Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 241 to 250                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Jonty 2 reviews from this member

 March 2005
Lovely site great value with clean showers and toilets. Unfortunatley the fog was so bad over Easter that we couldn't see the views but will make every effort to return in summer. 10 minute walk to the pub. Excellent fish 'n' chips served there with real homemade chips!! 


Reviewer: Dave Kirkman 1 review from this member

 April 2004
Brilliant views and a short walk to Bay town. Bus 100 yards from site to Whitby. Jill is a warm and friendly lady who never stops working! Is always willing to help. Looking forward to meeting again and she was right about the local Strongarm beer!
I truly will go back here time and time again, site is spotless and Jills fella even put my van in place when car got stuck!
Lovely people, genuine, warm and friendly - going back end of March, just hope weather is ok!
A place in my heart belongs to the Bay, sat outside at night watching the moonlight dance on the bay with a glass of wine just perfect! 10/10 


Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Riff 15 reviews from this member

 April & Sep 2003, April 2004
Despite being fairly basic, this is one of my very favourite campsites. The loos and showers are clean and at 4.50 a night, good value for money.

The site is useful for accessing the North Yorkshire Coast. There is a bus service that runs all the way from Middlesborough to Scarborough through the day (check evenings) and the bus stop is right outside the campsite!

The views I get from my tent are like no other (including Scotland) as you can see right across the Bay and down to Ravenscar and beyond. The only downside is the steep climb from Robin Hoods Bay itself back to the site.

Highly recommended site. 


Reviewer: Hazel 35 reviews from this member

 17th-20th May 2004
Return visit to this lovely site. The views are as amazing as ever. The facilities good, with a lovely new ladies toilet block and changing area.
Don't think you will find a better site in the area.
Yes it will be busy in holiday times, but tell me what site isn't? That's because it's so lovely there.
We struck lucky, very few people on site and such splendid weather, who could want for more. 


Reviewer: hookshouse farm 1 review from this member

 April 2004
Thank you for your comments, which we appreciate. Pleased to say facilities were refurbished and improved in August 2003. Also at busy times a second field is provided for children ( and adults ) to play in! Our aim is to please, to offer a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere for everyone camping within a farming community. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: stu fox 3 reviews from this member

 August 2003
The site was basic but facilities were well kept and clean, in the barn there is a kettle to use which we found useful, however at 4.50 per person per night it was fairly expensive. There was no facilities for children and we found that our dog was very restricted as the site was busy. The best thing without doubt where the stunning views of Robin Hoods Bay, a beautiful fishing village with a local shop that had a wide range of stock, good pubs and walks. We will be going back to Robin Hoods Bay but will probably try a different site. 


Reviewer: lou

 July 02
I found the staff very nice and friendly and the views were beautiful but i do have to agree there wasnit a lot of facilities and my children got a little bored on the site. The toilet and showers were very basic and I do feel that the site was a bit over priced for this. I paid around 9per night for me and 2 kids in a small tent.
Other than that i did find the site to be quiet of a evening  


Reviewer: claire

 may 03
Hooks House Farm is the most pleasant camp site I have visited. The views alone are better than any other in the area.
The owners are really helpful and friendly and the toilets/showers are always clean.
I have spent many holidays here and will continue to do so! 


Reviewer: Lisa Berrett 6 reviews from this member

 June 2003
The best thing about this site is without doubt the view, its wonderful.

The field is on a gentle slope, with no play area. By Saturday lunch time the site was very busy and that left very little space for the kids to play they had to stay outside our tent, I would rather their ball landed on our tent/car than someone else's.

The facilities were very poor, with 1 ladies toilet, and another 2 unisex toilets that were located in the barn, which also housed the washing up sinks and wash rooms. I felt uncomfortable going to the loo when there were people stood 2 feet away washing up or queueing up to have a wash. There were 2 showers, and even though the weather was very hot none of us felt inspired to try the showers, they looked okay. The facilities were kept clean though.

It wasn't cheap, it cost us 28 for 2 nights, that was for 2 adults and 3 children. We have been to much better sites that were cheaper than this and have areas set aside for kids to play, (no one really appreciates them playing next to their car), and have plenty of toilets/showers with a little bit of privacy thrown in.

 


Reviewer: Hazel 35 reviews from this member

 5/7June2003
Great campsite, with amazing views of Robin Hoods Bay from all pitches. A large fairly flat field for tents and caravans.
Hookshouse is owned and run by a really friendly and very helpful couple.
The facilities are good with free showers and plenty of hot water.
They also have a self catering caravan, holiday cottage and if you wish to take your horse along, they even do DIY livery.
Well worth a visit and ideally situated to tour that part of the East Coast. We shall certainly be going back 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 241 to 250     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3955 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement