Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Rochie1711 4 reviews from this member

July 2005
Spent 5 days at Rivendale last week. This was our first camping trip in our new tent (Vango Diablo 600) Our thoughts were that this camp was very good. We were on the 'main'camping siteand close to all the ammenities. The staff were very helpful. The sight was very clean and the shower block superb (Another key would have be nice!)
Used the bar just the once and thought it was resonable and food good. Hope to return next year.

Reviewer: Penelope9 1 review from this member

July 2005
Rivendale was recommended to us by two sets of friends who had camped in the quarry section of the site, so we were a bit concerned when only offered the "overflow field". It turned out we thought the field was better! The views are beautiful, the ground good and the field forms a loop around a large group of mature trees and wildflowers, if spoiled just a little by road noise (not so bad if you're on the left hand side of the loop).

The Prancing Pony bar has a child-free barn-style lounge packed with comfy old sofas, perfect after a day's cycling or walking. Highly recommended - and look out for the rabbits!!

Reviewer: Pinkkaren 2 reviews from this member

July 2005
Have just returned from Rivendale. Weather was dreadful but despite this enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly, washing up facilities were a bit poor 3 cramped (and I mean cramped) sinks situated outside, but apart from this the site was great, the on site pub was a welcome place to get warm!!!!

Reviewer: Lin1 1 review from this member

July 2005
Oh dear! Just had really BAD experience at this site. Had decided to go after reading its brilliant website and understanding it had lots of brilliant facilities. Well this may have been true - but we were not ALLOWED to use them. Having booked and paid 2 months in advance our party were out in the overspill field, complete with noisy road and terrible shower block. Think 2 porta cabins, no locks on showers, and not too clean. It was also a bit of a building site, which we hope is the owners about to update this side of the site, in which case things would be much better. On arrival we were informed we were not allowed to use the facilities on the other side of the site - where the photos for the website were taken, including the immaculate shower block other reviewers have described.

I would not call this a bad site, it had lots to offer, including a gorgeous setting and well stocked shop, but my hopes were severely dashed when we were not given the facilities we thought we had paid for. Overall, if you check about which side you'll be in when booking, you'll be fine. Just don't expect the top quality facilities in the overspill.

However, the plus side of the overspill was that it was v big, so plenty of room for all and it wasn't specifically marked out, regimented pitches - just a field where you pitch where you want. Also some great big trees for the kids toplay in.

Reviewer: Drzjohn 3 reviews from this member

July 2005
This is a very local site (only 1/2 hour away from home) but we would only go back if we couldn't get in anywhere else. One major niggle is the ridiculous barrier system they have in place from 5pm sunday to thursday and 10pm friday and saturday. Also only having one key per pitch for the toilet block at a refundable price of 10. What happens when one of your children go off with it and you are cut short. We were woken up at 2am by people going back to their pitches on the Friday night and on the Saturday night we were woken again at 1am this time with someone "howling", laughing and generally being noisy and this set off many of the dogs nearby barking.

We did book this site late on and only got a hard standing pitch which we did find a litle unforgiving especially for our 1 1/2 year daughter ( lots of tumbles ) The pitch wasn't huge, our caravan and awning filled the pitch and we had to park sideways in front of it.

Reviewer: Martinigirl21 6 reviews from this member

June 2005
Have just returned from weekend away with family and friends (14 in total)Site was great- staff friendly/ site lovely/ toilets and showers superb! Teenagers were worried that it might be too quiet for them but once we got the cricket match up and running, they thought it was great!In fact, there was a karaoke night in the Prancing Pony but none of the youngsters asked to go!
Will be returning soon!

Reviewer: Eviledna 10 reviews from this member

May 2005
Just spent two nights here on the 'top' field, which is away from the main part. Although the weather was wet the field in the main stayed firm and not so muddy. There were porta cabins for toilets and showers, water and pot washing facilites on field which was loads better than tramping to the other bit. The shop and pub were nice and very dog friendly. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, only 1 problem and that was lots of bent tent pegs due to huge number of stones etc under grass!!

Worth a visit for a short stay.

Reviewer: Drazzi 5 reviews from this member

May 2005
Great site, pitches well spaced out. Basic play area but kept the kids occupied. Could do with more pot wash places around the site. Very dog friendly even in the bar. Shower/toilet block very good and clean.
Very friendly staff. Will visit again

Reviewer: Eddy4973 6 reviews from this member

February 2005
I had taken my girlfriend 4 valentines + her birthday! This is a nicely set out camping / caravan park surrounded on two sides by cliffs and with newly planted hedges between plots it feels very private..
Just off main road but we never heard a thing! The shop was well stocked, the meals in the pub were very nice! Ideal for getting away from it all... Eddy

Reviewer: Retech 2 reviews from this member

October 2004
We have just come back form our very 1st caravan trip and we went to this site and boy what a lovely site it is, You can not fail to be impressed with the steep cliff faces. Toilets are clean and the showers are hot. The site is in an old quarry and is nice and peaceful. There is a small play area for the kids and a pub on site which also does food. The bar is small so I would say at peak times would get a bit over full but there is seating outside with a bbq as well. We went on Halloween and they had a fancy dress disco on there. All in all we had a very nice time and we shell be returning very soon.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019