Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 18 reviews from this member

We moved here from another campsite in search of a few more home comforts! As a family with young children, we thought this site was great!

There is a children's play area and a fenced off playing field away from the camping pitches, ideal for the early wakers! There is a small shop selling basics and a pub which was really friendly.

The showers and toilets were clean and even though some were in a portacabin they were hot and free. The washing up facilities were lit and sheltered.

Our pitch was flat and grassy even though it was the end of the school holidays. We were however quite close to those on the pitch next to us. Electric hook ups were available too.

We would recommend the Bakewell Pudding Shop and the pub at Monsall head which does excellent good quality food.

I would certainly go back to this site

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knobbylear 1 review from this member

Just returned from an easter break from what I can only describe as a near perfect stay. This site has various fields some are sloping but not to bad. We had electric hook up this time, and I found these pitches to be flatter.
This site got very busy over the easter hols, but plenty of room still for everyone. The kids play area is very good and can be supervised from the bar, which has to be a bonus. Shower block not to bad although the ones in the portacabins are better and cleaner.
The people who work there are very nice and very plesant, and the shop is full of very usefull items. Make sure though if you are on electric hook up that you have a good length of cable as some of the hook up points are quite a way away as we found out but the owners gave us the use of one for free. But stunning views and lovely site we will definetly be returning there again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley.moore1@ntlw 1 review from this member

I would first like to say that we had a wonderful time at Greenhills Caravan park, the views that we had on our pitch was fantastic, the walks from the site were great especially up to Monsall head,
the campsite was clean and tidy, the shop well stocked, a lovely pub on site, the staff were friendly and helpful but what spoilt it was the lack of hot water for the showers and the dish washing. We were lucky enough to have our own shower and dish washing facilities which to be honest we don't usually use as I like to rough it a little but I just couldn't get under those showers first thing in the morning it was just too cold.
As it was easter and fully booked I think the problem should have been sorted before all the people came and especially for the people in the camping field who were not as lucky as we were on having our own hot water.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunshine-showers 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from camping at Greenhills.  It is a bank holiday weekend and we pitched up on Sunday morning (just camped the one night). 
 
This was a lovely campsite to stay on, it certainly ticked all the boxes for me (good location, nice views, pub on site, good facilities ie - shop, toilets and showers with hot water! etc).  It was also a very friendly site, we rang up twice to enquire about availability and the staff very pleasant and helpful on both occasions, and we had a nice welcome when we arrived.
 
With arriving late on in the weekend, only the 'rough field' as it was called, was available to us.  However, it wasn't bad at all.  The grass was mowed (which is always good), and although not completely flat from corner to corner, you could still find plenty of level areas on which to pitch.  We still had plenty of space even though we were in the overflow field. 
 
The campsite had something for everyone (ie - play area for the children etc) and was very pleasant. 
 
The site is ideally situated being within walking distance from Bakewell (which is a lovely little town with lots of pubs, shops, cafes etc).  Its also not far really from Monsal Dale - which is excellent for walking.
 
We would definitely camp on this site again, but next time we would go on a weekend when its not so busy, so as we can camp in one of the main fields (purely because the views were better).
 
Thumbs up to this campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pong 5 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights at Greenhills. Weather sunny but very windy. After doing my usual long searches on campsites I decided to give this one a ring and was surprised they weren't busy with it being the first weekend of the Easter holidays so was really pleased, I asked if the tent pitches were sloping because from reading a couple of reviews this seemed to be a small issue. I was told NO they weren't so went ahead and booked.
We arrived on the Saturday afternoon, paid for our 3 nights and was shown our pitch which was on a slope. There is no shelter from the wind so we had a real task pitching our tent. Eventually we were set up and happy to be away from work etc for a few days so got out the beers, went to bed and eventually slept after having to turn our airbed into various positions to be comfy cos of the slope we were on. Next morning being thankful we were not blown away with the winds we woke up to a beautiful sunny day, though still being windy and admired the beautiful views. I then headed for the shower. Clean but very cold. There is no heating and no room to put your clothes and get dressed after you've showered.
The area this site is in is beautiful and is very close to Bakewell and Monsall Head which must be seen but this site is definitely not for us.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcdougal 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites at which I have ever stayed. It is set very close to the attractions and amenities of Bakewell, in the middle of some truly beautiful and tranquil countryside. A short walk from the site brings you to hilltops with views that you can dream about or to Ashford-in-the-Water which is note able for its picture-postcard unspoiled quaintness.
 
The site itself is well set out and maintained. The shop stocks everything that you might have forgotten and some things that you wouldn't have thought of in the first place! The toilets were spotless and the immaculate showers dispense a generous deluge of hot water (very much appreciated after a long walk in chilly March).
 
I'd recommend that anyone thinking of camping or caravanning near Bakewell considers staying at Greenhills.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brittanicus 2 reviews from this member

My family and myself visited Greenhills in July 2006. We all loved this site so much we are going back this year. The staff were excellent in every way, helpful, polite and very friendly. The park and toilets are nice and clean and amenities are all conveniently situated. There's a nice ball play field and a kiddies play park situated next to the bar, so you can enjoy a pint in the evening and watch your young ones playing. I would recommend this site to anyone without any hesitation at all.
All in all a lovely campsite for a lovely holiday in picturesque surroundings.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jbaldwin 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We only visited for 2 nights but really relaxed and enjoyed this area. Only 1 mile walk into Bakewell town centre, although it's uphill on the way back. The site has clean loos & showers, even with a constant supply of loo roll. There is a good shop and bar.
The children loved the magician who was there on the saturday night. The play area was well shaded from the sun under trees and very close to the bar which was handy to keep a watchful eye on them.
There are 3 fields for camping, one being very uneven but the others not bad at all. We were sited very near to the bar and shops but did not hear excess noise at all. My son especially liked the field set aside for the ball games so he did not get yelled at for kicking his ball by the tent! Already booked to go back later in August.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 nights at Greenhills.
We were a group of 21 - 6 mums and 15 children - and we had a great time.
The park staff couldn't have been more helpful.  I had a caravan and everyone else had tents, and one member of the staff even parked my caravan for me, as I had never reversed before!
The site is very clean, and has a wonderful small play park for the younger children in the shade of the trees. There is also a field for ball games.
There is a small pub, and a shop which opened for 2 hours in the morning and evening.
There are 2 toilet blocks, one permanent and male and female portablocks.  These were spotlessly clean all week.
The electric pitches are all reasonably flat, but the camping field was quite sloping, this seemed to be for the non-electric tent pitches.
The views from the park are fantastic, and it is in the centre of the beautiful Derbyshire countryside with loads of attractions close by.
We would highly recommend this site, and will be returning next year (if they will have us!).

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trickynicky 7 reviews from this member

This is one of my favourite campsites and I have been a number of times now - I am almost tempted to keep it to myself.

The site has a small shop a good children's playground, a nice little bar who usually have a magic show for the kids on a Saturday night although poor old Mr Cigam ends up having his tricks spoilt by my daughter who knows them all off by heart!

The best part of the site is it's location, it is walking distance to Bakewell or Ashford in the Water - the riverside walk to Bakewell (details from camp reception) is very nice and so much nicer than driving everywhere. Our car broke down on the second day of our holiday and we had to walk and cycle everywhere but we saw so many things we would have missed in a car.

There have been critisisms on this site about the toilets not being very well kept but I think the problem is the sheer volume of people using them and also with the campers not cleaning up after themselves and also people entering the shower cubicles in muddy shoes - I recommend a pair of flip flops and keep them on in the shower for extra clean feet!

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2401 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019