Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 221 to 230                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Days 1 review from this member

 We visited this site the Wednesday before Easter bank holiday weekend, staying for 4 nights, leaving Easter Sunday. We booked a couple of months in advance.
This site was wonderful. The view of Robin Hoods Bay across to Ravenscar was breathtaking. Every pitch had a good view.
The family at the farm were more than helpful, helping to tow us in with a 4x4 so we didn't get stuck in the grass and the farmer helped get us level.
There is a clean shower block.
From the site, Robin Hoods Bay is a 10 min walk.
The Victoria pub is a must for a good hearty meal. There is also a family room for families and a quieter area for adults only. 
The walk to Ravenscar from Robin Hoods Bay, along the beach then up onto the cliff footpath (the Cleveland way) back is lovely.
The only down side to the site was that on Good Friday the site became very busy and the facilities were tested to the max! There were long queues for the showers and people were not bothering to mop them up after using so they became dirty.
The site was packed over the bank holiday weekend and was not as tranquil as it had been on the wed and Thurs. However, I suppose this is to be expected anywhere on a bank holiday weekend with nice weather.
We will be going back but would avoid bank hols or height of summer hols!
Would give it 5 stars! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hartleys 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site after being recommended by a friend and if anything, I would say he understated it. This was our first time in a tent and a more picturesque setting will not be easy to find. The facilities are very good and the owners very friendly. We pitched our tent (enjoying the stunning views) then walked down the lovely lane into the village. (10 mins.) After a pub lunch, we made our way back, and sat drinking in the scenery (and the wine) It was perfect weather and a perfect weekend. I would recommend this site to all and look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Itchyfeet1 20 reviews from this member

 When we visited it was a sunny weekend with clear skies and the view of the bay was stunning, even better at night as it was a full moon making the sea shimmer. The amenities are basic but thats not a complaint as everything you needed was there and it all worked perfectly well. Robin hoods bay,about 15mins away, is a quaint little fishing village with 5 pubs all selling decent wobbly legs gear, which doesn't help to conquer the ascent back up that steep hill. GO THERE, IT'S GOOD. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmarkb 1 review from this member

 Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed the time here. As a pretty novice camper I found the amenities and hospitality extremely good. The lady at the site couldn't do enough to help us and went out of her way assist with my sons medication.
The view down over Robin Hoods bay and the headline is truly stunning. I will be using airbeds next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robker 1 review from this member

 Basic site, but with everything you need.  Very clean with hot showers, open air washing-up or in the kitchen if you prefer.  Beautiful view of Robin Hood's Bay - sometimes bad sea mist in the morning but it just adds to the whole experience.  Very friendly and genuinely helpful - made very welcome by Jill who said they set out to feel like they are on holiday with the campers, and they really do. This was our first holiday together and we'll definitely return! Kerry and Rob. Xx 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millsy510 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions of this site and warm welcome from the owners are both excellent. The basic facilities are of a good standard, the bonus being an endless supply of hot water and free showers. The views from the site are unrivalled in 3 years of camping. Excellent pubs and restaurants in Robin Hoods bay. However, check out the butchers in Fylingthorpe who deliver fresh homemade Pizza to the site on a Friday and Sat night.I know its not really basic camping but they are superb with a glass of red wine overlooking the bay. Good Site.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stacy 3 reviews from this member

 We've just spent four nights at this campsite. We found the site to be clean, well maintained and not too crowded.
 
We were a bit worried when we arrived because the site is on a downward slope, but once we got pitched and set up, we didn't really notice it.
 
This site is dog - friendly but owners are supposed to keep them on a lead - a rule which not everybody obeyed.
 
The toilets and showers were kept clean throughout our stay, but be aware that there are only two showers per sex - expect to queue if you go first thing in the morning!
 
Best of all were the owners - very friendly and always on hand to help.
 
There are three pot washing sinks outside, and a further three in the barn, which also has a microwave, kettle and freezer for ice packs. This is at no extra cost.
 
I would definitely recommend it to anyone. We'll be going back! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazey Jane 3 reviews from this member

 The inclusion of this site in a recently-published camping book seems to have done it no favours. After a frantic drive there on a Friday afternoon to secure a pitch (the site takes no bookings) we arrived, breathless, only to find a small-ish, sloping field with tents literally shoe-horned in. Guy ropes were crossing and tents were pitched at some very odd angles to fit in. We were wondering when the live music was going to start, the place looked so much like a summer festival! There was no shade and (I would say) no chance for any privacy whatsoever.
If you could see over the top of the army of tents, I daresay there would be a nice view of Robin Hood's Bay. If you listened hard over the noise of children and two hundred people chatting, I daresay you might be able to hear birds chirping and waves lapping the shore.
Not my idea of enjoyable camping, I'm afraid. We left. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James1979 7 reviews from this member

 BRILLIANT not much more than I can say had everything close to hand, lovely showers amazing views ONLY BAD POINT for me is if you dont have a electric hook-up you can't book and we set off early and glad we did, was busy and by 12pm was full. But the views are beautiful every pitch you see the sea and cliffs 9/10 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ovcubberley 6 reviews from this member

 What a great site!  Even though we couldn't book and were told that the site might well be full (it gets very busy after about 5pm on a Friday if the weather is good) - we thought we'd take a risk. And it was well worth it!  The staff are friendly, the view is amazing and even though the site was full, it has a peaceful atmosphere.
 
The facilities are spotless and free.  The walk down to Robin Hoods Bay takes about 15 mins (and there's a newsagents about 10mins along the route which is handy).  We cycled the 7 miles over to Whitby along the old railway straight from the site.  Definitely lives up to its reputation and we will go back again. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 221 to 230      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3703 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement