Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alfies 2 reviews from this member

What a cracking site! We have stayed here a few times, the facilities are good, toilet/shower blocks are small but there are plenty of them scattered about, and not very far from the main pitches, unless you are on the rally field. We have always found them spotlessly clean, and they are free.

We have stayed on the main site at £14 per night with electrics, and also on the rally field with friends 6 units in total, for £8 per night without electrics. Both stays were equally enjoyable.

The site itself is very pleasant, set alongside a stream, it has level pitches, and is surrounded by trees making this a very sheltered and peaceful site. The staff are very helpful and polite. The shop is reasonably priced and stocks just about everything you could want for camping. There is a childrens play area which is very good for younger children, up to approx age 10.

The nearest supermarket is 10 mins away by car in Edwinstowe. At the far end of the site are three very good fishing lakes, Sherwood Forest Farm Park (Rare breeds farm) is next door, Sherwood Pines is 5 mins up the road, with Go-Ape (an arial assault course, fantastic fun for age 10 plus), cycle hire and good walking. Rufford Park just 15 mins away, and Sherwood forest visitor centre 15 mins too, where you can see the Great Oak, Robin Hood's tree.

Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheff-boy 1 review from this member

This caravan sites web site page does this site no justice. This is very well laid out site. Toilets/showers very well kept as is the site and kids play areas. The site shop is well stocked (at very good prices) A large carboot sale within a short walk also a large fishing lake .

Date of Visit: November 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hurleyburley 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from our first visit to Sherwood Forest. Directions on the website not too good, we had to ring up and ask how to get there. Site very nice though, had a pitch right next to the stream which was lovely. Plenty of nice walks to go on, and Clumber Park is only a short drive away. Showers very clean, but there didn't seem to be any heating on. Pleasant helpful staff, and a nice little shop selling the basics. The only downside is getting to the toilet block. Their is no path, and you have to walk over the grass, which when we left wasn't very pleasant as it had been raining all night, which made it very muddy. Over all though, a very nice site, and will definitely go back for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

I was a bit concerned about this site as it is advertised as a holiday park. I got the impression it may be a bit too commercialised for my liking, but it wasn’t!

We came here accidentally because we weren’t impressed by the site we had originally booked. There was a long drive under a bridge down to the site which is landscaped along the River Maun. The scenery is magnificent as you come down. Ducks, swans pheasants and squirrels can be seen all over the site.

The site is a bit pricey as you pay purely for a pitch whether or not you have an electric hook-up or not, so 6 nights cost £78, but it is a well maintained site. There were 2 play areas for children. A dog walk is next to the entrance to the site with ample doggy bins along the way. There is also a woodland walk at the entrance although we ended up turning back as the path was a bit rough and overgrown (probably just feeling lazy as it was morning!)

There is a small shop with ample supplies and excellent prices. They offer many camping goods with better prices than you would pay online or even from most cheap camping shops. The toilets were very clean and well maintained and there were about 3 toilet blocks across the site.

Nearby there were a number of garages, local pubs and shops (including a superstore nearby!) and a few good farm shops with very tasty food. Beware though, as one night our gas ran out and out of 4 garages none of them offers gas exchange! Therefore I had to buy an overpriced disposable BBQ to finish off tea, but the site offers gas exchange at standard prices during shop opening hours.

This was an excellent site with very relaxing surroundings perfect for a nice get away from it all trip, although probably obviously quite popular with families with children during holidays and at weekends. Would definitely go back again, if in this area.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Champagnegirl26 11 reviews from this member

This site is really big and nicely landscaped. We were in the OAK area, which was right at the end of the site on a lovely field with great walking access around the local fisheries. Pitches were a good size and the lake was lovely with ducks and swans always swimming. The shop was well stocked with basic groceries and camping equipment. The things we found wrong with this site is that there were not enough toilet/shower blocks. there was none in our area and we had to walk into the next section which was quite a walk in the middle of the night! There were then only two showers which always seemed busy so I always hit them at 7.30am to beat the rush! Showers and wash up areas could have been cleaner, but they were bordering on OK. site seemed quiet most nights after 10pm. All in all a good site with a great location for the farm park, (right next door), sherwood forest visitors centre, sherwood pines and clumber park. Will certainly be back in the future!

Reviewer: Keri 1 review from this member

July 2005
On arriving went to the reception and was told there was no record of our booking I explained that I had booked and paid for our stay in full the week before, and had the receipt at home to prove it.
The staff were helpful and although they didn't really have room for us they found us a pitch.
This was our first camping trip and apart from the mix up at the start we had a great weekend, and being from the local area couldn't get over the fact we felt miles away from home.
The campsite is really beautiful, the facilities were very clean, the shop was very reasonable selling lots of camping equiptment, our kids had a whale of time in a very safe environment, we will definately be visiting again. many thanks

Reviewer: Woofy 6 reviews from this member

July 2005
Our first attempt at a weekend camp trip.

Ideal site close to home. The site is generally weel maintained, toilets and shower blocks cleaned throughout the day.

The site was fully booked, which as previously mentioned made it a little cramped especially for our vango, however we wer in a group that booked 4 pitches together on "Beeches" section so we managed to fit everyone in with out upsetting other campers.

Camp shop very limited but has essentials if you have forgotten anything. In ourcase tomato ketchup!!!

To sum up a great experience 2 nights away and it felt like we had a week away, really relaxing and would recomend to all.

Reviewer: Jo mitchell 2 reviews from this member

July 2005
This is a lovely pretty site with a stream running through the middle, really well situated for touring, unfortunatly that is the end of the positive bit, we found the site to be overcrowded, noisy and dirty, the showers and toilets were filthy though not the fault of the owners, but if they are going to cram so many campers onto the site, then they should clean the toilets etc more often, but in my opinion the facilities apart from being in need of an update are inadequate for a very busy site,.

There was rubbish left all over and the field that we were on looked like a land fill site when we left at about 10.30am, wear wellies when fetching water or get muddy, cheap and dreadfull but you get what you pay for... pay more next time

Reviewer: Pipforbes 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
We have been visiting this site for years and I have to say, I find it difficult to drag myself away anywhere else.
We live about 1/2 an hour away, so it makes perfect sense!
The location is beyond belief, surrounded by trees and wildlife.
We have been visited during the night by foxes and a badger, while we lie and listen to the owls and cuckoos...... paradise on our doorstep.

Add that to the great staff, who are very obliging and the large pitches, why would you go anywhere else for the weekend!!!
Sherwood, we love you!!

Reviewer: Nuttycousin 2 reviews from this member

September 2004
First time we have been here. Excellent value and at £12.50 inc elec it does not break the bank!!!

Kids loved it, toilets spotless and clean. Staff were so friendly. Even to the fact when my friend went to the shop for some sugar and they had run out that they went home and got her some.....

Will be back soon. Highly recommend to all ages

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016