Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Willcomera 1 review from this member

Delighted with the site it is set in an old quarry - a novel use of the space!. Pitch was very muddy on arrival due to very heavy rain but owners lent groundsheets to cover some of the mud! Toilets and shower block were clean and well kept. We went during Whit so there were plenty of children but this did not detract from the peaceful surroundings. Will certainly visit again, in fact have already booked for next year!

Date of Visit: November 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piratejunkie 1 review from this member

Just returned from 4 nights in Rivendale, I was blown away by the setting it was absolutely beautiful and very clean and tidy. Our pitch seemed of generous proportions until I erected the awning then things got a little tight. We had booked a half hard standing and half grass pitch(or should I say sludge) but then it is the middle of november and the groundsheet shielded us from the mess. All facilities on site were of high standards, toilets/showers clean and warm, chemical disposal and water near by.
I will definitely visit again although probably in the summer months.
Highly recommended for a peaceful break.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lis4b 6 reviews from this member

Having spent 4 days at half term, I must say the site on arrival looks lovely, but we found it impossible to get the pegs into the hardstanding, even the one's which we hired from the site shop. So if you plan on taking an awning make sure you book a pitch with half grass otherwise you will be paying for something you can't use and be stuck with somewhere to store awning,poles etc.

If like us, your kids make use of a games room then check opening times before booking because my oldest two boys went off to find it, only to be told it doesn't open till the evening. I presume it must be part of the pub or something. (but not sure because we didn't use it).
The play area was quite small and basic. Could have done with a bit more of that malsh stuff under the equipment, took kids minutes to be covered in mud.

Laundrette = one washer & one dryer tokens from shop.The one key per unit can prove a little difficult if someone's having a shower or something and another person needs the toilet. Don't understand the point in the key myself! No light's on site, so take a torch if you want to wash up after dark.

Ashbourne really nice, lovely shops, worth a wander round. Gulliver land/kingdom about 20 mins away, at Matlock 8.50 each great day out especially for the smaller kids although very steap. Not far from Alton towers again about 20 minutes drive. Plenty of local attractions for all weather.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HappyCamper2004 27 reviews from this member

A wonderful site in a magnificent setting,unfortunately the quarry does not shelter you from the elements. The toilets were extremely clean and warm :O) Theres a shop thats well stocked on site also a pub. Shop gets top marks off our lad, but pub we didn't use. Its about 6 miles north of Ashbourne on the A515, theres a 15% gradient hill as your leaving Ashbourne!! Be warned!! and another 10% further up

Our pitch was half hard standing and half grass,we didn't have any problems with pegs as long as you get good rock pegs you are safe. Oh and it does get rather soggy the soil ,but after looking round the site ours was the only soggy looking one! To us its as good as lickpenny but this has the benefit of the better shop. Will definetely go back again

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HarryB 17 reviews from this member

Got this site from the Camping Cheques brochure. As it's only 1 hour from home it sounded ideal for a long weekend. Nice site, nice location and a good sized pitch, although some were a bit on the small side. Will go along with others comments on the toilet/shower blocks but they were a bit tired in appearance, perhaps because it was the end of season. Don't know why the notice asks you to leave your shows at the door though. Also, have never been a fan of key operated doors. Especially as here you are only given one key.

The downside of our stay was the fact that we had to leave by 12 noon on Sunday although the site was only about quarter full. If we had cared to book Sunday lunch we could stay till 2pm. How considerate but no thanks.
All in all an ok site in a good location.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Emjaycee 1 review from this member

This site was wonderful for caravans and motorhomes. Nestling in an old quarry, very protected from the rigors of the elements. There is a childrens play area too. The surrounding views of Alsop-le-dale were wonderful. Although the site is advertised as a caravan site, it does say that you can camp there too. On arrival, we were told that the main site was full, but were welcome to pitch in the overflow field. We had to use the toilets and showers there due to health and safety, but other than that we could use the other facilities. Both the toilets and the showers were shabby old portakabins that were not that clean and the amount of mosquitos and other living creatures was horrendous. We have a 3 year old who is being potty trained and I could not let him near those toilets in case he caught something.

On visiting the main site - it was like a different world! The toilets were luxury, but we were not allowed to use them because we were in the overflow field, in fact you needed a key to gain access. On reflection, we only saw 1 other tent in the main site, and wondered whether it was just "class distinction" and not being in a tent that led us to be left in the field. I would not leave animals in the insanitary conditions we had to endure for 3 days. IF they just cleaned up the overflow part of the site, it would attract more custom. If the field is not used that often, it should still be maintained to the high standard of the rest of the site. IT's a shame because the whole site could be one that is recommended in every way.

Reviewer: Sonner03 4 reviews from this member

May 2005
2nd visit to this site. Immaculate again. Toilet blocks in perfect condition. Beautiful setting, good food and drink in the bar at reasonable prices. Pitches do tend to be on the small side, although have hedging to seperate. We had no luck pitching our awning, even with rock pegs due to the solid ground, full of rocks. Would highly recommend - lots to see nearby.

Reviewer: DHSIB 4 reviews from this member

August 2005
I booked into the overspill area at short notice so can't comment on the main site.

The overspill area is a nice flat field with trees and nice views facilities as warned were portacabins which had seen better days, showers in particular are badly designed and with only one unlocked door to enter each side they are not for the shy.

There is a LARGE amount of roadnoise on the right of the field as you are right next to teh A515 which is extensivly used by HGVs and quarry trucks. You will be woken up.

By the friday night there were 40-50 tents sharing this area resulting in it feeling cramped and also overhelming the facilities leading to them becoming quite dirty and smelly by sunday.

The owners seem friendly but there attention is all on the main site and I certainly would not book again on the overspill site

Reviewer: A1AJF 1 review from this member

August 2005
The campsite was clean and well presented. We went with four other families and our request of five pitches together was accommodated with no problems. Staff were helpful and friendly, there local knowledge on thing to do was good (especially as we had ten kids to keep entertained). The Prancing Pony pub onsite was a welcome place once the sun had gone down, to get out of the chilly night air. The main camp facilities were good and clean with lots of hot water for showering and washing.
The only small criticism's is that the three sinks for washing your dirty pots are not enough, these sinks also had a very low water pressure and it took for ever to fill your bowl.
Be aware of the stone just under the surface when tapping in your tent pegs!

Reviewer: Pete smith 1 review from this member

August 2005
Just returned from this site. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Shop well stocked.
Shower blocks very clean and warm, there is a no noise policy after 11pm, the pub on site good and the food cheap enough. I cant believe anybody has not mentioned the wind we got battered throughout our stay.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019