't have a swing for a young child (my 3 year old son is unable to walk and can only go on the young children's swings in a playground) but he had a fantastic time camping and I enjoyed our stay here and the peaceful nights we had too, despite the wind and rain but hey that's the UK weather But will definitely come back here.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caroline + Gary 4 reviews from this member

A lovely relaxing site and picturesque surroundings. We camped in the rally field which was rather open to the elements very windy despite it being 28 degrees outside, which was a bit of a downfall. The toilets and showers were at least 10 minute walk away but were of a high standard, although in fairness to the site this was pointed out when i booked and they advised to take a potty for the kids, which we did!

The best part of the site was definitely located further down along the river which was largely taken up by caravans and smaller tents requiring electric hookup, our vango Diablo 600 would not have fitted on these pitches so be warned if you have a large tent.

The shop was stocked with the basics and cheap camping equipment too. A van also sold hot food a certain times of the day, but we did not try this.

South Forest leisure centre is about a five minute drive away and has a family friendly swimming pool ,although does not come cheap at nearly £14 for 2 adults and 2 children the youngest being only 2 years, but did cool us off at least.

Overall a nice site.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adie.platts 7 reviews from this member

Decided at teatime on Friday night to take our new caravan away for a trial run, and managed to get a pitch last minute. When we arrived the whole site seemed so welcoming, and the staff were to prove extremely helpful. Hardly saw the kids for the two days we were there, plenty for them to do and explore (bought 2 way radios for this reason!!) Found all of the amenities clean and warm, no complaints. So all in all, being that we live 30 mins away, will definitely be going back to the tranquil surroundings of Sherwood and forgetting the worries of the world!

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluenosepowis 5 reviews from this member

Arrived Saturday morning around 11am. Changed our booking from three to two nights after we arrived as the weather was very cold - no problem. Very friendly site. Hookups are available. Well stocked shop and a basic but clean games room for the kids. Small outdoor play area for smaller children. Toilet block, washing facilities were clean. Plenty of hot water at all times of the day.

Lots of walks and well placed for visiting local area. Plenty of information at reception for visiting and would definitely recommend Ma Hubbards for a meal in Edwinstowe (5 min drive). All in all a really nice weekend break.

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977