Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Woodhouse Farm Caravan Park
Winksley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3PG
Tel: 01765 658309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: Mid March To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 261 Reviews
                9/10 from 261 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  261 in total, now showing 241 to 250                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Jamesemma 1 review from this member

June 2005
Just returned after 4 nights on this site. Pitches excellent, and site well maintained. Shower block / toilet very clean. Good area to stay with many attractions close by - Fountains Abbey, Ripon, and York (45 mins). Good facilities for children (ours 3 & 5. Ate in restaurant on our last night (20 for the 4 of us - steak pie good). Picturesque fishing lake (2 for evening ticket). Would recommend and hope to return soon.

Reviewer: Lesleyjb 2 reviews from this member

April 2005
Just returned early from this campsite over the bank holiday weekend, and have to agree whole heartedly with the previous review.

It was fairly muddy when we arrived, but after a night and morning of rain it turned into a mud bath. We were unable to sit outside because of the amount of mud when the weather did turn better, but any amount of time stood in the mud and you sunk.

Other sites have telephoned before hand and warned before hand of conditions and it would have been considerate of her to do this as conditions were appalling.

Reviewer: Cumbrian_girl 7 reviews from this member

March 2005
Just return from our first camping trip of the year, and the most disastrous one I ever had in all my years of camping. I went based on the reviews here, but nowhere does it mention what happens if it rains. So let me fill you in. We were in the Paddock area, where the large standard tent pitches were. The ground is like clay and great for just pushing tent pegs in, but incredibly soft too. Easter Sunday and every tent there, bar us vanished in the morning. We thought this was strange, it's only rain, and we set off about our day, only to find when we got back why everyone had left. The pitch was now a bog, flooded in the middle of the site, and saturated with water everywhere else, it felt like walking through a bog. There is NO gravel path at all onto the field, this usually annoys me on any campsite, but even more so on here, considering what happens when it rains.
We made the decision to pack up in the pouring rain and head home now, any more rain, and gawd knows what might of happened. Next fun trying to get out of the campsite, we just slid on the hill, nearly into some poor persons caravan. Wrecking their wind-break, and knocking over their BBQ and hot coals everywhere. But then the strangest thing happened, you wouldn't have forgiven them if they went mad. But they didn't, and actually helped us get our car of the field. The kindest of strangers huh.
As for the facilites, if you are still interested, there was a outside lit washing up area, a laundarette, which we never used so can't comment. Toilets were fine, reasonably clean, and showers were free and hot, but when the morning rush starts, they loose all water pressure, there was no divide between the shower area, and the drying area. Hence no drying area, in the cubicle. In the dry this campsite is probably fine, but with the great British weather, how can we guarantee fine weather!!

Reviewer: Juniep 8 reviews from this member

September 2004
Just returned from excellent weekend at Woodhouse Farm. Owners very friendly, tent pitches nice and level, and lots of pitches to choose from at this time of year! Free hot showers, washing-up area, everything clean. Good real ale in the pub on site. The weather was good too - what more can you wish for!

Reviewer: Cbfc 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
It was Bank holiday weekend, we had an excellent time here plenty of room, they could have filled it with another 100 tents if they wanted, but they had a sign up bookings only. Excellent home made food served in the bar, hot water in the showers and washing up, the showers were always spotless, the staff always acknowledged you - they were all very friendly.
No litter anywhere. I have camped in quite a lot of places and I could not find fault at all with this site, I will definatly be going again. AAAAAAAA+++++++

Reviewer: Nai Stteb 3 reviews from this member

7/8/9th August 2004
Went with friends who were on 1st camping trip, Ended up in the overspill field as other fields only options would have been in the middle, but was fine and kids had loads of space to play (cricket mainly!!) although on last night everyone had deserted us and we were only ones in the field left, spooky in the dark!!!!

New toilet block was excellent, nice and clean and hot showers, although water from taps was somewhat slow when lots of people using taps etc at the same time, good little onsite shop although only open 2 x 2hr per day, did not try bar and restaurant bit did seem popular everytime we went passed, owners seemed to be very friendly and helpful. Good walk around lake and lots of other paths leading off it, 3 differant play areas for kids with yer standard stuff, swings/slide etc. On the whole lovely site tucked out of the way but only 4 miles from Ripon definitely one to recommend

Reviewer: steve38 2 reviews from this member

August 2004
Very nice site, best one I've been to so far. Very clean tidy shower blocks new and always well kept. Shop onsite but not open long enough. Bar and restaurant excellent black sheep 2.00 pint!!! Lots to do in area, Ripon market day Thursday. Would go again without a doubt.

Reviewer: frankiedees 2 reviews from this member

july 2004
Just got home from this site. As we were leaving we booked for 2 weeks time.

Ideally located for Harrogate, Ripon, Ripley Castle etc.

Lovely friendly people and amenities were outstanding. Hot water plentiful in the showers.

Great play areas for the children. We had a 5 year old, 3year old, 10 month old baby and a dog.

There is a walk for the dogs to run free and for exercising.

We ate in the Woodhouse barn bar/restaurant on site and the food was outstanding. Very freindly and clean site and can't wait for two weeks time.

Reviewer: dall 2 reviews from this member

July 2004
very large very friendly site. Safe site for the kids to run about but the park was a bit dated although 3 areas to play on site and kids loved the freedom.
New toilet block clean and heated hairdryer blows cold though! Recommend showers in the morning because water cold at night.
Recommend a meal on site in the new bar as excellent home cooked.
Shop stocks local produce although ask for it as sells quick, fresh bread and milk and bacon excellent. Lots to do in area and really recommend Light Water Valley, Fountains Abbey and park and ride to york. Will definately return.

Reviewer: oneof8 10 reviews from this member

Whit Week 2004
Lovely site run by lovely people!
The only problems were the rush for the showers and that we had to come home!!!
The food at the restaurant there is homemade, plentiful and worth the money. We found the showers empty between 7 and 8, I think everyone goes to bed between 8 and 9.30, if you go after that there'll be little hot water, or you can pay 20p and use the old block.
We will definatley be going back!!

Previous     261 Reviews in total, now showing 241 to 250      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019