Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 231 to 240                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahalst21 35 reviews from this member

 This site just gets better and better. Unrivalled sea views. A warm welcome and great facilities. A brand new kitchen this year with microwave, kettle and washing up sinks. It's just great and can't wait to go back here.

As you can imagine it does get very busy and you can't book so my advice is get there early on the day you are going. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gailsey 1 review from this member

 I took my six year old daughter here for one night as a mummy/daughter bonding session! I had telephoned in advance to check if I needed to book, and spoke to a really helpful man who gave me great directions. From the moment we arrived, Gill, the lady at the reception point was fantastic. She advised us on a great quiet spot, and was always around to offer information and an easy route down to the bay avoiding the main road. The toilets and showers were great, and there was also a separate field which lots of children were paying ball games on. As quite an over protective mum, I was really pleased that my daughter could meet other children in an enclosed environment. The campsite had a great atmosphere and I noticed a lot of musical instruments being played throughout the day, and respectfully quiet at night time. I would recommend this site for all ages as the view and the welcome was unbeatable.  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Satori 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights at Hooks House over the late may Bank Holiday Weekend. The site is excellent for people wishing to visit Whitby, it is about 5/10 minutes drive along the road and the campsite is on a Long hill over looking robin Hoods bay, which can be seen from the Campsite.

The campsite is clean and very well maintained, the wc's and the showers are in portacabins and are all very clean. The showers are free with a push button to operate, there are wash up basins, a kettle and a microwave in a little stone building and there are also 4 wash up basins outside.

Overall the campsite is very large and there is a lot of room for groups of people with children. The campsite is on a long gradual slope but there are many flat area's.

The cost for pitching your tent was 5.50 per person regardless of number of cars or tents. There were mats down so the Road down the site doesn't get bogged down when wet. Our only complaint was that it was too cold and windy but you can't blame the campsite for that. It is nice little walk about 20 minutes down the hill to a nice pub at the top of the slope to Robin Hoods bay.

If you choose to stay at this campsite you will have a lovely time but unless you go at the very heights of summer then take a jumper or two.  


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saville 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the site and even though it was a lot busier than our first visit in may we did not have any problems with the showers or toilets. Everybody was friendly and there was no late night noise. Gill and her staff were as friendly as they had been the time before and there if you needed them. We had trouble with our hook up as it wasnt long enough and the lent us an extension.

We had great weather and as we brought our dog we spent a lot of the time on the beach in Whitby. If you go to West Cliffe then you can take your dog on the beach there. There is a lovely beach at Sandsend that Gill told us about that dogs can go on. We had young children with us so we were given a pitch away from the road and had a great view over the bay.
Looking forward to our next visit next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Sundae 2 reviews from this member

 My wife, our 4 month old baby and I stayed at hooks house in September 2005, we found the site to be excellent, with good clean toilets and showers, helpful staff and very good views over the bay.

We paid 13 per night including electric hook-up for the 3 of us in our caravan. A short walk (15 mins) into Robin Hoods Bay is definitely worth it, the Victoria hotel serves fantastic evening meals and has Stella on tap. The site well located and is easy to find.
 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Karatejan 17 reviews from this member

 Stunning views can not beat them. Near a road but is not busy and you dont notice it. Very steap field can imagine it being bad to get out in bad weather. Toilets where clean and the pot washing water was very hot. Very basic though porta cabin stlye.

Its a working farm so seeing the lambs realy impressed my 4 year old. Will go back but just a short stay. Just for the views its worth it. We thought it quite expensive though. 


Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gemma-lu 7 reviews from this member

 August 2005
We have just come back from a long weekend break at hooks house - it was fantastic! It was our first ever camping trip and it was definiteley one to remember!!! The three of us and our dog turned up on the thursday lunchtime and Paul who greeted us and booked us in, was very helpful and showed us where all the facilities where and whereabouts we could pitch our tent. He was also quite helpful when our tent sprang a leak! Jill was always cleaning something whenever we saw her or walking round the site making sure everyone and everything was ok.
The loos are clean and the showers are lovely and warm (and free) and there is a barn with a sink and kettle as well as pot wash points which we found useful. We paid 4.50 per person per night and the dog and the car were free. There is an amazing view of the bay from the site and some lovely countryside walks down into the bay (with a nice fish and chip shop at the bottom of the hill near The Bay pub). Dogs are allowed on the beach at the bottom of the hill - this is the only one we could find though as most of Whitby doesn't allow dogs on the beach.
Just a short drive into Whitby, this site is ideally placed if you want the benefits of both the quiet countryside and buzzing seaside. We got used to hearing the sheep in the morning and miss them now we have come home! We will definitely be going back to this site - can't wait! 


Reviewer: Pudding 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Well what a view, most stunning view over Robin Hoods Bay. This was the first time I had been camping for nearly 20 years. We use a caravan and use Caravan Club Sites mostly. Can not fairly compare to other sites as Club sites are in the main exceptional.
The Loos where clean, showers kept as clean as possible. The site was a gentle slope and drained well even after 3 days or rain.
Owner was very pleasant and polite. Would like to have seen soap and a towel in toilets and a mop bucket to clean mops for showers.
Nice foot path down to Robin Hoods Bay so you do not have to walk down the road side, much safer with children.
We will be going back, great time was had. Enjoyed back to basics of camping. 


Reviewer: Sonesta 5 reviews from this member

 June 2005
What can I say to express just how wonderful the views are from this excellent site? I don't think any words can describe just how stunning a location this campsite holds over Robin Hoods Bay and the Moors - it was breathtaking!

The site is situated on a working farm and the facilities are basic but clean and the showers offered plenty of hot water and were roomy.

We pitched our motorhome quite easily considering the site is very sloping but we did need to use our levelling blocks.
The night we stayed was a gloriously red hot evening and we lit a bbq and sat outside soaking up the atmosphere and the awesome views, as were most of our fellow campers and everyone just seemed as chilled out and relaxed as we were. The campsite was blissfully peaceful despite being next to a road but what it would be like in the middle of the school holidays and all the traffic that must pass by I cannot say.

The lady who owns the site is a very friendly and helpful lady and her campsite is a credit to her. We will definitely return to this site and can highly recommend it to anyone visitng North Yorkshire and it would be an ideal base from which to tour Yorkshire and the Moors etc - I do not think you will find anywhere with better views in the area.

So if you are looking for a peaceful campsite with superb views over Robin Hoods Bay and the Moors - then this is the campsite for you and I guarentee you will not be dissapointed. 


Reviewer: Saville 2 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just returned from a great 5 days at this site. The staff are very helpful and always there to give you advice or help if you need it. The toilets and shower blocks are very clean. Loads of space for the kids to play and the view over Robin Hoods Bay is fantastic, just remember you are on a cliff top so it is quite windy at times. Will definitely be returning to this site. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 231 to 240      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement