Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Sherwood Forest Holiday Park
Gorsethorpe Lane
Nr Edwinstowe
Mansfield
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG21 9HW   See Map
Tel: 01623 823132
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 electric 50 non-electric
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: fruitysuet 10 reviews from this member

April 2004
Just spent two nights here - booked very short notice and from the looks of things when we got to site we were lucky to get in!

This is a pretty site but parents note that many of the pitches back on to the river which flows through the site. I had been pre-warned (seen the pics on their website) and asked to be pitched away from easy access to water which meant we were put down the furthest end of the site.

We found the pitches to be spacious (although this was helped by having an empty pitch between us the motorhome next but one pitch to us. Tents with hook ups are in the same areas as tourers which could be helpful for friends camping out together.

The play areas were small but well maintained and this is an excellent site for the kids to cycle on. The streams really lend themselves for paddling in (showers will be needed afterwards due to the dirt from the stream bed rather than the water which seemed very clear to me!).

What else - a good little shop but no fresh produce, fishing on site (we don't fish so no comment on this).

Apparently this site gets booked up for the main weeks well in advance and also there are a lot of long stayers here - with a waiting list of 2 years if you so felt like joining them!

The showers and toilets were very clean all throughout the weekend.

There are lots of lovely walks around and about and there is a massive Sunday car boot just around the corner.

We spent Saturday at the Sherwood Farm Park which was just up the road - lambs and piglets galore - a lovely place which was good value given that we got half price entry vouchers from the caravan reception!

Will most definitely be visiting here again - if we can get in - as it is only 40 minutes away from our home!

Reviewer: debb 3 reviews from this member

April 2004
This is a lovely site with a stream running through it and lots of friendly ducks. Our kids were happy playing in the enclosed play area and riding their bikes around the site. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We needed to change the dates we were staying at short notice and there was no problem with this. Shower block clean with plenty of hot water.
Only complaint was the noise from older kids around the play area which went on quite late.
Site is very close to Sherwood Pines Forest which is excellent for cycling, even with our young children.
We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer: djnewton 8 reviews from this member

19th September 2003
What a superb site. Set in woodland with a river and a lake, an idylic place to visit well recommended. On site shop is excellent and staff very helpful, polite and friendly. The toilet facilities are very clean and would be even cleaner if people cleaned up after themselves, especially at the pot wash facilities.

I will certailnly be visiting here again as there is lots to do in the area and lots of walks available for me and my dog from the site. I especially liked the car boot on Sunday which was a few minutes walk away. Keep up the good work guys and I'll see you again.

Reviewer: Doris 15 reviews from this member

Early August 2003
A nice family site.
Showers were ok, but could do with a little maintenance-but FREE, so can live with that.
The site was quite busy when we went, school hols etc.. but a nice friendly site with a nice play area for kids to let there hair down etc..
Plenty of kids swimming in the stream, not sure i'd want to as it looked a bit dirty, but kids are kids.
A well stocked shop on site with all the everday essentials plus a good range of camping equipment at reasonable prices.
Close to lots of amenities such as Sherwood Forest and Sherwood Pines ( excellent for off road cycling) The quait village of Edwinstowe is just 3 miles away where you will find a few shops, some nice pubs and a late stop co-op.
Generally a good site.
We will definately go back to this site, i'll just remeber my flip flops for the showers :-)

Reviewer: Mark

Sept 2002, April 2003
I have nothing but superlatives to say about this site. Staff excellent and will help out with anything above and beyond their resposibilities. Newspapers are now available(but be quick). The shop is excellent value for money. I disagree with other comments as I thought that the standard of cleanliness throughout the site was fantastic. The site would lose some of its character if it had a pub on site. I do feel that it would benefit with more spaced out toilet/shower facilites as they can be some distance if you are inbetween blocks. Whilst there last time I spoke to people who have been there many times and will keep returning, as are we.

Reviewer: Sarah

April 2003
Just can't keep away from this site. We took bikes & I had a puncture (as usual) the site owner even offered to lend us his bike which is very brave of him as I manage to get punctures regularly! Anyway we fixed the bike having purchased a repair outfit from the well stocked shop!?!?!and off we went around Sherwood which was brilliant and only a short ride from the site. I have got to say we never heard the trains, but its a good sized site and you can request not to be in a kiddy or train area. We like to be next to the water but obviously that is not a good idea with young children.
The sanitary facilities were up to a good clean standard and the park was busy - so please give it a try.

Reviewer: Nicola Knight 2 reviews from this member

march 2003
Just got back from our first visit to this site, we were really looking forward to it due to the excellent reviews and it being recommended by friends (do you sense the BUT yet!!!!!)

Although the site is set out really well and is quite pretty we some how did not see the major attraction to it that many people seem to feel. The shower blocks were not very clean (which makes me wonder how clean they will be in the height of the season, when the site will be busy, as it was quite quiet this weekend).

I know that it depends on who is on the site at the same time as you, but this weekend we had to put up with real excess noise from kids of ALL AGES on the play area at gone 10pm which was really annoying (especially as we had put our 4 year old to bed and he was finding it really hard to sleep with all the noise going on!!!!!)

Having had a moan I will say that the pitches are quite level, the staff are really friendly and the shop has an excellent range of camping accessories (we did pick up a real bargin whilst there). However, I can't see us returning to this site in the near future.

Oh one final thing no-one told us about the really noisy goods trains trundling past at 4am in a morning (which sounds more like a plane thats about to crash when it wakes you up!!!!!!)


Reviewer: Sarah

March 2003
Excellent site, quiet, and very friendly. The facilities are clean and modern. We only stay one night due to work commitments, and this site was ideal. We arrived at 5pm on saturday, checked about staying on the next day, which was no problem to the owners. The site is tidy, the pitches appear to have plenty of space, and the waterside pitches are excellent. There is plenty to do, cycles are useful as there are lots of trails. O'h and there is a pub just over a mile away in the village of 'Old Clipstone' - if you don't fancy driving, take your bike lots do! You may have to order your papers the day before but they did have a small selection yesterday already in stock. Brilliant site and definately to be recommended.

Reviewer: Steve Rigby 6 reviews from this member

August 2002
I would agree with the other reviews it is the best site we have been to, we took our own dinghy and asked for a pitch near the water, we had a great time and so did the kids when we let them have a go on the boats. There is also a play area and the shop boasts it is the cheapest in the country for camping gear, we did notice some items cheaper than towsure toilets clean staff helpful and walks into Sherwood forest direct from the site there is also a good car boot sale on a Sunday a short walk from the site. I don't think it needs a pub as I always think the site seems to be more noisy if there is a pub on site. We have booked to go back there this Easter and again in August.

Reviewer: mark dempsey

i agree with the other 2 reviews,best site that i"ve been on

Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Nottinghamshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055