Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alison Collier 24 reviews from this member

Have already left one review for this site but thought that I would mention that we have been back again. Had another lovely weekend and were informed that they have planning permission and intend to erect a further toilet/shower block to ease congestion in main season. They also have porta toilets on site until the new block is ready.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Heleno65 1 review from this member

Went here at the weekend, a first trip for us, I selected this site as it had good reviews and a bar and a playground but I think next time we would go somewhere smaller and cleaner. It is not the fault of the site but more the people who use it, why don't they wipe up after themselves when using the sinks or showers, and we found the people using the site to be noisy. The site did need more amenity blocks, having been in france and seen how they do camping over there I wonder why we can't have the same high standards.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Andi F 1 review from this member

Visited Greenhills for the weekend after recommendations from friends. We were very pleased we could choose our own pitch out of four fields. As this was our first time we picked a reasonably level one. The facilities were good. A playground for the children a well stocked camp shop, bar serving snacks and a reception with info on places to visit.

The toilets and showers were spotless and no queuing in the ladies even though the site was busy. Plentiful hot water supply for washing up. A good site for families. Plenty of places to visit in the area and 5 minutes from Bakewell.

Would recommend a visit to Chatsworth playground and animal farm if you have children admission 4.25 each. car park 1.50

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Mrs sutton 7 reviews from this member

Spent a 2 night break at this site, booked at last minute, but was very pleased with the pitch we were given upon our arrival. The pitch was very close to reception / bar / amenity block, level pitch with electric hook up.

Will re-iterate previous comments about the amenity block, it appears that this is the only block for the site, and there are several camping fields, which when busy I can imagine that the showers get very busy.

The only downside was that to eat out, you either need a car or enjoy a brisk walk. We tried the Grouse and Claret which had an extensive menu to choose from and also one of the pubs in Bakewell - both were value for money!

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Loopster123 2 reviews from this member

Got back from this site on Sun & WOW! We had a fantastic weekend ( though the weather could have been better!) This is a wonderful site. The showers were clean with hot water. The shop sold everything we needed & more as my kids found out. The bar overlooked the play area which suited my hubby well! This is a fantastic site if you have kids but if your looking for a nice peacful site then maybe this isn't the one for you.
We loved it so much we're going back again in 2 weeks ( can't wait)
Try this site you won't be dissapointed.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Ellibancke 7 reviews from this member

Nice site, situated just outside Bakewell, It was our first time as caravanners, We had a lovely flat pitch, with nice views accross the valley towards Ashford. Busy weekend, but staff were helpful. There was entertainment of sorts in the bar. We walked into Ashford village 15 mins stroll,where there were a couple of pubs both serving food. The only down side was that we were situated close to the childrens play area. I'm sure if you have children this would be a really nice site they seemed to really enjoy themselves.

Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Louise L 2 reviews from this member

What a great camp site! We stayed here with our 3 young children for 2 nights and had a brill time. We were able to pitch our tent within site of the play area and felt it was safe enough for our kids to go to and from here by themselves. The bar is conveniently located next to the play area so you can see the kids while you have a drink! The showers and toilets were clean and the shop was not expensive. We will be going back again.

Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Alison Collier 24 reviews from this member

We were on the electric hook-up field at this site and spent a few wonderful days with them. The weather was awful but this did not detract from our enjoyment. The site has a lovely pub with reasonable prices, a well stocked camp shop with some inspirational purchases and a shower block, laundry and all other usual amenities. The site was clean and friendly and we have already booked our next visit in September. We have three small children and found this site to be a carefree environment for our children.

Reviewer: Mamf 3 reviews from this member

April 2005
Just returned may bank holiday, first trip. Nice area and beautiful views all around. Camping fields not flat and it was very water logged as it had been raining alot. Avoid the bottom field if there is rain forcast as cars got stuck and needed a tractor to get them out. The loos were a little dirty and not enough hot water, it was very busy and to be honest, the site could do with another shower block and pot wash area. Well stocked shop and nice play area, nice little bar, bit on the expensive side. Very helpful/friendly staff.
Tent were pitched quite close together, but the site was full. Wouldn't think it was much good for those who wanted peace and quiet, lots of kids (I have 4) and music.

Despite the huge amounts of rain, it was lovely and a great place to visit surrounding areas, Bakewell, lovely and Matlock etc...

Reviewer: Vibranttrolley 1 review from this member

August 2004
Great central location for touring the Peak District / Derbyshire Dales. Many local tourist sites within comfortable driving distance including Matlock and Castleton.
Site was nice and quiet, even though we visited in the school summer holidays.
Toilet block and showers were OK (perhaps need a more regular clean).
As a tent user, my main grumble was the large waste disposal area sited right next to the tent field we were given. This was a BIG skip, overflowing with everyone's rubbish. It was a hot summer week, and I'm sure you can imagine what kinds of insects were swarming all over the area. Luckily I spotted this hazard just as we were setting up the tent, so we moved to the bottom end of the same field.
Field was not flat, but we were lucky to find a level spot.
The views from the sight are magnificent, and overall I would recommend the site.
Kids liked the play area, though it was too dark in the evenings.
The on-site 'pub' was OK, but felt a bit like a 'local' pub. When we walked in, it went very quiet, and everyone turned to stare at us!

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019