Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 241 to 250                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Jonycoupster 6 reviews from this member

July 2004
Very nice site...enjoyed our stay although a little noisy on our pitch but you can't have everything. A very friendly and inviting bar and staff...Nice site. Toilet block however very dirty later on in the day and you have to be there very early for the hot shower lottery!

Reviewer: Alan T 1 review from this member

August 2004
Arrived on a friday evening after it had rained all day, grass was waterlogged and pitch was sloping.
Site was full so was quite rowdy and pitches are very close to each other.
Toilet block was disapointing, not enough showers and toilets for the amount of campers.
Good location though, very close to Bakewell, but we won't be returning.

Reviewer: GORDON SHARP 1 review from this member

July 2004
Site is easy to find due to being just off the main road.
Fees are bit expensive but they know that they can charge so much due to being ideally located for most White Peak attractions.
Well situated for excellent walk to the beautiful village of Ashford in the Water and on to the magnificent Manifold Valley. Also, it takes about 20 minutes to walk into Bakewell.

Reviewer: Cornthwaite 2 reviews from this member

9th - 11th July 04
First time at this site, in a very good location the views were stunning.
The site has a well stocked shop, bar and play area for the kids with a seperate playing field.
A well managed site, the only down sides were "hot" water does not last much after 8.30 am, site was full so all the showers etc soon drained the supply and the same again around 6.30 pm.
The fields are all seperated by fences and some were a on a slope.
We had a good stay and would visit again.

Rating:
Reviewer: mike1971 3 reviews from this member

June 2004
Greenhills is a good place to go camping. It would however be a great place if the amenity block was modernised. That said though the positives do out-weigh the negatives.
The location is good, just outside Bakewell with good views. The site is very clean & tidy. The staff are very friendly & Helpful. The Pub was very good, with entertainment while we were there.
The shop was good, small but good. The Adventure playground was good, good enough to keep our 2 children occupied while we had a drink at the pub!
The camping pitches were good (a little hilly in places, but still good).
I would reccommend this campsite to others, it is one of the best I've seen. The showers are not the worst I've seen, they just stop this site from being great!
On the wall in the pub there are aerial photos showing Greenhills expansion over the years, very impressive. The photo from 1976 however shows a very small touring site with exactly the same shower block still in use today!
It's about time this site was great.

Reviewer: jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

June 2004
This is a great site if you have kids, but as we don't we found it a bit noisy and crowded. The location is excellent, close to Bakewell and the pretty village of Ashford on the Water, where the local shop is a gem! The toilet, shower facilities are very dated and a bit smelly. All in all, a good family site, but not really my idea of a relaxed peak district destination.

Reviewer: cramarion 2 reviews from this member

September 2003
Just got back after weekend visit, will be returning again but a couple of gripes, you need to be in the showers pretty early or the water isn't hot, especially when people are doing the breakfast dishes.

Took grandchildren for their first time camping and they thought it was great to be playing out at 9pm on the playground, but some sort of lighting is needed so they can see where they are climbing.

All in all a clean tidy site friendly staff, a good time had by all.

Reviewer: tess

august 2003
We stayed over the bank holiday arriving on the saturday evening and leaving on the tuesday morning.We was made very welcome and found a pitch quite easy as it was very busy.The playpark is great for the kids and the play field is just as good.There is a lovely pub which sells real ale (which was kepted well)and the children are very welcome in the pub.

Reviewer: Suzanne

August 2003
Just arrived home after a week's holiday at Greenhills. Excellent site for families although was fairly noisy some nights with some of the older children staying up till gone 11p.m.(then again, that was probably our own fault for pitching right next to the play park!) I don't know why everyone is complaining about the shower block - I went expecting the worst after reading these reviews and was pleasantly surprised - the temperature of showers is the most important thing for me and they have got it just right here. Plenty of toilets - 10 I think I counted, and 4 showeres. There was only one morning where I had to wait 10 mimutes for a shower which was pretty good for a busy campsite. If we're in the area we would definitely go back.

Reviewer: Celia

June 03
We have been camping here several times and it has usually been very pleasant but this last time the site was very busy and extra camping fields have been added without upgrading the shower and toilet facilities. On the Saturday night there were several rowdy groups, including one lot who returned at 2am with music blaring and revving of car engines.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 241 to 250      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019